Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning Views!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and indoor pool area.
Cons: The staff seemed extremely busy.
Location: Steele Hill Resort is about 20 minutes away from the Tilton, NH lakes region and white mountains are all within an hour or less.
The room was immaculate. The service staff at the front desk were very friendly and check-in was a breeze. The food at the restaurant on the resort grounds was above average and not too expensive. Definitely one of the nicest hotels in the NH lakes region.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

An aging resort in need of a facelift

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Hermitage Farm nearby for the best pancake breakfast you could ask for. Buy some of their maple syrup that was made there and marvelous!
Let's start with dark road in that doesn't get better at the resort. Unlit roads wind around buildings from the 80's (I know I had a timeshare there). No elevators so not friendly to seniors- we are past hauling our bags up three flights of stairs! The pool area though aesthetically pleasing reeked of chlorine and was so warm we couldn't sit comfortably and watch the grand children. No complimentary coffee in the lobby area in the morning (and they didn't leave one with the coffee maker in the room-or washcloths for that matter!). They called to ask us to come back for a timeshare presentation- I think you can guess my response.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, PA

High on the hill, this resort offers a lot!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The scenery around the hotel was awesome. The pool area is very nice for families. Beautiful setting!
Cons: Two not-so-nice things about our room were 1. the clogged filter on the side of the whirlpool bath, and 2. the fact that we did not have a screen on
Location: Lots of lake exposure in the area, some nice eateries, the resort itself has many activities and child oversight. Great family place to vacation!
This resort is out there, in the woods, on the hilltop overlooking the beautiful hills of New Hampshire. It is a great spot to rest, relax, and regroup. Upon check-in there was a problem with our room, but we were quickly offered another. Staff was courteous and helpful. Bed was comfortable and clean, and sound quality in hotel was above average. We slept well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We visit NH often, so we were trying to find a new place we've never stayed before. I stumbled upon a review of the resort and decided to give it a try, since it was very affordable. We do not regret choosing to stay here, everything was great! We will definitely be returning!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Resort close to Timberman 70.3 race in Gilford

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, big and clean rooms
Cons: nothing really
Location: M.a.
The room was big and very clean and everything was working. Ideal for preparing for race and some relaxation after.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Steele Hill Resort

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The View and the comfort of the room
Cons: Some, not all of the staff seem to have a hard time smiling, although they were helpful. Vacuum around the walls in the rooms on a regular bases.
Location: The only place we went to was Gunstock, in Gilford for Soulfest. Go to the top of the mountain and stand in awe at the beauty around you.
Our stay was fabulous. Our room was wonderful with the exception that the room hadn't been vacuumed along the walls for quite some time, and the wall above the dresser should probably be wiped down. The bed was excellent. My husband and I slept like babies. I wish I knew what type of mattress it was, because I sure would love to have one in my home. The stairs on the outside of the building we stayed in could definitely use some cleaning. Everything else was wonderful. The breakfast was awesome! We will definitely stay there again in the future. Hopefully with the children and grandchildren. Last but not least, the VIEW IS ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Beautiful view of the mountains and lake

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The view and location is good.
Cons: Yes, cleanliness could be improved. Property needs updating of very dangerously deep outdoor pools and needs to add legitimate whirlpools outdoors.
Location: Lakes, Factory Outlets, Swimming, Boating
This resort has a phenomenal view of the mountains and lake. We stayed in Studio South, a newer constructed building. The 2 outdoor pools were a disappointment, as they are very old concrete and very dangerous being 5 feet at low end and 9 feet at deep end. As this is a "resort" it was disappointing that outdoor whirlpools were nonexistent, although advertised. No whirlpool at the South side pool a they took the whirlpool and concerted it to a kiddie pool. At the 2nd outdoor pool near "The Grille" there was a small concrete area with small holes in the concrete but no jets, no circulation. The concrete pool here is very old and small, so many people were in the pool at one time splashing and lots of splashing children. Again, this pool is dangerously deep for adults and children. For being billed as a "resort" I would expect amenities of several new outdoor whirlpools throughout the property and new outdoor pools. Cleanliness could be improved of the room. At checking in to Studio South, there were potato chips about 1/2 inch under the sofa, not vacuumed, 2 small spots on the fitted sheet-not clean and a long black hair on the floor in the bathroom. I have blonde hair. Needless to say, I washed all dishes and silverware in the dishwasher before using the utensils. For the high price of the room and advertising it as a "resort", I would expect more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The indoor pool water is very cold and a little cloudy. The atrium is very hot high 90s and doesn't warm pool water at all. The air is filled with the smell of chlorine that it burns you lungs. We were there four nights and it was the same the whole time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Good stay!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel is in a secluded area with great views. There is no age limit to the kiddie pool and the area around the pool is small so it was pretty crowed. The indoor pools were great although they needed to be cleaned more often! Our rooms (2 rooms) were not cleaned well and were left dusty and missing towels. We visit the restaurant and the food was terrible and the service was slow. They weren't serving any seafood at the time; we were the only people there and it took a long time to get our food. Get the townhouse because the "hotel room" is too small, the bed takes most of the space and u are left with nothing to move around!
4 out of 5
by Erica from Portland me

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a nice weekend getaway. The pool was a bit small and had a lot of kids but there was enough space still to lounge. It was a bit loud with banging at 630 Sunday morning, but once we called the front desk to ask if they could investigate, the banging stopped. The hiking trails were great and the onsite restaurant was very good. I would definitely recommend to families.