Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2018
three main things that made my stay uncomfortable; a: maintenance man walking in our room and not even knocking, 2: the 2nd shift lady at the front desk was rude to my nephew when he inquired about the t-shirts, 3: the rude man who brought me extra pillows expected a tip. overall this place is starting to become run down. The beds are small and hard and they advertise a breakfast buffet but only set out donuts and juice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2018
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Youngstown Ohio

Posted May 27, 2018
Great hotel near all major attractions friendly staff great rooms would stay again in a heartbeat
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lorain, Ohio

Had problems right from the beginning.

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Pros: The rooms were clean. Some wall paper was loose but not bad.
Cons: Service. In all area's.
Location: Shopping resturants
Front desk the lady did not want to help me. Then I went to the next person. He really didn't want to take care of us either. We had a little family reunion and I had booked 5 rooms for my family. I asked if I could get a luggage carrier. He said there was none. I am 71 years old and that was hard. They didn't even give us the wrist bands for the water park untill we went back and got them. Then, we decided to eat there. Bad decision. We waited over a hour for 2 pizzas. Then a big fight was started really close to us with other people. The people there did not at all make that better. We had 3 young children there, we left that area a went to our room's. I really like to use this site to book my trip. But I am very not happy. This was a gift for my family. They also said that you were supposed to let us know by email that all the adult slides were closed. Which I did check there were none. Please let me know what could be done about this. I also found a luggage carrier at the end of our floor. He just didn't want to help me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2018 by Dave, Hotel Management
I'm sorry that I appeared that I didn't want to help you, I was under pressure from the Front Desk Manager to handle another task at the time you checked-in. At that time all of the luggage carriers were in use. I'll talk with the grill folks about the time it took for your pizza, I know there were other issues they were dealing with.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland ohio

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Overall the hotel staff was nice but I ordered food which my whole order was messed up completely I got a refund but the food could of been better and the staff was a little inappropriate for as getting order ready ...but it was nice overall
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southfield, MI

Kalahari

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Orbitz
I thought I was booking for Kalahari, when you type it in search on Orbitz Maui Sands comes up VERY MISLEADING for people who are not from the area! Also the big slide was down for 3 weeks prior and thats pretty much the waterpark and it was down Staff should have called reservation people to inform them of the slide because people are coming long distances for this UNEXCEPTABLE SERVICE...My whole family was dissappointed and we left the next morning. I got some money back BUT wish I was refunded 100%
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from youngstown ohio

Terrible experience!!

Posted Feb 25, 2018
This was the worst stay I’ve ever had here. I get here and all the water slides are DOWN! Never said it on the site nor did it say anywhere else! I WILL NOT EVER COME BACK TO STAY AT MAUI SANDS AGAIN! Also $230.00 was debited out of my account and the room with tax and everything was $180.00! And the hotel staff! Let me tell you about them. They are the most terrible people they have the worst attitudes ever! Had said something to the manager which was a blonde hair lady about the slides and she copt an attitude with me and said WELL I DONT KNOW WHAT YOU EXPECT ME TO DO! Like really. And then me and my boyfriend went and sat at the bar to have a few drinks and the bar tender had a horrible attitude also and when she served me my drink there was HAIR IN IT!! And then had an even bigger attitude because I said something. We ordered food at the pool grill and I spent $50.00 and waited an hour for our food! This place is rediculous and I would not recommend this place to anyone! pay the extra money and go to khlahari or great wolf lodge!!