Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Break

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Booked the fernside for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay - the room was a good size and both well decorated and well maintained The breakfast is excellent and the staff always willing to help I would recommend without hesitation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e swanage dorset

Very nice people and staff couldn't ask for better

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Enjoyed our stay and would stay again lovely friendly staff and especially the lady who serves you at breakfast nothing is too much trouble . We bought extra milk and put in water in the room to keep it cool they put us a small fridge in to keep our stuff cold very thoughtful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Small hotel fairly close to town centre and beach

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: We booked this hotel at peak holiday season so were glad to be able to get two rooms at short notice. The cost per room per night is very reasonable.
Cons: A decoration face-lift would make a world of difference.
Location: The hotel is handy for the local shops in Sandown and for the sandy beach. It's convenient for exploring the rest of the Isle of Wight.
We had two rooms with twin beds for four nights at the end of August. The hotel has 15 rooms in a converted nineteenth century house. There was an ensuite bathroom with en suite shower in each room. The rooms were decorated in an old fashioned, slightly shabby style with small windows. Breakfast was served strictly between 8.30 and 9.00 am. There is a small bar which is open in the evening, although we didn't use it. The hotel owners are very friendly and appear to work behind the scenes preparing breakfast each morning, which is served by a single lady.
4 out of 5
by John

Very friendly owners and staff.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel near enough to town so you could leave the car and walk to one of the many restaurants. That way you could have a drink with dinner without worrying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice clean hotel. We felt that the time given for breakfast could have been a bit later and had a bit more flexibily.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from nottingham

Brilliant value for money

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
For this price, the hotel is fantastic. Great service, lovely breakfast, very clean and free wifi. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
A nice clean hotel with friendly staff, great servive and an excellent breakfast. Would recommend
5 out of 5
by Richard from London

Good b&b in Sandown

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay. The room was well maintained and looked like it had been refurbished in the last couple of years. All comfortable and clean. Very friendly owner/manager who helped me find a secure place to store my bicycle. Very close to the station - bit of a trek down to the seafront, but you can't be close to both in Sandown. I'd happily stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated guesthouse = not a 4 star stay.

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
The guesthouse was a bit dated, the value for money not so good (£80 per night for two people price (inc. breakfast)) given the quality of the guesthouse. The price justified a 4* guesthouse, but the guesthouse was not 4*. Also, it felt like we were transported back to the 80s/90s, not in a good way. The owners were very nice though.