Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decaying Modern Hotel.

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
It used to be a great hotel. They have let the condition deteriorate: wood is warped in the room, there is mold growing in the bathtub, the hot tubs have decaying tape over them telling people they are out of service. The bar is closed. The front desk staff will give you a key but they do little else, they are friendly though. The design of the hotel is modern, clean and interesting. I wish the old management were back or the new management realized that these details do matter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Daniele C.

Good location in San Telmo

Posted May 17, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel structure is particular but really beautiful, the swimming pool at the 5h floor with the glass floor looking the lobby is simply great. People are very friendly, the breakfast is good Just a small complain regarding the noise in the street during the night but surely is a common problem of all the hotel in this part of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A gem in San Telmo

Posted May 10, 2015
It's not the fanciest place, but its authentic San Telmo. The staff was great and very accommodating. The first day I arrived was at 4am. Unfortunately I couldn't check in at that hour, as they had no rooms available, but they were kind enough to set me up in the lounge which was quiet and comfortable. Throughout my stay the staff was very accommodating and easy to work with. I would stay here again in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
by Edyta from London

Outstanding reception service

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice hotel. Great location and outstanding reception service. Thank you
3 out of 5
by Donald from Markham, ON Canada

Seen Better Days

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
A one-night stay after disembarking from a cruise. The hotel still shows signs of its glory-days but is, like most of Buenos Aires, run-down. The wallpaper in our room was grubby and the steam room, sauna and hot tub were out-of-order. Staff were pleasant and helpful (arranging airport taxi, esp); breakfast was plentiful and high quality. Like so much of BA, the hotel vicinity feels un-safe making even a short walk to and early evening dinner an anxiety-raising experience. The stylish design of the hotel does not make-up for the insecurity.
5 out of 5
by Vedran from UK

Vedran

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay very much at BeTrimos San telmo. The room we stayed in had a really nice view of the outside pool. The lobby where the lifts are had a fantastic see through swimming pool above it. The hotel atmosphere was relaxed, breakfast very good and cannot fault anything. My kind of hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

So much promise ...

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The design of the hotel is quite unique. If you can get it at a great price and are OK with 2 to 3-star quality then it might still be for you.
Cons: The hotel needs a major infusion of cash to bring it up to it's previous standards. Likely never going to happen.
Location: Good location for San Telmo with lots close by.
The Trimos is like Argentina itself ... so much promise, such grandeur, such decay. We stayed there on the recommendations of friends who had stayed during its (brief) golden era as a premium 'gay' hotel. It must have been amazing ... the architectural design is still spectacular ... the open atrium with glass stairways, elevators and unique glass-bottom pool certainly do impress when you first walk in. The impression quickly fades. It's clear that the money and effort spent on design hasn't been carried over to ongoing maintenance. Many things no longer function. The 5-story indoor waterfall no longer 'falls', the outdoor pool likewise has lost its falls. Only one jacuzzi now works (barely) and the steam room doesn't look like it's functioned in quite some time. The rooms are in bad shape ... we got to know two as our first room had a power issue they could not resolve. Our second room suffered from a poor and loud air conditioner that struggled to keep the room at a decent temperature. All around the rooms need maintenance and a serious coat of paint, though they were still clean, and linens, towels and housekeeping were still very good. During our stay we had one power outage (part of Bs. As. life) no air conditioning for several hours and very inconsistent WiFi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Fun in Buenos Aires

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The location is good. It is not dangerous, yet, this is from the perspective of man.
Cons: Give apples and bananas for breakfast. Fix your elevators, it is scary when they get stock between floors. Improve Wi-Fi DO NOT CALL rooms
Location: Great location and good dinning options.
IMPORTAT! Not a good hotel for people with disabilities. The hotel, like the rest of the city's tourist industry, doesn't really understand the demands for quality customer service that more affluent customers from the United States and Europe are accustomed to. Overall, the hotel is in desperate need for a thorough renovation. Hotel pictures posted around the Internet look fantastic, the reality is much different. I was there for Christmas all the way to a couple of days after the New Year's. The hotel's reception called every room during the New Year's Day at 2 pm. asking when we would leave our rooms so they could clean. This is in regardless of the "no molestar" signs we had posted on our doors. Pretty unreal! They woke us up after a long party-night to find out when our room would be empty for clean up. The front desk staff seemed incapable of enforcing rules for quietness. Groups of people, other customers, would be loud and screaming until well past 3 am. The hotel's breakfast was boring and the same day after day, after day. Wi-Fi connection was horribly slow and it would take me a long time to simply go on FB or check my e-mails. There was a couple of times that when I arrived at the hotel late at night, there was nobody to open the door (I guessed closed for safety reasons) and I had to patiently wait until front desk staff showed up. The swimming pool's water looked unclear and I stayed away from it. The steam room was out of order too!
2 out of 5
by EJ from USA

Disappointing Stay

Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels
I saw a bit of negative reviews, but decided to give it a try based on the very low price. First, I encountered one staff member who was unpleasant to say the least. If I had not met with other staff who turned out to be much nicer--possibly showing this staff member had a problem with me personally--I would have given a lower review. Because of the structure of the shower, the entire floor is stone, which is not the most pleasant to walk on barefoot. I also slipped twice coming out of the shower into the main bedroom. Hoped the TV would have at least one English language option and there was none. I was given a room facing the street and despite it being a small street, I heard all the street noise. Worse, I heard my neighbours. All the time. Doing everything from talking to laughing and more. I would not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gye, Ecuador

Bad hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel room wasn't what we expected. The room condition was terrible.