Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL

Overall Hotel Stay

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Its location and staff.
Cons: My pillows were too soft! But, I could sleep - so didn't request for a change.
Location: The places we could visit were limited. But, we did manage to visit the orang-utan and honey bears conservatory which was awesome.
It was a great stay for us. The room that we stayed in had two views, so, it was really a good room. Breakfast buffet selection was superb, we loved the croissants! Staff were very polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Four Points Sheraton in downtown Sandakan, Borneo

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This is a huge hotel. We stayed on the 24th floor. The views of the water were beautiful. The hotel was well located in downtown Sandakan, close to local stores, which were cheap. We had an excellent breakfast (except for the runny and tepid eggs). They had lots of different types of food and an omelet bar with made to order omelets. We pre-ordered the night before and got a discount Several of us did not have hot water, the baths didn't drain well, and they were hard to get into. There was glass between the bathroom and bedroom, with a shade. There were not enough towels.
4 out of 5
by Swee Seng

Convenient and Clean Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was perfect except for the hotel multi-storey car park which you have to drive on a spiral ramp 5 floors above.
5 out of 5
by Becky

Comfortable stay

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
It took quite a while to check in but our room was lovely with great views of the harbour. The pool is great and breakfast was plentiful.
4 out of 5
by GOH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ian

A very average package tour hotel.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Sandakan is a working Borneo town. Folks come here to visit the Orang Utan and other eco tourism venues. Sandakan has little to offer a tourist. This hotel is built over a shopping mall. The rooms on the east side have the mall air con machines noise - insist on an odd number room on the west side! The hotel is not close to any of the area attractions, is old and jaded. The local restaurants have honest and cheap local food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New West, BC Canada

Adequate for a short stay

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff at the Four Points are its best selling feature. I stayed for only one night while connecting for an eco tour. I had booked through Expedia who did not have access to other options that I discovered after arriving. I had hoped for a more local feel, which is unreasonable given that this is a chain hotel. The hotel is more than adequate for an overnight stay, but would option for other options next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Was good but sadly the bath tub cleaniless and the faulty toulet knob spoiled it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Centrally located and quality service

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Wotif
Great location near the central market and restaurants. Good breakfast selection but pastries are not that great.... Try the traditional congee instead. Easy access to shopping center.
5 out of 5
by schneider

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was an awesome night stay with great view,sure i'll be back!