Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one of our best anniversary experiences

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The room and the service
Cons: Not much. If anything, the continental breakfast
Location: Shopping and beach visiting
Beautiful hotel. The male hotel employee that checked us in that day was extremely respectful. Surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary that was quite elegant and thoughtful. The room was very beautiful and really surprised us. Could not think of a better place to stay in cambria for our anniversary or anytime. We are already making plans to return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this review! We are so glad to hear you had such a great anniversary! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This was the first time I have stayed in cambria and the hotel was better than I thought. Very happy with staying here will definitely stay here again when I travel up the coast again. The staff was great , room was very nice all I could say is ac would have been great after a long day of hiking the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We hope you come stay with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ventura, ca

Cute and homey

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Overall it was a very nice place to stay. It was a good location as it was close to down town and walking distance to restaurants. The room was very spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the shower was so big o loved it! The fake fireplace is very nice to have in the room and the real fire pit outside was so nice to be around at night, sadly they have to turn it off at 9pm. Only a couple downsides of the room was the TV wasn't great, the picture was always a little cut off no matter what the setting. Since its an older building you can hear some cars during high traffic times and people walking in heels on the hardwood floors downstairs. The absolute worse part of the stay is 'breakfast", even though the one small scone I ate was yummy there was nothing my husband could eat except a couple pieces of fruit (he has a severe gluten intolerance). The gentlemen at the front desk tried to tell me - oh oatmeal is gluten free. I said -Um no not all oatmeal is gf. And they didn't even have orange juice! I had to go buy breakfast. So overall it was a nice stay and I would stay there again! I'll just bring appropriate food next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently looking on ways to improve our breakfast and to provide more gluten free options. We are sorry we weren't able to provide them for you during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Noise from upstairs
Location: Great location
This is a great hotel as long as you do not stay in room 108.this is a ground floor room next to the stairs and lobby which is noisy but ok. What is not ok is the paper thin ceiling which allows you to hear every movement upstairs. The ceiling squeaks and no matter how good the guests above you are it is very noisy.hope the other ground floor rooms are not like this. Make sure you do nor book 108.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review . As we are a historical property , the floors at times can make some noise. Fortunately we only have 5 downstairs rooms. We are sorry to hear of your experience. Please try us again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Spoiled us relative to other hotels

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We were upgraded to a huge king suite on the second floor. The door opened into ta large sleeping area with a comfortable king sized bed, dresser, and TV. Off to one side was a large bathroom with a tub/shower, sink and toilet. On the other side was another room separated by a glass brick wall for light into the bedroom. This room had a couple of sofas, a table/chairs, large TV, a fake fireplace and a small kitchen nook with a small refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker and toaster. Being in the back of the hotel, this living room overlooked a green space park. Since the hotel is off the main drag, there was no traffic noise -- Cambria has a large number of hotels on Moonstone Drive which is next to the 101 freeway so they get a lot of traffic noise. The staff was friendly and they serve a simple continental breakfast in the morning and have wine out in the late afternoon. A couple of things to note is that the top floor is accessible only by a long flight of stairs, so be prepared for a significant climb. Also there was no phone in the room which in the age of cell phones was not really an issue. Oh, and they did have free internet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We appreciate the comments and look forward to serving you again on your next stay. The Rigdon House
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach, CA

Great Location!!!

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to attractions
Cons: The bed! If you sit on the foot of the bed, the head of the mattress flies up. The only heating was the fireplace and the room was cold upon arrival.
Location: Awesome location!!! Close to everything.
We purchased tickets to visit Hearst Castle for the holiday tour - which is amazing this time of year. On the way back to town we stopped at Madeline's for a glass of wine and stuffed Quail on our way to find the Cambria Christmas Market lights. Much to our delight, the shuttle is at the curb! We will definitively be making this an annual Christmas trip. The room was large and they accommodate pets. The night of our stay it rained and we were not able to enjoy the fire pit on the patio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review . We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us through the holidays! Please come again soon !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely inn right in the center

Posted Nov 30, 2016
It was great from the start. The staff is charming! The only drawbacks were less than perfect soundproofing and a pretty limited breakfast. I would absolutely go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We usually stay on Moonstone Beach and it was a nice change to be in town. We went to the Christmas market and the shuttle was directly in fornt of the Rigdon House. breakfast was simple oatmeal, scones and coffee. Only 2 tables for eating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels