Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Excellent location and the water park is excellent

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Excellent, but I was disappointed at no free coffee or breakfast fruits or pastries in the mornings
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice location, worth the discounted money

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Water park smaller but ok for a short visit which was what we were doing. Room air conditioner not working well. Hair dryer did not work. Just told them when we left. Staff was helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

If you have no expectations, can't be disappointe

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Not too busy.
Cons: Update rooms, maybe try to get a second elevator, have your lifeguards on duty actually pay attention.
Location: We spent our time between the water park and Goofy Golf. They have go carts, bumper boats, arcade, two 18 hole putt putt courses.
First, there is only one elevator -that I could find- servicing the entire hotel. And unfortunately it only works 80% of the time. Relied on stairs mostly, which was a pain when you are on the 4th floor. Stayed in a one king bed room with 2 sets of bunk beds. Little a/c in master room could not cool entire room. Kids were hot. Also, if taking a teen that happens to be a bit tall like 5'8 and above, bunk beds are NOT for you. Overall condition of the room was as others stated-dated. Water park was decent. Mostly for smaller children. Stairs going up to slides were rusted and had pooling water. Kids ran rampant without lifeguards or other parents intervening, so be prepared to do some policing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Terribly disappointed!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: I Wouldn't recommend this at all.
Cons: Pictures on the website are very misleading.
We arrived late after spending a long hot sweaty day at Cedar Point expecting to be able to get cleaned up and well rested for the next day at the water park. This was not the case.....Once we checked in and got to our side of the building we entered into a smoke filled hallway of the "Non-Smoking" hotel. We then proceeded to our room opened the door to the mustiest room we have ever been in. The window was screwed shut and the wall air conditioner sounded like a jet engine about to take off. Not to mention the dire condition of the room and furniture itself. the carpet was seriously stained all over. We checked the beds for bed bugs. There weren't any but the sheets and pillows still felt wet. I don't usually write a review but I feel this place grossly misleads people about the condition of their facility and for $200 a night its a rip off!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Avoid hotel at all costs do not stay here

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Avoid hotel at all costs do not stay here Hotel was old,outdated, we tried to find our room and had to walk through construction because front desk did not give good directions and a map they gave us did not list our room.They were trying to do renovations but our room faced banquet center that was storage area for all the outdated items. The rooms that were being renovated had all construction materials waiting on windows or just outside the room doors that we had to look at Pictures on website did not match what we walked into our room, the air-conditioner was in the bathroom area that was down a hallway 15 feet away from the sleeping area and was really too hot to sleep, room was really smelly, we were supposed to stay for two nights and barely made the eight hours we were there we did not even go to the water park because the rest of the hotel was disgusting, this was a terrible hotel. We Will never ever ever ever stay here again they got us for the second night that we were supposed to stay but we packed up and went up to the Kalahari resort and we are glad we did.Save your money do not stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Stay away don't bother horrible hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
It is a terrible hotel, the rooms smell horrible, the beds are outdated and hard the room looked like something out of the 1970s, did not look like the pictures that we saw on here, which if it did we might've stayed for the two nights we booked . Our room overlooked banquet Center which this hotel looks like it was trying to do renovations with all the mattresses laying around and all the other rooms had old desks and stuff leaning against the windows and that area was horribly hot. Air conditioning in that area obviously does not work . Game room was horrible most games broken, roof leaked in game room. Hotel is like a maze, took 10 to 15 minutes trying to find front desk from room. just horrible experience booked room for two nights barely made it through eight hours . Checked out as soon as we could and went down the road to Kalahari resort. We will never ever ever stay at Maui Sands again horrible experience, carpets are dirty socks were black after walking on floors, air conditioner was in the bathroom on floor, 10 feet down hallway, making sleeping area unbearably hot could not sleep . Checked out next morning and front desk clerk never asked why we were checking out early unbelievable! they got our money for the next day but I will guarantee we will never stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

What a mistake

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We were given the keys to our room. When we got to the room the carpets were stained black. The chairs had spot on them. I went back to the front desk, explained the problem and was given another room. This room the remote was held on by an old bandaid. I wouldn't have believed this either. But I have pictures of all this. I called Expedia and said I wasn't staying here, I wanted a refund. The hotel refused to refund us anything but agreed to upgrade us free of charge. The 3rd room was better but we were missing one pillow and had problems with the air conditioning. The hotel lobby & Volcano Grill are not air conditioned. The only good part of the whole stay was the lady that ran the kitchen. She was great. She heard we were going to order pizza. She said she would reopen the kitchen so we wouldn't need the pizza delivered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc, MI

Cheap rates

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Close to expressway and restaurants
Cons: Smell of the room
Location: Kalahari Waterpark is down the road and lots of places to eat.
Overall the hotel is ok. The room has a smoke odor to it so we asked to have it changed and they moved us. The waterpark is fun for smaller children.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Changed room from what I reserved

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel gave us a room with one queen and 4 bunk beds instead of 2 queens like I reserved. Still had good service and the room was in decent condition, which was really all we needed for going to Cedar Point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, friendly staff

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was my first time here at Maui Sands. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The hotel could use some fixing, like peeling wallpaper, bend fixtures. The only bad thing I can say is the wi-fi. There was one bar of connection on the room and full bars in the hallway. So my son literally had to sit outside of the room to use the wi-fi. Other then that, the water was a blast.