Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, California

Excellent location in downtown Cambria.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to downtown Cambria. Beautiful patio in the back to relax in the evening and drink some wine by the fire pit.
Cons: The WiFi was HORRIBLE. Could not even get connect. We complained to the staff and they apologized, and said they are working on a repair.
Location: Lot of shopping, restaurants, cafes within walking distance of hotel.
Our first time staying here. We just came over for a 3 day weekend getaway and was very pleased with our room, how beautiful the back patio was, and the very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canads

Great location.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Emily greeted us and immediately upgraded us to a 2room suite. She was very friendly and helpful. She pointed out places of interest in the town and she made dinner reservations for us at a very nice restaurant just down the street. Since it was raining, she offered us an umbrella so that we could walk ito dinner. The room was spotless. Looked like it had recently been upgraded. The bathroom was old but it fit the decor of the room. Be sure to use the bath mat because the tub is quite slippery when wet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Great! Kind, friendly , helpful employees. Room, clean, spacious. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful, charming and friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful room.
Cons: The breakfast was tasty but on the simple side: oatmeal, pastries, fruit, coffee.
Location: Cambria is a cute little town. There are some good restaurants and art galleries nearby, besides the ocean (including the elephant seal vista point).
The Rigdon House looks great even before you set foot in it. We were greeted by Caroline with a big smile, and she promptly took us to our room (after offering us a nice glass of wine). The room (suite, really, since it had a living room space as well) was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was huge. I slept really well, as the neighborhood is quiet and the room is dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville CA

Oh what a charm!!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I found this very charming Hotel using Expedia.com. It was last minute as my husband and I went on an unplanned road trip vacation so every place we stayed was a surprise, and needless to say, The Rigdon House did not disappoint!! Our stay there was on the last night, and the best nights rest we had all week. The service upon arrive was very friendly!! We were upgraded at no extra cost to the king bed suite since I reserved a room with 2 queen beds, thinking that was the only room available. It was quiet, spacious with 2 large sliding doors that led to a private patio w/seating and a table for intimate evening wine and conversation or morning coffee. Wine and hors d'oeuvr's are served in the library or in front of a toasty fireplace between 5-6pm, and breakfast 9-11am. The blueberry scones, and muffins which are freshly baked as the are the other pastries are a definite must try. The location is at the edge of downtown so you can hit the corner on one side then work your way back to The Rigdon House enjoying the local shops and eateries. Beautiful beach, and Hearst Castle is about a 10 minute ride away. Just lovely. Do note, highway 1 past Big Sur going towards Monterey will be closed 6 months to a year due to mudslides and a collapsed bridge so plan your trip accordingly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one of our best anniversary experiences

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The room and the service
Cons: Not much. If anything, the continental breakfast
Location: Shopping and beach visiting
Beautiful hotel. The male hotel employee that checked us in that day was extremely respectful. Surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary that was quite elegant and thoughtful. The room was very beautiful and really surprised us. Could not think of a better place to stay in cambria for our anniversary or anytime. We are already making plans to return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this review! We are so glad to hear you had such a great anniversary! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This was the first time I have stayed in cambria and the hotel was better than I thought. Very happy with staying here will definitely stay here again when I travel up the coast again. The staff was great , room was very nice all I could say is ac would have been great after a long day of hiking the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We hope you come stay with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ventura, ca

Cute and homey

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Overall it was a very nice place to stay. It was a good location as it was close to down town and walking distance to restaurants. The room was very spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the shower was so big o loved it! The fake fireplace is very nice to have in the room and the real fire pit outside was so nice to be around at night, sadly they have to turn it off at 9pm. Only a couple downsides of the room was the TV wasn't great, the picture was always a little cut off no matter what the setting. Since its an older building you can hear some cars during high traffic times and people walking in heels on the hardwood floors downstairs. The absolute worse part of the stay is 'breakfast", even though the one small scone I ate was yummy there was nothing my husband could eat except a couple pieces of fruit (he has a severe gluten intolerance). The gentlemen at the front desk tried to tell me - oh oatmeal is gluten free. I said -Um no not all oatmeal is gf. And they didn't even have orange juice! I had to go buy breakfast. So overall it was a nice stay and I would stay there again! I'll just bring appropriate food next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently looking on ways to improve our breakfast and to provide more gluten free options. We are sorry we weren't able to provide them for you during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Noise from upstairs
Location: Great location
This is a great hotel as long as you do not stay in room 108.this is a ground floor room next to the stairs and lobby which is noisy but ok. What is not ok is the paper thin ceiling which allows you to hear every movement upstairs. The ceiling squeaks and no matter how good the guests above you are it is very noisy.hope the other ground floor rooms are not like this. Make sure you do nor book 108.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review . As we are a historical property , the floors at times can make some noise. Fortunately we only have 5 downstairs rooms. We are sorry to hear of your experience. Please try us again soon
5 out of 5
by Burton

Great loacation, nice people

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant staff, large room, great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. The Rigdon House