Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not a hotel to take children.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room and desk area was clean.
Cons: Only hotel guest aloud at bar.
Location: Cedar Point, kalahara, castaway bay, great wolf lodge.
Well this was our first and last stay. Just wanted a very basic room and quiet to get some sleep before a long day. Well that did not happen. First clue, There is a bar downstairs. Supposedly the bar was rented out or it was a normal Saturday night (not clear on this). all night could hear yelling and loud talking outside and around 2:00am. There was so much chaos I had called the front desk to ask what was going on. Their reply was we are getting the last of the stragglers out we have 4 police and 2 or more security taking care of it. Up till 3:30 all I could hear is swearing, yelling, cars, music blaring and some girl in the hallway crying. I was so mad got up at 7:00am went to desk to get a refund not any problems getting it. i have stayed at hotels with bars before, this was just a low class hotel. This is why I gave it a terrible rating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Stay here if you don't care about sleep!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Around 3 am, there was a lot of noise coming from the parking lot with drunk people congregating and a number of cars idling with their headlights on and loud music playing. It felt like there was possibly drug and maybe prostitution activity occurring but no one with motel management appeared to be addressing it and when I called the front desk, no one had answered after ten rings when I finally gave up. I had wanted this to be a pleasant stay for myself and my son whose birthday we were celebrating at Cedar Point, however our experience at the Magnuson was a bad ending to an otherwise enjoyable day. I will never stay at this "hotel" again nor recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Great for the pay.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and staff
Everything was nice and clean. Great service. However the internet wifi wasn't working.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Disgusting

Posted Oct 10, 2016
As soon as I entered my room I went to the bathroom. Lifted the lid only to find a toilet full of feces! It looked like it had been sitting for awhile as there was a disgusting ring. The room was very large but did not appear to be clean. I called the front desk and was offered another room, but declined.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for price clean

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Not bad price 55$ for a clean hotel helpful staff and clean rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dowagiac Michigan

TV didn't work. Had to ask 2 times to get someone.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
There were stains in the carpet. There were some wired smells in the room. No elevator and we were on the 2nd floor. TV didn't work, had to ask 2 times to get someone to fix it. We had a party of 4 adults and not enough towels. Had to ask for extras. Had to ask for extra bedding for the sleeper sofa. I would not stay there agian.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
everything was nice, the colors of the place were a bit drab, could be more cheerful. Pool was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly. Bar/restaurant was very good, great food at a fair price! I would stay there again when in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 44663

Good place

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Friendly helpful. A nice place. Very friendly staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Disappointing and uncomfortable.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: The rooms need to be cleaned more thoroughly.
Location: The location is great. Easy access to Cedar Point and dining.
The lobby was very inviting. However, the room was not thoroughly cleaned. There were spots on the sheets and mildew in the bathroom and the shower curtain smelled mildewed. Also, there was a spring that was broken on our bed, so it made sleeping uncomfortable at best. The breakfast was simply mini donuts and coffee. The price was reasonable if the quality had been better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Reasonable rates

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Clean but dated. The lobby smells like cheap perfume. I booked a king room & we were "upgraded " to a room with a microwave & fridge. It was actually the ADA accessable room. Plenty of space because of wheelchair access. The clothes rack was close to the floor "too close". My clothes drug on the floor when i put them on the hanger. The shower was very small & the water controls were marked wrong (hot&cold reversed) & very difficult to use. I dont think a handicapped person would b able to put the seat down or reach the shower wand. There is an attached bar/cafe and it got very noisy at closing time around 2am. Someone in an upstairs room ? Sounded like they were assembling furniture. Lots of banging. It could have been from the game room. Make sure u book a room far away from the lobby/front of the hotel.