Ratings based on 2,291 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Hearst Castle Visit

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location and size and comfort of room.
Cons: Could be updated.
Location: Hearst Castle and Cambria wine country.
Stayed at the Morgan to visit Hearst Castle. Needed pet friendly place. Looks like the room was renovated, but not a good job. Plaster job bad. Parts missing on modern shower, no body spray or hand wand. I the area where they serve breakfast the handle bar for the stairs was missing and could be dangerous. the place still uses keys for door lock. No air condition in room. Even with the above problems I would still recommend the Morgan if visiting Hearst Castle/Cambria area. Room and bathroom very spacious and comfortable. A block from the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fontana, California

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Angie is an asset 2 hotel. Was not well upon arrival she gave me snack & got me in2 room. Becky 2 was very helpful in letting us know we're 2 dine gave us discount card 4 eatery. Next morning Angie made sure I was feeling better & hoped we like our stay. She is wonderful so is Hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Gilem Garay, Hotel Management
I am so glad to hear that the staff has taken good care of you. I will definitely share the message. Thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Fantastic Hotel 5 Minute Walk to the Beach!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The location on the water and the convenience of being minutes from Hearst Castle. The staff was very nice and even allowed us to check out late.
Location: You must definitely see the barking seals which is just about 10 minutes past Hearst Castle. There is one brewery in Cambria which was fun.
I took my daughters for my birthday over Memorial Day Weekend as we went to Hearst Castle. The hotel was a great location minutes from the Castle and a five minute walk to the sand. The Mexican Restaurant right next door was very convenient. I would definitely stay there again. They also gave me an upgrade to an ocean room since my adult kids told them it was my birthday. The free continental breakfast was amazing and had fruit, cereals, breads, homemade muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc; there was a very large variety I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We hope to accommodate you again when you return to the area in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel , professional staffs

Posted May 28, 2017
We will stay here again . Highly recommended. Staffs are professional . Close to beach and Hearst castle .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Gilem Garay, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, we look forward to your return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grorgia

Nice hotel comfortable room. Breakfast was nice.

Posted May 24, 2017
There is no elevator so anything above ground level you have to haul your bags up a flight of steps.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Utah

Good breakfast, convenient

Posted May 23, 2017
Location: Besides Hearst Castle a real must see is the elephant seal beach. Astonishing!!
We left an item in the room and they responded quickly to find it and make it available for return. Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Would gladly recommend a friend to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Clean, Affordable Hotel near Hearst Castle

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The style of the rooms, the fireplace, and that it's close to Hearst Castle, which was the main reason for our visit.
Cons: The staff's knowledge about the carbon monoxide detectors, the painfully slow WI-FI, management's response to billing errors.
Location: Close to Hearst Castle, the Elephant Seals Viewing Area
We stayed at The Morgan for three nights. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly, and the continental breakfast was as expected. We had a king room with a fireplace, which was a nice touch. The downside to this hotel is that it's old and since it was chilly during our stay, we opted to turn on the small wall heater in our room. After 20 minutes, the Carbon Monoxide detector began to blare very loudly. The staff's solution to this was to come to our room and rip the detector off the wall, while offering no advice about the threat of our heater or how to clear the room of the carbon monoxide. Needless to say, we shut the heater off and didn't use it again. Since our credit card had been stolen the day before we left on vacation, we were forced to use a debit card for "incidentals" even though our room was pre-paid. After checking out, we were charged TWO MORE TIMES for the same room through our debit card. It took two phone calls and about four days before they credited our account for the error. We were thankful they did rectify the situation, but it tied up almost $600 of our money (in addition to the pre-payment) before they cleared it up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, Ca

Very nice hotel it was quite and good service

Posted May 21, 2017
Priced well, a very nice room and a beautiful location. I definitely would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palos Verdes Estates, CA

Beautifully Clean

Posted May 20, 2017
I did not stay in the hotel room much as I was at the Central Coast to ride my bike. But, each day when I returned to the hotel, it was sparkling clean and fresh. Felt very secure with the locked external doors. The breakfast was good for pre-ride fueling - boiled eggs, oatmeal, peanut butter, yogurt, OJ. Great location at a great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel to stay overnight

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: There was a free breakfast buffet and the staff we're very friendly
Cons: The bedrooms seem a bit tired
Location: Well located for travellers.
The Morgan is a nice hotel in a convenient location to stay overnight while driving the California coast. It is well located and the public areas are nicely appointed although our room was rather dated. I think that you can book an ocean view room, but we didn't and ended up with a great view of the roof of the portico. Still it was okay for an overnight break.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.