Ratings based on 2,238 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice~

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Cute,older hotel. Clean, very comfy bed. No elevator. Friendly staff. Great location, will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SAN FRANCISCO

EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY AT SAN SIMEON

Posted Mar 21, 2017
NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL...ENOUGH SAID.....VERY PLEASED
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali

Nice spot!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Weve stayed before and it was nice as well. Junior suite needs microwave, to complete the title. Hallways carpet looking lil shabby, but overall its a nice quiet getaway continental breakfast spot! We'll do it again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Nice bed, cleaning room, good breakfast, close to restaurant, stuff friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster, BC

Good hotel near Hearst Castle

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, large room, clean, helpful staff, continental breakfast, swimming pool, free parking, bright, airy corridors with decor related to castle.
Cons: The bathroom sink needed an update.
Location: Hotel is on Highway 1, just a few minutes from Hearst Castle, beaches and an historic lighthouse.
We were there to see the Hearst Castle. Hotel is easy to find, right off Highway 1. It's a clean, well-appointed, relatively quiet hotel, with friendly staff, large rooms, a nice continental breakfast and free easy parking. Our room faced a roof and the highway, but rooms on the other side of the corridor faced the ocean. It's right next door to an excellent Mexican restaurant. Dogs allowed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Posted Mar 15, 2017
I can't say anything negative about this hotel. Everything was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice pit stop along Pacific Coast Highway

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, board games
Cons: Elevators and air conditioning
Location: Hearst Castle, elephant seal watching, along Pacific Coast Highway
We stayed at this hotel during our family vacation for 4 and we were all pleased. It is placed in a nice location along the Pacific Coast Highway, very close to Hearst Castle, and great for elephant seal watching. They have 2 buildings and we stayed in the second building which had no elevators, meaning we had to carry our lugagge up the stairs but no biggie. At first glace, we realized there was no air conditioning but the weather got chilly at night, so leaving the window open was enough air for us. The room itself was kept nice, only encountered one giant mosquito (due to the open window), but other than that, no pests. Free breakfast and board games, definitely recommend for a quick stop!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

threadbear

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Nice desk clerk.
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: All 5 or 6 motels are in a row along the coast side of the road. Could have stayed at any one of them I guess. Near Hearst Castle.
Threadbear, not too clean, bed not too comfortable, people nice. We arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning so not there that long. All motels are next door to each other on a strip along the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Well maintained and clean. Hotel had a nice setup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA State

Comfy, quiet hotel close to the ocean

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Big curved bay window and fireplace added character to the room and of course, the view! Comfortable beds. Complimentary breakfast.
Cons: Update comforters and towels which have seen better days.
Location: Moonstone beach, Cambria, elephant seals, Hearst Castle. All must-dos!
For our short one-night stay, it was lovely to switch on the fireplace which, along with the view, was one of the best features of the room. Beds were just right - not too hard or too soft. Very quiet, restful night. Complimentary breakfast was a good variety of cereals, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt and, even though we were a bit late (after 10am), the kitchen crew kindly let the remaining guests still make selections, sit and eat. Front desk person was very helpful to direct us to all the points of interest in the area.