Ratings based on 633 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Maui Sands is smaller than Great Wolf Lodge or Kalahari, but in some ways it’s better. We checked in around 4 PM on Friday and pretty much had the water park to ourselves for the evening. We didn’t wait more than 3 minutes for a slide the whole time. Plus the staff is super friendly and helpful, and the public restrooms were super clean. We ate dinner at the water park, and the food was good and reasonably priced. Our guest room was super clean and furnished nicely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff rude

Posted Oct 15, 2017
It a great place for the price close to everything but waterpark staff rude but inside hotel staff was very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the room was clean!
The room was nice but the waterpark is in need of A LOT! It is very outdated and could use some serious TLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
The Waterpark is undergoing deep cleaning this winter, we have just started the process. You should see significant improvements on your next visit. Thanks for staying with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Room clean just had mice/ rat . Bunk bed not attached to wall in first room and only the size of camper bed 6 ft long less than twin size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Comfortableness of room and water park admission included in room price.
Cons: Keep up regular maintenance. (Corners in bathroom looked like they were starting to crack.)
Location: Great location surrounded by restaurants, shopping, & Cedar Point!
Very pleasant staff, room, and water park. Would stay here again! There was not an information booklet in the room, so I had to keep calling front desk with basic questions (pool hours, etc), and the volume of the tv wasn't working properly, but overall, very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! we are in the process of remodeling the rooms and catching up with the maintenance that wasn't done by the previous owners. We apologize that we haven't gotten to your room before arrival. You will see significant changes on your next stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great concept, poor execution.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The water park part was fun for the couple of hours that we were there.
Cons: Hot water in the room. More attention to cleaning. Close the arcade earlier or staff patrol of the halls.
Every night there were kids running in the halls, screaming, knocking on doors and being ornery. Young kids from 8-13 years old. No parents anywhere in sight. All after 11pm. Hotel staff was asked to confront the issue but refused to do so "until the arcade closed at midnight" but the issues continued even beyond that on the first night. Staff seemed to be overworked and pushed beyond the point of caring what went on. The second night we didn't even bother asking. Dirty sock under one of our beds. Trash in one of the dresser drawers. Tub took at least 10 minutes to get hot water. No hot water in the bathroom sink no matter how long I let it run. Overall bad experience for a room that cost almost $200/night. I've stayed in much nicer places for $125/ night and I've stayed in hundreds of hotels. I'm not usually one to complain but this was a big disappointment for a family weekend outing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

You get what you pay for.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
This resort is significantly cheaper than others in the area. I could definitely tell why. The front desk staff were not very friendly. The room was small but clean. The "hut" walls were fraying and being held together on the corner by packing tape. The kids bunk beds were wobbly and unsteady. The water park was OK. The first day we were there the temperature inside the park was so chilly that it didn't make swimming fun at all. The next day was warmer. The water park was small but occupied my family. The floors and steps were so dirty with debris and dirt. Some things in the main kids area were not working. The lifeguards on the slides were mean and seemed like they didn't want to be there. I experienced a lot of eye rolling when my son was nervous going down one of the slides. It was confusing what you needed a tube for and what you didnt. Many of the water tubes were laying around deflated. This location is ok if you want to go use a day pass at the water park but I would not recommend staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One word, Horrible!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Yes, the customer service needs to be improved
The staff was mainly consist of High school kids, very inexperienced. We had to sit outside of the facility for 1 hour due to false fire alarm. The fire alarm got activated around 3 AM. One of the employee initially said "don't worry go back to your room". But the alarm was on for 30 minutes and then we got the sudden instructions of leaving the facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super place for the grandchildren.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
We wanted a place to take the grandchildren whom we visit once a year where they would have a lot of fun. Saw this hotel in the Lake Erie Shores and Islands Travel Guide we picked up at a road side rest. The entire place was very, very clean, comfortable, and very pleasant. Their breakfast selection was satisfying to everyone. We will happily return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mini vacation with kids before school start

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Décor was cute - staff was competent and nice.
Enjoyed the park- was disappointed in the late check in 4 PM (Expedia said 3) we have a baby and while we could take the older kids to the waterpark what do we do with the baby no room :( Again check out was EARLY. 11 AM. same deal play in the waterpark but where to shower for the 3 hour drive or just stay covered in chlorine. guess if you need a getaway with kids you book 2 nights even if you aren't sleeping there.