Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Inn

Posted Sep 12, 2016
This inn has a wonderful history, is beautifullyappointed and clean. The service is great. The Bistro has an excellent menu as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY and Vt.

Rude staff and horrible sleeping conditions

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The converted church was beautiful with lovely stained glass windows. The dining room, the former church was tastefully decorated with the windows.
Cons: The management needs to improve their attitude toward guests...a friendly hello and hope you had a nice time would encourage one to return.
Location: Beautiful boardwalk over marsh land to the beach, and Sandwich glass museum is excellent.
. No one was present at check in...we had to go looking for someone...a voice phone message was in effect but there was no response. When we checked out we use the phone system again the manager informed me to leave my key on the desk...no inquiry was made as to whether we enjoyed our stay, or was comfortable. When packing our car, the manager saw us but totally ignored us. I never met such a rude innkeeper in our over 30 years of traveling. The breakfast was good and the server pleasant. However, the bed was extremely hard and pillows so soft they were useless
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marlboro, New Jersey

Old Victorian house and converted church

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Our room was in the painted lady. They upgraded us to a slightly larger room, however there were tiny ants on the floor of the bathroom. Breakfast was tasty but disappointed that no protein offered as a side for the French toast or pancakes. A little over 1 mile walk to the boardwalk/beach but we actually got directions from a local shop keeper. The hotel needs to provide more information about things to do in the area. Nice quiet area. Bistro is a beautiful converted church complete with stained glass windows. Nice enough for 1 night. The location (close to the bridge) made travel easier too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel historical looks

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: I like the looks of this hotel due to its history and historical looks.
Cons: the hotel needs the exterior rear maintain better looking , and the bathroom shower larger for average comfort.
Location: lots of historical sights of homes and little stores of different things.
good entrance and good explanation . good food, great parking ,rooms are warming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spot for much needed R&R

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: the rooms were nicely appointed - breakfast was pleasant.
Cons: Small amenities - extra wastebasket, functioning bathroom door.
Location: less than 5 minute walk to center; quiet and relaxing.
We stayed in the Martha Room in the Painted Lady - 2nd floor, above CW's (bar/lounge), which turned out not to be a problem. It might have been different had it been prime season when it might be noisier - but I am not sure. The room itself was very nice - pleasantly furnished and bright. A/C and TV worked well and operations were demonstrated by the person who showed us to our room. The jetted tub in the room was very nice and relaxing, though not the easiest to get in and out of. Certainly not ideal for older folks - nor was the staircase, semi-circular towards the top. Breakfast in the Bistro was just fine, presented nicely. The portions were not overwhelming but they were adequate. The bartender in CW was very personable. Three small items - we could have used a second wastebasket somewhere in the room (especially since we had no maid service during our two night stay). The ceiling light/fan in the bathroom was not working, though a second light was functioning in the bathroom. Lastly the bathroom door did not close properly.....a handyman simply needs to plane it down so you do not have to push so hard to close it that it shakes the room. These are all minor items. Our stay was lovely - easy walk to the center of town, easy access to Rte 6. We would return to this quaint location again.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Andover, MA

what a wonderful, hidden gem!

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
The owner and his staff couldn't have been more gracious. Room was spectacular, as was both our breakfasts and our one dinner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Excellent location in Sandwich near Cape Cod Canal

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: AAA tour book
Cons: Reception on check-in was a little cold.
Location: Near Cape Cod Canal and visitor center. There is a park setting on the canal with covered picnic tables. Great to sit and watch canal traffic.
Staff was business-like but not overly welcoming. Maid service was excellent and the room was very comfortable considering the age of the building. I think the room might be a little cold in the winter based on the single-pane windows.
5 out of 5
by Paloma from Madrid

Precioso B&B en el centro de Sandwich

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente B&B en el centor de Sandwich, nos quedamos en la habitación Seth en The Painted Lady. Habitación grande y muy cómoda, desayuno muy rico.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Unique Property

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful facility in a primo location. My wife and I very much enjoyed the Monday Room in the Abbey. You will experience a friendly staff (owner was usually present) and excellent food and drink.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Comfortable Overnight

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Stayed one night in a very well appointed room with a king bed in the Painted Lady. Clean and quiet. Ample, complimentary breakfast with wait staff the next morning - choice of eggs, waffles, etc.