Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, but not close to the turnpike

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Clean. Neat automatic pancake maker in breakfast bar.
Cons: In a resort area on the shore of Lake Erie, which is NOT by the turnpike at all.
Location: I suppose it would be a more fun location in the summer. Not much going on at this time of year.
Nice clean hotel in a resort type area near the shore of Lake Erie. About 20 miles from the turnpike, which was bad. We thought we had booked through this booking service a Holiday Inn Express in Fremont, which is located just off the turnpike. Unfortunately we did not Google map the address on Catawba Rd. After arriving at the Holiday Inn Express in Fremont, we discovered we had to drive 20 more miles through heavy fog on country roads to the Port Clinton Holiday Express, where we had the paid reservation. Moral of the story - even though you are searching Fremont, you may turn up hotels much farther afield - make sure to check the address location before booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Nice hotel. Will stay again. Safe location. Only 20 monutes from cedat point. Yummy free breakfast. Very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

had to switch rooms at 2am

Posted Aug 12, 2016
People were drunk and loud outside and pointing looking threw my window had to switch rooms at 2am been accused of things which I didn't do. And staff call too many times to lie about something. Not happy. Worst stay ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice facility centrally located. Pool was too hot b
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zanesville, Ohio

Terrible room for my wife's birthday

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The rest of the hotel was OK
Cons: Room cost Versus room size
Location: There was plenty to do. This keep us out of the terrible room most of the time.
I book a room at 227 dollar a night for my wife's birthday. The hotel place me in a small handicap room with a busted security lock on the door. I ask for another room and the hotel told me they had none. The bathroom was almost as big as the room and there was no desk or chair for my computer. It was terrible and we left early!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
They put us in a handicap room that wasn't cleaned. There was garbage under the beds and the shower nob was broken was we had to hold it while taking a shower. Pretty disappointing stay for us. The bugs are absolutely disgusting as well. They literally covered the entire building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Ideal location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: On site restaurant - not much in the nearby area
Ideal location to Cedar Point and the Lake Erie islands. Comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Great location and very accommodating staff.
Cons: There was a weird smell in the room.
The staff was very friendly and were more than happy to help us with any requests we had. It was close to the Miller Ferry and not too far from Sandusky where we were meeting extended family for a surprise birthday dinner. Bathroom was clean, no bugs or hairs found. Simple but good breakfast. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from middletown, oh

close to everything we wanted to do.

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: staff, breakfast, cleanliness
Cons: the pool and the room where the pool is
Location: it was close to the safari, and the ferries. close to walmart.
it was a clean room. the air took awhile to cool down but once it did it was comfortable. the staff was wonderful and honest. we left a ring there and was about a half hour away and had to turn around to go back. the housekeeper gave it to us. she had found it. really wasn't expecting that. the only thing i didn't like was the temperature of the pool. the pool was hot. the room with the pool was hot. had to go outside after the swim to cool down. don't stay just because of the pool. stay because of the cleanliness and the good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Kim Bartish, Hotel Management
Hello B, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are so sorry that the pool was too hot for you. Thank you for the wonderful comments about the cleanliness of the hotel; we greatly appreciate it. Sincerely, Kim Bartish
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Willoughby, Ohio

Better options in the area

Posted Feb 15, 2016
I've stayed at several hotels in the area and found this one to be more expensive with less offered. Room was s bit dated...decor was nice but the bedding looked old. No shampoo or said in the bathroom, the room key sometimes worked and sometimes didn't. The pool door wouldn't open, etc. I would recommend staying up the street at the Country Inn...nice pace and roughly 40% less.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Kim, Hotel Management
Hello Bart, Thank you for letting us and other travelers know how your recent stay with us was. Whether good or bad we value our guests opinion. Thank you for giving us your input. We hope you will come back and see us again. Sincerely, Kim Bartish