Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Very nice hotel with a great property

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Property was excellent -- very quiet and remote. Loved the food.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved is the friendliness at the front desk. They did not make us feel very welcomed --
Location: The location is perfect -- we just wanted to getaway so didn't want to leave the resort.
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Sawmill Creek Resort Hotel. It was a great week-end getaway. The beach was awesome and the pool was very nice. Loved the hot tub -- temperature was perfect! The food was excellent especially at the Sunday Brunch. Could believe the selections of food -- it was awesome! We can't wait to go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth $200/night.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location(Marina, beach, nature preserve, etc) was amazing.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated with amenities a $200/night hotel would have.
Location: Great beach. Very close to Marblehead, Lakside and Cedar point. Arboretum over at BGSU Fireland Campus(5 minutes away) was highlight of the trip.
Lots of small issues that staff seemed indifferent about. Beautiful property and location but room and staff were average.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel/resort has seen better days.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: staff was excellent, food was good, location very convenient
Cons: update hotel rooms, tired and old. Shag carpeting was gross.
Location: great location
Rooms were old and tired looking. They were not comfortable or clean. Shag carpeting lets you know how long it has been since there was an update. Little bang for your buck unless you are a golfer. Many areas of the resort were closed with no activity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent place for a family gathering. Had fun.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
This is annoying. I already indicated my assessment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable and welcoming

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and obliging and the indoor/outdoor pool facilities were good. The hotel is set in extensive parklands and a golf course.
Cons: The hotel needs a facelift. The decor is tired and some of the air conditioning units are noisy. The ice machines can be a nuisance if close to room.
Location: Lovely setting in parklands and golf course. Close to beautiful Lake Erie shore beaches. Shops and some places to eat fairly close by.
We enjoyed our stay at the resort with the rest of our family. The rooms and facilities are clean and comfortable without being luxurious. We had a good breakfast in the restaurant everyday with good service. The resort became very busy at the weekend and groups of people would sit outside around the pool in the evenings and into the night. Consequently it could be quite noisy if your room faced onto the pool area and you needed an early night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We were looking for a last minute getaway and decided to take a chance since everything else was booked. Despite the reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and neat, carpet was fine and new flooring in the entry and bathroom. Although it was clean, Wallpaper, curtains and bed could use some updating. The resort was nice from the golf course to the marina. Beach was a long walk away and was a little disappointing. Food and service in the restaurants was very good. I would definitely go back for a golf weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna WV

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We were very disappointed to have arrived and found our room so dirty and musty smelling, after spending the day at Put In Bay. We were tired and sweaty and wanted to relax in a nice clean room. Not what we expected at those $$prices😖 Will not stay again ‼️
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from

Interesting Weekend

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Food, shops, proximity to water!
Cons: Drainage - flooding blocked the path to the beach and caused large puddles on golf course, in parking lots
Location: Cool stuff to do within the resort, close to Cedar Point, not a ton around town though (that we could find)
Some staff was very welcoming, desk staff was luke warm. Weather impeded our experience (obviously nothing the hotel could do about that) but there wasn't a lot to do in place of the rain. We ended up driving in to Sandusky, but there's not a ton to do there either (or at least that we found). Resort shops were great, food was good too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
I paid you all the money and you can't even provide breakfast?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

歴史を感じるリゾートホテル

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: ゆったりした期間を過ごすことができるようなロケーション。
Cons: 朝食のバイキングの品目を充実させて欲しい。
Location: 周りは行っていないのでわからない。
建物自体が低層階で落ち着いた雰囲気。また、ロビーはたくさんの先住民(インディアン)の資料が飾られておりとても興味深かった。