Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cordelia

Awesome hotel centrally located in Cambria!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were great, as we had not visited Cambria in 16 years. The grounds were well kept and just as pictured online.
Cons: Don't change a thing!
Location: Centrally located, eat breakfast/dinner at Linn's, Cambria Pub-best onion rings ever! Ragged Point- awesome venue with breath taking views.
This was one of the best romantic getaways my wife and I shared in a long time. Zara was awesome. We were traveling 4 hrs away, and knew we would be arriving late in the evening. The front desk closes at 9pm, so Zara took the time to explain the late arrival process. They have a drop / pick up box for room keys etc. She also shared info about local events and places to see for the weekend we were there. The place was immaculate, just as it was in online. Rooms were large and refreshing. Bed was comfortable. Room 20 has the most amazing sunrises. It comes over the large hillside, peeks into your room through a large glass cube wall and into your room. Huge bonus points from the wife on this one! It certainly started our days off on the right foot. The area shops on Burton Dr. were nice to check out on short strolls in the morning or evening before dinner. You have to check this place out. Totally Awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Upgraded Historical hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Comfort.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Hearst Castle, elephant seals, beautiful coastal scenery
Hotel is beautiful and quiet. Lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Late afternoon wine and snack complimentary. Priced right for the accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menifee, CA

Simple and pleasant

Posted May 8, 2017
Excellent staff. Very clean room. Nothing special about the rooms, but they are a nice size. I had the Luxury King. Definitely will visit again. Very quiet and peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Katelyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this review, Chad! We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 8, 2017
our hotel was in the heart of downtown cambria great location. walking distant from all the shop and restaurant. we got the king suite with the living room area. it was nice to have more room in our hotel . everything was nice and clean . I would come back for sure. also a closes drive to the beach as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Katelyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this review! We hope you come back and visit again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hanford, CA

Renovated Historic Building

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Out of main path in Cambria. No sounds from street though our room was on the front.
Cons: Loose banister at base of stairs. Maybe a larger trashcan near the fridge/microwave area.
Location: Cambria has local festivals to compliment the various antique shops, and small businesses including restaurants. The elephant seals draw to the North
Peaceful, large space with newer mattress on platform. TV/Cable in each of two rooms. Microwave, coffee, and refrigerator in front room - like setting room with fireplace (electric). Huge tub - note there are no handrails so my 82yr old husband had to have help getting into and out of the tub. He enjoyed sitting in the water. Peaceful, no one bothers you. The room we stayed in was upstairs - no elevator. Breakfast during our visit consisted of various instant oatmeal packages and pastries with hot coffee, tea, water. Internet worked well Occasional TV issues with cable coming in and out. We liked our visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Katelyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this review! We hope to improve in all of these areas. Unfortunately we aren't able to put an elevator in our historic building, but we do have several rooms downstairs to accommodate. We hope you come and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would definitely stay here again

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I lucked up when I found this place last minute while stopping inCambria and visiting ragged point and Pismo Beach the price was excellent staff was amazing and the rooms were clean they accomodated me well even though i wasnt planning on staying 2 nights ...i would book this place again with out question
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Katelyn , Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Rigdon House! We hope you come and stay with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, California

Excellent location in downtown Cambria.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to downtown Cambria. Beautiful patio in the back to relax in the evening and drink some wine by the fire pit.
Cons: The WiFi was HORRIBLE. Could not even get connect. We complained to the staff and they apologized, and said they are working on a repair.
Location: Lot of shopping, restaurants, cafes within walking distance of hotel.
Our first time staying here. We just came over for a 3 day weekend getaway and was very pleased with our room, how beautiful the back patio was, and the very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Katelyn , Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff, and the location! We are definitely working on improving our WiFi and we apologize for any inconvenience that may have occurred with its slow signal. We hope you come back and visit again to enjoy this wonderful town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canads

Great location.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Emily greeted us and immediately upgraded us to a 2room suite. She was very friendly and helpful. She pointed out places of interest in the town and she made dinner reservations for us at a very nice restaurant just down the street. Since it was raining, she offered us an umbrella so that we could walk ito dinner. The room was spotless. Looked like it had recently been upgraded. The bathroom was old but it fit the decor of the room. Be sure to use the bath mat because the tub is quite slippery when wet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Katelyn , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing this review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Great! Kind, friendly , helpful employees. Room, clean, spacious. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Katelyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for this review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are so pleased to here are employees were kind, friendly, and helpful as we take pride in our wonderful staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful, charming and friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful room.
Cons: The breakfast was tasty but on the simple side: oatmeal, pastries, fruit, coffee.
Location: Cambria is a cute little town. There are some good restaurants and art galleries nearby, besides the ocean (including the elephant seal vista point).
The Rigdon House looks great even before you set foot in it. We were greeted by Caroline with a big smile, and she promptly took us to our room (after offering us a nice glass of wine). The room (suite, really, since it had a living room space as well) was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was huge. I slept really well, as the neighborhood is quiet and the room is dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Katelyn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and our great staff! We hope you come back and visit again soon!