Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to Cedar Point

Posted Oct 18, 2016
No batteries in smoke detector, light switch hanging from wall, heater/ac unit filter plugged with dirt/fuzz, toilet moved back and forth, towel rack and shower curtain loose from wall. Someone knocked on door 2 separate times at 3 am. 1 towel & washcloth. Charged me $5 Xtra at checkin after already had pre paid. Have pictures if you need to see them
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Took forever to be checked in

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Horrible front desk service "learn to English couldn't understand him at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down...

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: That we didn't pay much. Not much else to be happy about.
Cons: Room smelled like used to have smokers. Peeling paint in bathroom. They said our key card didnt work so gave us a "master key"...
Location: Cedar Point amusement park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
We booked this hotel last minute. When we arrived we had to wait at the front desk for someone to show up to check us in. When given the room key, it had 5 other room numbers written on the key and scratched off. The first room we were given had not been cleaned, and the 2nd room had a horrible odor, and stains on the bed. Needless to say we did not stay. The hotel nor Expedia did anything to rectify the situation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sandusky ohio

do not stay there

Posted Sep 27, 2016
the staff was rude and ignorant. the room was filthy. dirty towels bedding. carpet was dirty bugs in the room. no hot water toilet didn't flush. I was scared to even lay on the bed so I sat in the chair till go time. no continental breakfast as advertised. door didn't even close properly and very small room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything. Or just demolish it. Would be better demolished than allow people to stay there.
I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago. It wasn't anything special, obviously, but it was clean. That is all I expect out of a cheap hotel; a clean room. Well I booked 2 non smoking Queen rooms this time around. Both rooms were DISGUSTING. Stained yellow and black sheets, cigarette burn holes in the comforters, garbage on the ground, and barely cleaned bathrooms. Both rooms were "just cleaned" too. One room reeked of smoke upon entry which is a big problem for a NON smoking room. Asthma and smoke do not mix. The other had flies everywhere. It was literally the most disgusting set of rooms I have ever seen. Then the service from the cleaning lady and owner was abysmal. The lady informed us that we wanted "a $400 p/night 5 star hotel" for our cleanliness standards. She also said the flies were from "Ohio in the rainy season" and "we let them in by opening the door." I live in Ohio on the river, and that is just a lie. I also opened the door while she was there for a full minute and not a single fly came in contrary to the "swarm" that should've happened according to this lady. The owner promised a refund for 1 room after making us take it up with Expedia, but then denied it when Expedia tried to collect it. So all he did was lie to our face about getting some money back. This hotel is about as clean as a dumpster, and has the honesty, customer service, and morals to match. Needless to say I did not spend the night there, and I will never set foot there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern TN

Do not book this place

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: refer to the experience.
Let’s just say that after a full day in the sun at Cedar Pointe, my 12 year old and I opted to drive the 9 hours home instead of spend the night at this place. Here’s our experience. A party in the parking lot (lawn chairs, coolers, loud music that had I been a decade younger and without a kid may have been seen as an amenity) greeted us before we even got to the front office. Then a man that was hard to understand and dressed in shorts and a Hawaiian shirt slowly checked us in for our reservation. We then departed the front office, through the party to our room. Ahh… the room. It reeked of cigarette smoke mixed with fairly fresh paint. It was a little cool in there, so I went to the new thermostat to turn the AC up. I thought to myself, “nice thermostat, too bad it doesn’t cover the hole in the wall that the other did.” My daughter then pulled back the comforter on her bed to check the sheets and saw a nice stain. At this point, I dared not go in the bathroom and instead went back to the front desk to “check out.” I fully expected to pay some cancellation fee or the like, but instead was told no refunds of any kind. I then asked for the number to Howard Johnson’s corporate to see what I could do later and was given the number to hotels.com.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had to ask for the room I booked.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Room didn't have a refrigerator like it said, small, and smelled like curry. They didn't bother cleaning the room or refreshing the towels like most do. I've stayed in cheaper places with alot better service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Would not stay again no air no housekeeping not a good hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The room was not cleaned very well and the staff was very rude when I told them the room was nasty