Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

waterpark/facilities were good, rooms weren't clea

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The first room we were in we found ants everywhere in the bathroom. We called and they sent maintenance up. Everyone was friendly. We went in after he came back up to clean the mess and found more. Got our room changed. Upon arrival I checked everywhere to make sure there were no ants. I didn't find ants but here was hair everywhere in the floor. I think they need to find better cleaning people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marysville, Ohio

Within walking distance to activities and dinner.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Fast check in and out, great staff at front desk and waterpark. Enjoyed Everything from dinner at Quaker Steak and Lube, Room Service and Ebb and Eddy's Toft ice cream. Enjoyed meeting Linus too :) Beds weren't comfortable but we managed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Overall good experience

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We arrived before 1pm. While I was checking in, our room suddenly became available (it wasn't available at first), so that was really nice. The room was right next to the elevator and we were able to hear some less than respectful people outside our door. We had the Tarpon suite. The separated area for the kids was really nice, until you saw a big window opening in the wall between the rooms and only a bamboo blind to block it off. The refrigerator and microwave were white, but you can tell they were really old. The creases, corners, and gaskets were all orange. Other than that, it was clean and smelled nice. We went to the arcade and that was our most disappointing time. None of the claw games had claws that closed on anything. No one in the arcade won anything out of them. I asked an employee about it, and she said the games were rigged! I was shocked she said that and I replied "What?" She then said "Oh they close sometimes." Sometimes the tickets didn't add to the cards which was upsetting. We spent a great deal of money in there, but had barely any tickets on our cards. We did not return there.The waterpark was nice. It was not overcrowded, the air temperature was nice, and the water temperature was perfect. Although we were disappointed they did not have a lazy river, they more than made up for it with the wave pool. The kids had a great time on all of the attractions. We did all end up with colds a few days later though, but it's to be expected when visiting waterparks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Water park fun. Kids had a ball and that is why w

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Clean and was nice to play at
Cons: Food needs to be hotter.
Location: Don't know about things near by. We went there and stayed.
Food at buffet was cold. Nice food small variety but need to turn up heat table. Waitress was great. Lifeguard was friendly with small kids so great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taylor, MI

Nice water park hotel but please replace the beds!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Overall Castaway Bay is a nice hotel. The water park is fun and has elements that will appeal to all members of the family. The only downside is the beds. I am writing this review 4 days after checking out and my upper back and neck still hurt from the stiffness of the bed. I may as well have slept on the floor. It's that bad and I not an isolated incident as I have stayed there previously and remember the beds not being too comfortable in past either. They have just gotten worse since then and really should be replaced. Other than that, everything was great! The service was good, the staff very friendly, and the resort has good food options as a whole. The only other suggestion I have for the property would be to expand the food options that are within the water park itself as those are pretty limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Waterpark Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
We stayed here when we were going to Cedar Point. The hotel is close to the park (but you do have to drive a few miles to get there). My 12 year old loved the waterpark. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Hoping we can go back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Indifferent

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The service was somewhat slow and unusual
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice waterpark!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Nice waterpark with QSL restaurant attached. Room was just average.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
We had a nice time it was small but big enough for the little ones to have fun