Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canastota, NY

Smell of room overwhelming.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The room was sprayed with some sort of overwhelming spray and the bathroom was in rough shape. The tub was dirty and the walls of the shower were pulled away from the actual wall. The fan was so incredibly loud and did not help with the steam from shower. Breakfast was nice and the people we nice, but I don't believe I will ever be staying at Howard Johnson again. That was our first and last time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Troy, MI

I'll just spend the extra money next time......

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The hotel is in need of a major makeover! From the small double beds to the rusting shower bar in the bathroom. The carpets did not appear to be very clean either! The best thing about this hotel was the closeness to Cedar Point, clean towels and sheets, and the cost per room was much more affordable than Breakers and Castaway Bay. Can't say that I will be staying here in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland, MI

Nice hotel, close to Cedar Point

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: location to Cedar Point
Cons: info said we had to check in between 3:00 and 6:00, right in the middle of our day at Cedar Point. Found out this was false but needs to be clarified.
I was concerned about our stay because of the negative reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. Although an older hotel, our room was comfortable and clean. It was close to Cedar Point which was our main reason for booking. The breakfast may not have had eggs, meat or waffles, but it did have cereal, bagels, donuts, muffins, coffee and 2 choices of juice, better than a typical continental breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only advantage was that's 5mins from cedar point

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Had to switch rooms due to A/C leaking on carpet. The other guest were making noise outside. The fire alarm went off at 2am one night. After arriving from a long road trip, no one was at the front desk for 25mins.. Etc
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pat for...

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The room was ok but the pool was small, our room was on the back side of the hotel where there was no parking, the ice and beverage machines weren't working and we had to ask 2 separate times to have the milk replaced due to flies in it. There were people at the desk with complaints each time I was up there so I know that I was not the only one who was not impressed. I will not stay there again and I don't recommend it to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Things were not very clean and the room had a full instead of the queen we were promised. After the first night, both ohr keys stopped working. Later that morning, I saw another man walk up to the front desk and complain of the same thing. Due to their lack of surprise, I'm assuming this happens to every guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sandusky, Ohio

Gross, horrible, go elsewhere.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Booked this hotel on guest reviews and pictures. Figured it was going to be decent and paid for the hotel. Got there checked in and it was disgusting. The building was old and looked like it had water damage. The rooms were small and musty. The bathroom needed a renivation. Ive seen cleaner places camping. Also toilet was broken and wouldnt flush. Couldnt stay and went to the Holiday Inn express down the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to Cedar Point

Posted Aug 9, 2016
When I got to my room the closet was full of dirty towels and the shower wall had a chunk of someone's hair stuck on it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, oh

Inexpensive and close to everything

Posted Aug 8, 2016
You get what you pay for. It was a place to lay my head at night. We only spent enough time in the room to sleep. It was extremely close to downtown historic sandusky which had some cool bars. We didn't go to cedar point but it is legit across the street so that's nice for those who do. The room was clean but older. It was quiet and the front staff were super friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for..

Posted Aug 7, 2016
A decent place to stay for the night..nice staff and rooms..would stay again..