Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Spoiled us relative to other hotels

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We were upgraded to a huge king suite on the second floor. The door opened into ta large sleeping area with a comfortable king sized bed, dresser, and TV. Off to one side was a large bathroom with a tub/shower, sink and toilet. On the other side was another room separated by a glass brick wall for light into the bedroom. This room had a couple of sofas, a table/chairs, large TV, a fake fireplace and a small kitchen nook with a small refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker and toaster. Being in the back of the hotel, this living room overlooked a green space park. Since the hotel is off the main drag, there was no traffic noise -- Cambria has a large number of hotels on Moonstone Drive which is next to the 101 freeway so they get a lot of traffic noise. The staff was friendly and they serve a simple continental breakfast in the morning and have wine out in the late afternoon. A couple of things to note is that the top floor is accessible only by a long flight of stairs, so be prepared for a significant climb. Also there was no phone in the room which in the age of cell phones was not really an issue. Oh, and they did have free internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach, CA

Great Location!!!

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to attractions
Cons: The bed! If you sit on the foot of the bed, the head of the mattress flies up. The only heating was the fireplace and the room was cold upon arrival.
Location: Awesome location!!! Close to everything.
We purchased tickets to visit Hearst Castle for the holiday tour - which is amazing this time of year. On the way back to town we stopped at Madeline's for a glass of wine and stuffed Quail on our way to find the Cambria Christmas Market lights. Much to our delight, the shuttle is at the curb! We will definitively be making this an annual Christmas trip. The room was large and they accommodate pets. The night of our stay it rained and we were not able to enjoy the fire pit on the patio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely inn right in the center

Posted Nov 30, 2016
It was great from the start. The staff is charming! The only drawbacks were less than perfect soundproofing and a pretty limited breakfast. I would absolutely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice cozy hotel near shops and restaurants

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I had an outstanding experience at the hotel. The staff were very nice. I would definitely recommend this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Aubrey, Hotel Management
Maria, You were an absolute delight to have stay with us. Sean and I truly enjoyed meeting you and we hope to see you again on your next adventure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Will use again

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Very friendly, clean and comfortable. easy walk to restaurants.
Cons: I would suggest upstairs room, but not necessary. nothing else
Location: Close to main street
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Rigdon House , Hotel Management
Greetings Kirk , Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to your return . Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie

Very welcoming and pleasant stay!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
We had the king suite overlooking the street. The room came complete with fireplace and 2 tvs. Joanna welcomed us and invited us for a wine social. It was nice to get some history from her. Would love to visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by assistant manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Christine for your review! We are elated to hear Joanna was a delight during your stay. Please return again soon !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Sweet

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Walking distance to everything. Two miles to the beach. Sweet views and the night time by the beach was awsome Nice to view the galaxy of stars.
The place was fabulous. Nice living room and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and sweet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay ! We receive compliments on our beds daily . Glad you had a restful night's sleep at The Rigdon House. Please stay with us again on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in transition.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Nice place to stay. Doing some upgrades to make it nicer. Old and the new kinda mixed together during the remodeling. Very close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are in the process of streamlining all the details . We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay . Please come again soon .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taupo, New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Very friendly welcoming staff. A hotel with good atmosphere. We had a lovely comfortable and quiet suite.
Location: Good location with variety of eating places and shops within easy walking distance.
We had a lovely time staying at the Burton Inn and our experience was a good one on all counts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Don ! We are elated to hear you enjoyed your stay . Please come again soon .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

A great place to stay

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The "sitting room" was quite nice and I enjoyed the in-room coffee with real cups and saucers. The croissants served in the morning were nice.
Cons: I honestly couldn't find anything to complain about.
Location: It is nestled in a "Sleepy Village" called Cambria with loads of shopping. Close to Hearst Castle, Whale watching and lots of wonderful wineries.
We arrived and were greeted by a very friendly young lady named Aubrey. The check-in process was flawless. She even offered to help us carry our luggage upstairs. We were offered a free room upgrade and were very impressed with a two room suite with marble bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very restful night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Emily Thorin - Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Skip for your fantastic review! We take pride in providing exceptional small town hospitality . We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us . Please come again soon !