Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm but you get what you pay for

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Very nice staff throughout and room well cleaned. Nice retro recetion area. But room was tiny - this was not flagged by Expedia. Lots of youth soccer teams staying there so extremely crowded at breakfast. On our last night, pounding late at night until 2 am from some type of construction nearby (not hotel’s fault). Drains in bathroom smelled a little from old plumbing most likely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Beautiful old hotel in historic part of town

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great breakfast buffet, very interesting hotel history, good lcoation
Cons: Bathrooms need a bit of maintenance (leaky shower) and beds were small and not very comfortable. The spa was very pricey e.g. $20 to use the jacuzzi
Location: Subway is right outside hotel and some great restaurants nearby such as La Clac (next door) and a cafe notable (Los 36 Billares) across the road
Amazing light fittings etc in a beautiful old historic hotel. Great location near the subway and close to lots of landmarks such as Theatre Colon and Plaza de Mayo. Close to lots of great restaurants. Extremely good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

A gen deteriorated

Posted Oct 2, 2017
What a shame! This beautiful historic hotel has not been maintained. The lobby still looks beautiful but look at the couches and they're so filthy you can't sit on them! Great breakfast and enviable location but this frequent traveler to BA will never stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel.com didn't or can't send my request

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel.com cannot pass on special request to the hotel-after reading all the reviews and tips, I made special request and book through hotel.com. But the hotel did not honor or did not have the request. I still ended up with the room with no bath tub and right next to the 'emergency' area right next to my bedroom. I heard them everyone morning as early as 5:30. The superior room interior is very nice and roomy. Free water, beer and juice in room everyday. Staff even gave me a dish of coca leaves so I can make tea in my room. Booking tour was efficient and fast. They picked us from the hotel and dropped us back off to the hotel. But one tour to the Southern Scared Valley (Tipon....) left us way off on the street and just pointed to the direction for us to find our way back. ( Not happy, they should bring us back to the hotel). Never have problem with hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Orbitz
My room was very small. with a tiny bathroom and the window facing the inner tiny and dark inner yard. It was dark and hot in the room all the time. the carpeting, furniture, wallpaper were old and unpleasant.
4 out of 5
by William

Good Reasonably Priced hotel in Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Reasonably priced hotel in great location just off 9 Julio Avenue and the famous Obelisk. The hotel is a little tired and the decor is old in the rooms and the common areas but the staff are nice and as a cheap place to stay in Central Buenos Aires I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AMAZING!!

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
While the hotel is older it is absolutely amazing. The service is great, attentive and quick. Each stay also includes free use of the sauna and a few other spa amenities. The location is amazing. 30 minutes from the ferry ports, right off the main Ave (Av. 9 Julio). A 10/15 minute walk to the obelisks, BA sign, and local theater. Also close to many museums and restaurants. Amazing location, condition, and luxury for a great price. Would definitely recommend and rebook
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Keep coming back to this old but charming hotel If you want to splurge your money, go to the Alvear, but if you want to save money for your steaks and wine, then , go to the Castelar.
4 out of 5
by gaby from montreal....canada

excellent staff... location ...must renovate rooms

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
this is a great hotel....BUT.....it needs renovation badly......specially the rooms.... the staff is excellent and very friendly........ we love this hotel