Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron OH

A great weekend!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: It was decorated very professional and very clean.
Cons: It was hard to find the gift shop, however, once we found it we had a great time. The staff was very nice.
Location: The next day we went to Cedar Point.
We had a wonderful time. I had read reviews that stated the the beds were terrible. Well, our room was beautiful! The bead was great! Also, it was quiet and peaceful. We had a delicious meal...The Salmon Run food was awesome! The service was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We would love to have you back in the near future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Way overpriced!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
This is not a nice hotel. We booked 2 rooms that were adjoining, so that was nice for our large family. The rooms smelled like wet dog. The carpets and the sheets felt damp. The decor and bedding were old and outdated. They was no wifi in our rooms as we were at the end of the hall. There was a little yappy dog that barked constantly, even after we called the front desk. The air conditioner fan in one of the rooms was broken. The housekeeper didn't empty the trash in either room and threw one of our personal pillows on the floor and left it there. The workout room smelled like raw sewage. We were very disappointed in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will do our best to address these issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hazleton, PA

close to Cedar Point and restaurants

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel could use a remodel. Shower didn't drain, mattress uncomfortable, and light burned out in the bathroom. Took 2 attempts to get it fixed. No parking near beach, so quite a walk from the rooms. Water sports expensive. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurants. Staff was friendly and hotel was in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to have you come back next summer and enjoy some of our updates that are scheduled for the winter. As far as some of the issues you experienced in you room, I will contact our housekeeping and maintenance department to make sure we address these issues. Thank you again so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Quick stop

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Great staff and clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Repair/replacement of missing exterior lighting, activation of exterior door locks.
Location: We only stopped overnight, but my understanding is that the Cedar Point amusement park is nearby.
We needed to book a somewhat last-minute, pet-friendly hotel for a quick stop on our way through the area, and Sawmill Creek provided a nice place to stay. The staff was excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable. Lots of families with young children, and while they were sometimes a little loud when I was outside the room, I didn't hear them once we were settled in. A few items around the facility could use some love, such as broken or missing exterior lighting that left much of the parking area very dark. Also, it would have been nice to see the exterior doors away from the lobby locked so that access was limited to those with room keys. The readers are there, but apparently Sawmill Creek has chosen to just leave the doors unlocked. We stayed on a Friday night, and when we arrived around 8:30pm, there were people arguing loudly in the parking lot, which didn't give my wife the greatest sense of safety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and your feedback. Safety is VERY important to our guests and I will make sure to bring your concerns about the lighting and the locks on our doors up to our maintenance staff. We're happy to hear that you chose to stay at Sawmill Creek for a night and would LOVE to have you back again in the future to experience more of the resort! Thank you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Had some nice facilities...yet area for improvemen

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The ambiance and the grounds. Rented a golf cart to get to the beach and trails on the property. Wonderful atrium in the lobby/sitting area.
Cons: More realistic view of rooms posted online; improved mattresses. These were unbelievably uncomfortable. Cleanliness of bathroom.
Location: Stayed there mainly for my grandchildren to enjoy Cedar Point, and then relax for a couple of days after.
The lodge had a private beach which was typical - sand, boulders, waves, but nice and relaxing. They did have charis set up on the beach was a plus. The bathroom wasn't clean - had dead ants and hair on floor. The room was much smaller than I expected and when I asked about the "deluxe" that I booked, I was told that all are considered deluxe. The indoor and outdoor pools were nice, the ambience is unique as there are Native American artifacts encased in glass, and does have a nice "lodge" feel in the decor. The restaurants are ridiculously expensive and food was just ok. Found a wonderful family style restaurant 6 minutes away, Bernardi's. The mattresses were lumpy and you couldn't get traction to get up or move around, but otherwise the room was clean. Just a typical hotel room. The maid service was nice - very agreeable and accomodating, we were able to catch them in the hallway as the telephones were out for two days so we had to go to the front desk for questions and service. I would recommend this hotel with exceptions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We would love to have you back again next summer to enjoy more of our amenities. I will get with our Front Desk Manager in regards to the cleanliness of the bathrooms down at our beach. Thank you for the feedback, we have to know about these things in order to fix them so I greatly appreciate that. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fun in Ohio

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We had a great time there are so many things you can do at this resort . We will be back to do the wine tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to see you again sooN!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hermitage Pa

Nice hotel but too far from the beach.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Staff was friendly and accomadating. The proximity from the resort to the beach was quite a distance even if driving there and parking. Indoor and outdoors pools were great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! If we ever have the pleasure of having you back at the resort, we would be glad to shuttle you down to our beach on our golf carts. Thank you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Very nice hotel with a great property

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Property was excellent -- very quiet and remote. Loved the food.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved is the friendliness at the front desk. They did not make us feel very welcomed --
Location: The location is perfect -- we just wanted to getaway so didn't want to leave the resort.
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Sawmill Creek Resort Hotel. It was a great week-end getaway. The beach was awesome and the pool was very nice. Loved the hot tub -- temperature was perfect! The food was excellent especially at the Sunday Brunch. Could believe the selections of food -- it was awesome! We can't wait to go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth $200/night.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location(Marina, beach, nature preserve, etc) was amazing.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated with amenities a $200/night hotel would have.
Location: Great beach. Very close to Marblehead, Lakside and Cedar point. Arboretum over at BGSU Fireland Campus(5 minutes away) was highlight of the trip.
Lots of small issues that staff seemed indifferent about. Beautiful property and location but room and staff were average.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel/resort has seen better days.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: staff was excellent, food was good, location very convenient
Cons: update hotel rooms, tired and old. Shag carpeting was gross.
Location: great location
Rooms were old and tired looking. They were not comfortable or clean. Shag carpeting lets you know how long it has been since there was an update. Little bang for your buck unless you are a golfer. Many areas of the resort were closed with no activity.