Ratings based on 2,122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So. California

Very Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Can't think of any thing.
Location: Hearst Castle and all of the surrounding Nature as well as being only 3 hours south of Monterey and Carmel with a fantastic view and drive.
The facilities are current: The staff is very pleasant and extremely helpful beyond the call of duty. I strongly recommend staying at this hotel when visiting San Simeon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Nice room, quiet- off the main road. Continental breakfast was well above average in all respects.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach. On the highway (convenient).
Cons: Repairs needed.
Clean rooms, needs some TLC (washroom needs work), comfy couch. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Great boutique hotel that overlooks the ocean.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The room was great for our trip. It had a great view and was close enough to open the windows and fall asleep/wake up to the sound of the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, on the road side , but not too loud

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The breakfast was not to great Staff friendly We were in a seperate building from the main hotel Noisy fridge- had to unplug it at night
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very close to Hearst Castle.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
It's very convenient and close to the beach. Nice and clean hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient location, mediocre hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
A bit tired and in need of refurbishment. A convenient location, but it's really closer to a motel experience. One nice touch was a complimentary breakfast. Not much but enough to get you in your way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hanford, CA

Not sure what you pay for

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The sound of the ocean with the windows open.
Cons: The friendliness of the staff, the breakfast, updated rooms.
Location: It was about a 5 min drive from the downtown area and right off Hwy 1. I think close to Hearst Castle too (fire prevented us from going).
I know this area is farely expensive, but for the price, I really expected more. You did have a distant view of the ocean so I guess that's what you pay for but the hotel staff was nothing special. I don't even know if they smiled once. The continental breakfast was disappointing. It's a toss up if the continental breakfast I had at Quality Inn was any better. We also found it interesting that our room was in a separate building than the main hotel on the other side of the mexican restaurant. The room was decent, like I said, for the price, I just expected more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A run down dump

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: very close to the Hearst Castle
The hotel was totally run down and our room didn't even have a working A/C. It was extremely uncomfortable and the only positive was the proximity to the Hearst Castle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Nice spacious rooms, close walk to the beach, and excellent continental breakfast.