Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and polite

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: The staff are very polite and always smiling
Cons: The hotel is a bit run down and the breakfast choice is limited, the swimming pool is a bit neglected but the water moderately clean
I booked one room via expedia for one night, and a few weeks later I booked the second room for the same night. However our itinerary changed and we have to stay in Sandakan 3 days earlier and we booked the additional 3 nights via a friend. The staff is very nice to let us continue to stay in the same room and paid the little bit difference.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Luxury before and after the jungle

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Enjoyed the hotel as a taste of luxury especially the pool before and after a 3 day stay nestling in the jungle. Was within walking distance of centre of Sandakan and not too far from the sanctuaries at Sepilok.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KK

Nice Old Building Hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The huge BED and carparks
Cons: Swimming pool need to improve. and Wifi is too slow and seems limited speed.
Location: Near to Agnes Keith House..Hard to access any restaurants outside hotel at night (if u have no car), only inhouse restaurants available.
Although old building, Sabah Hotel is a good 4 Star hotel. Huge Kign Bed and Carparks available. Quite hard to access outside restaurant if you got no car. The only choice, inhouse restaurant. But GRAB & UBER is another solution. Near to Agnes Keith and English Tea Restaurants, but still u need to walk uphill about 10 minutes. Swimming pool is OK.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paihia

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff.
Location: Good for stopover to airport and to rest from jungle trips.
Large comfortable hotel-wonderful time here. Beautiful pool. Best food. Lovely to see the trees and garden around pool from our bedrrom window. Good location for 10 minute walk to Agnes keith house and Tea-rooms. Good stopover on route airport.
5 out of 5
by lynette

Family holiday

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Our 7 nights at the hotel were extremely enjoyable. Staff were excellent in their care and assistsnce. Could highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are spacious, breakfast provided plenty of choice and in house dining was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by Brendan David Edward

Can not recommend Sabah Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
First impressions of the Sabah Hotel were great. Fantastic area & surroundings, elegance, appearance. The room was spacious and well laid out. However it all went downhill from there. - Service was basically non-existent. Was told to make my own phone reservations, but I could only do that after they remembered to activate the phone. - The bed was rock hard. - The restaurant manager was a nightmare, and overbearing. - The food was poor, and overpriced in comparison with other places. - The food service was even worse. My wife finished her meal before I received my meal. Noticed that the same thing happened to another table. - Was requested to sign for our meal at the restaurant, even though I paid cash. - Was not able to consume alcohol in the restaurant, and therefore had to eat outside in the heat and with the mosquitos. - Would prefer milk for my coffee, and not the "creamer". Definitely not a 4 star establishment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

suitable to bring your babyyyy

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
just great. love the room!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A pleasant suprise

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Good value for money
Cons: New shirts for reception staff
Location: Dinner in Sin Sin was an experience - worth being brave for as the location could be off putting.
For the price we paid - a revelation. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the torn shirts did not give a good impression. The room was great - big comfortable bed, large balcony, big bathroom. Breakfast was a bit basic. Nice pool.
4 out of 5
by jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Nice relaxing clean hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Would definitely recommend this to anyone that has not been to Sandakan one of the best towns in Sabah