Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rob

Loved the charm of this Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is dated but this adds to the charm. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful. The night we stayed the was a country & western singer which we absolutely loved. There is free wifi in the bar but thats about it. Right on the beach front with the pier a couple of minutes walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east anglia uk

Good location fabulous food helpful staff .

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location food comfortable bed friendly staff .
Cons: I would have liked a designated smoking area.
Location: Central to all shops and transport.Pier 50 yards from hotel Espalande full of cafes bars and amusements.
Thoughly enjoyed my stay.So have booked for next year this time with sea view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean and efficient

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The location is unbeatable.
Cons: Hotel wide wifi access.
Location: The hotel is right by the beach, but also just behind the high street with several nice shops. Access is fairly easy by car.
We enjoyed our stay - the room was clean, staff was very friendly, breakfasts were good. Bar and lounge area was very nice and a great place to relax with a with a view of the sea. Room was very hot and stuffy when we arrived, but staff unlocked window restrictor after raising this with them, and this made a big difference with the breeze able to air the room. Internet access was poor, with the wifi service not reaching our room and general mobile signal being quite weak.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Karen - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We really do have a fantastic seafront location. We only advertise as having Wifi in the public areas of the hotel but will take your feedback on board and we may extend this to the bedrooms in the future. Unfortunately the Isle of Wight in general does not receive great mobile phone coverage. We hope to welcome you back to the Trouville again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location opposite beach

Posted Jan 2, 2017
This hotel appears good when first visiting but there is no Wifi anywhere above the ground floor and no service on you phone whilst in the hotel. Only facilities is two bowls mats and a table tennis table. Parking opposite hotel is free from October 31st to March 1st subject to availability only. Shops nearby and excellent beach. Staff are efficient but no personality in most of them. Cleaners are excellent but mould in bathroom. Breakfast is ok but not very well cooked. Cold breakfast is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Nov 7, 2016
As per the title. Moral of the story is you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel on the seafront

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Standard hotel that offers clean accommodation in a prime location. Though initial arrival welcome was well lacking I think that it is the restaurant that let's down the whole experience and from a guest saying a great experience to saying instead average stay. I have stayed at the Trouville before and truthfully you do miss.the previous restaurant manager as she was friendly, welcoming and the restaurant ran like a well oiled machine
2 out of 5
by Gary

good value and it done the job for 2 nights

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
great staff, great view .... no wifi, tired rooms, 1 lift, needs updating!
2 out of 5
by james from ireland

This hotel and staff could do better

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is on the sea front and near town centre. This property is old-fashioned and over priced. B and B 3 nights cost €400 and English breakfast was poor. staff were not very friendly bed and bathroom were clean but sea view window was dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Very nice hotel in great location

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Good location. Nice size room. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Right on the front with the town's main streets just behind the hotel. Great for taking pleasant walks along the front and cliff-sides.
My wife and I stayed at the Trouville hotel for a couple of nights in mid-September while visiting relatives on the Isle of Wight. It is a nice, clean hotel right on the beach front. The room was a good size, with a nice bathroom and decent storage space. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a little confusion with our booking, which turned out to be a mistake on my part, but the staff were very polite and helpful throughout. The location was perfect for us. Though the weather wasn't accommodating to hanging out on the beach, we were able to walk along the front and into the town. Overall a very nice hotel in good location with great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only good thing is sea view

Posted Sep 1, 2015
The hotel is very worn out. Expect cracks on the walls, outdated furniture and brocken down lift. The walls are very thing. You can here your neighbours walk, talk, watch TV and snore. And even the sound of the waves can't cover these sounds completely. But the worst experience was breakfast. Everything was as cheap and tasteless as possible.