Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

View

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Had a good time with my family! A couple of problems, key did not work, had to call for new keys, cleaning people left our door unlocked, could have been burglarized, and a mixup on checkin as far as debit cards that were used, charged the wrong card ! But overall had a good time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from narragansett, ri

It was a nice stay. Staff were friendly

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Everything was nice. It's a good getaway for the weekend. Jacuzzi in the room needed to be cleaned better before use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Sep 29, 2017
It was ok. You can find better places for those money!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Handicapped Accessibiity

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Setting and staff
Cons: Elevators and handicapped accessibility
Location: All local activities were at least a 5 mile plus drive to reach.
Staff were accommodating and setting was beautiful. Hotel had no elevators and there were 2 1/2 flights of stairs just to reach our room. The corridors outside the rooms contained sets of 3 stairs periodically throughout the corridor. It would be nice to know that there was limited accessibility for persons with handicaps. In order to reach the restaurant, you had to get in your car and drive down the hill. Restaurant not open for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stonington CT

It was Okay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
You need to verify before reserving that you are getting the view in the pictures. When I arrived I found out I had paid a pretty good amount for a view of a parking lot. When I called the front desk, I was told it would almost double my price.. VERY disappointed! The beds were not to my liking, very soft, too soft. But I understand you can't please everyone in that department.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very dusty, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in awhile. There were no face cloths in the bathroom. Overall it is a nice place.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Disappointed and locked in a closet

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The pictures make like you have an awesome view but we got a room the size of a closet looking over the back of the building. The bathroom is very small, not even a place to put your toiletries. I asked to get a different room with a view but was told there was none available. I went on THEIR website and it said there was 7 available with a view. We were charged the same price for a small room that otherwise should have been a suite. You have to be a mountain goat if you want to go anywhere on the property. The snacks are in another building that is a long walk uphill. The resort is quite a ways from anything and is on back roads. I am very disappointed in the resort. I felt like they just wanted to fill a room and take my money. The pools and hot tubs are nice. The restaurant is okay but pricey as expected. They have room service but unless you have a suite there is no place to eat it in your room.There is no breakfast so bring some donuts with you. I won't be returning to Steele Hill Resort.
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
After a very confusing check in process we finally got the room we thought we had booked. It was nice but the room had not been cleaned thoroughly. We had to wipe down the tub before we could use it....and there were crumbs on the chairs in the livingroom area. Very pretty view from the room. Restaurant was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Over Sold

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: There were many options for physical activity
Cons: Advertise what is there and not what you think people want to hear
Location: We went hiking at various locations. It was awesome.
First let me say that our family enjoyed this trip. We are very active and enjoyed the hiking, swimming, golf, tennis and basketball. The issue we had is the advertising doesn't match the actuality. The basketball court is not lit. The hiking path is not five miles. The golf course is adequate. We rented clubs and went to the first hole and there were only two right-handed clubs in the bag and no putter. We did three holes with two clubs. No, they didn't refund the rental fee. The 8 ft pool is 6 feet deep. The heated pool is not cold but definitely not warm. The on-site "cantina" actually made me laugh when I saw what it was, a mini mart, compared to the restaurant quality dining option boasted about in the room. We were there four nights and NO ONE ever came to our room for towels, to make beds, empty the trash, etc. If our expectations had been in-line with the what we actually were getting I think we would have been much happier.
4 out of 5
by Charles

Getaway in the mountains

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice place. It's a little dated, need some work. Overall it's a great place to visit.