Ratings based on 951 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Thankful

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Called the hotel to inform that I would be arriving late, as this was an out of state visit for me and my family. The front desk personnel were super friendly, asked how my day was going, and provided better accommodations (adjoining rooms) upon my request at the time of check in. They went above and beyond to make sure our short stay was comfortable, and enjoyable. We will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MICHIGAN

WORST HOTEL EVER!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The ONLY benefit of this hotel is that it is close to Cedar Point and the bar across the street!
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!
Location: Cedar Point and the bar/bowling Alley/laser tag across the street
First off let me say that the picture that is showing this hotel is NOT accurate and we left yesterday. The hotel that I stayed at looks nothing like the beautiful hotel in the picture. The room I stayed in was terrible. The was mold in the bathroom, the sink leaked, there is a major ant problem, half of the room is dark unless you use the bathroom light to try to see the coffee pot. The air conditioner is very loud and you can't hear the tv (which is too small) I did not realize that there would be a trains passing through all night long and the cleaning staff is beyond LOUD, but the worst part of this sink hole is the fact that the bathtub is DANGEROUS! I almost fell several times. It has a big bump in the center of the tub and when you are standing in it and using shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc it is very slippery. It's like having a hill in the center of the tub. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like this but room 115 is. I will never recommend staying here to anyone! It's too bad that I was only allowed to post 6 photos because I have a lot more!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Crappy hotel near Cedar Point

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: The family was nice and truly seemed shocked that we thought this hotel was crappy!
Cons: Light up the parking lot, clean the rooms, honor what your sigh says, add fridge & microwave - generally update the entire hotel.
Location: The location was great for anyone going to Cedar Point. We were there after Labor Day so some things were closed, and we expected that. No complaints
The parking lot lights & sign were all off, we thought the hotel was closed ( only 3 rooms were booked for the same night as us) . Our room looked adequate but was not and my feet stuck to the bathroom floor! YUCK! Sign said continental breakfast but when we asked about it we were told only on weekends. They were willing to provide cereal and milk after we threw a fit. No fridge or microwave available. We had 2 nts booked but only stayed 1, my mom couldnt even sleep in the bed as the smell from the mattress was making her feel ill. I will be doing a charge back to my CC if they charge us for 2 nights. We thought Howard Johnsons was a good chain, but I guess not anymore. We were very dis-satisfied. We didnt really feel safe as it was so very dark throughout the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brampton

My stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
For what I paid, I guess I got exactly what its worth...Cobwebs in corners...moldy washroom, mosquitos flying around. Cant really say that employees did anything wrong, tv and internet were good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Budget Friendly

Posted Sep 11, 2017
If your looking for a clean place to crash From a touring musician, it's ok
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kokomo, IN

Posted Sep 9, 2017
I couldn't believe how small the room was, even though an older motel. It was an ok location for the attractions, TV and cable selection were ok. Grounds and surroundings each side were rather run-down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

BEDBUG HAVEN!!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Please never stay at this hotel. I checked for signs of bugs in the beds. It wasn't until we got into the beds that they came out and started chewing on me. I thought it was a flying insect at first until 3 giant welts appeared on my arm. When I got up bugs were falling from my bed clothes....Like a horror movie. This place is awful. They did not want to refund my money telling me that I would have to wait for management to come in the next day. We were there to go to Cedar Point, we were not going to wait till almost noon for management. Then they tried to give me another room. No way. We had two rooms and nine people including 6 children. Had to escape to a new hotel in the middle of the night leaving some of our belongings that we did not trust to take with us. Terrible experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Mitesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to complete review. We are working hard to satisfy our guest. We have inspected every month and given treatment by well known nationwide company. Thank you Mitesh
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean update rooms
Location: Close to Cedar point
Room had a bad odor mold in bathroom hole in the wall small area of carpet missing tub was dirty and moldy bed were clean but poorly made.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Aug 30, 2017
It's all about the location! Thirsty pony, entrance to Cedar. Free breakfast sucks
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Appu, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We do serve a complimentary continental breakfast which consists of bagel(s), bread, muffin(s), donuts, coffee, hot chocolate, milk and cereal(s).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, IN

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel to Cedar Point
Cons: The hotel needs a drastic update and a way to keep bugs out of the room, However, there were no bed bugs in the room, we checked of course.
Location: I feel there are a lot of things to do near the hotel. We were close to Lake Erie, Cedar Point, restaurants, and other evening activities.
The best part of this hotel is the location. It is about a mile from the main entrance of Cedar Point. We were told we would have 2 rooms next to each other, we were put into 2 totally different buildings. We had mosquitos galore in our room and spiders in our tub. We would wake up to find dead mosquitos all over our wash clothes and towels and in the bath tub. When we went to take a shower, the spicket flew off the wall and water went everywhere. The room was very outdated. I had dried up toothpaste on a hand towel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by mitesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to review us. we are working hard to satisfy our guest, see us next time when you are in this area. Mitesh