Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

Mayoka is the definition of R&R

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Mayoka have definitely thought of everything for their guests - from giving us a local cell phone with preprogrammed numbers such as for our new friend Alex (our driver), kayaks and beach accessories free for guests’ use, a delicious complimentary breakfast (try the Honduran typico breakfast made by Elisabeth), amazing sunset views, and the list goes on and on. We were greeted by name and they made us feel safe and completely at home. Will be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe, NV

A lovely experience.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: North American conveniences: air conditioning, wifi, television, amazing bed Caribbean conveniences: incredible beach, lush landscaping, ocean breeze
Cons: Honestly, everything went so smoothly.
Location: 20 feet from the beach. Kayaks and snorkeling provided. Taxi and car rental easily arranged.
Knowledgeable, attentive, helpful staff. Every request was simply, easily, and quickly fulfilled. Clean, cool, comfortable cabana right on the beach with a private deck. Relaxing pool/bar/dining area in a tropical setting. Excellent live music by Tommy. Delicious breakfasts served every morning. Awe-inspiring snorkeling at the reef right off Mayoka's pier. Additional dining options and spa within easy walking distance on the beach. THE MOST COMFORTABLE HOTEL BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I spent six nights in the Mayoka Suite for a birthday/anniversary trip. I’m pretty sure this is the best room on the island. The view is absolutely stunning. Every morning I just barely raised my head to look at an incredible view of the ocean. The staff are great – Tommy was so welcoming, Kyle and Demi (sp?) got us anything we asked for. They all really went out of their way for us. The food was fantastic. Breakfast is included and you get to choose from 5-6 options each morning and its made to order. We stayed for dinner several nights and each time we enjoyed our meals. The location was perfect for us. Private enough to get away during the evening but close enough for a quick taxi ride to the West End for the days we wanted to explore. We got a cell phone to call their driver, Alex, whenever we needed a ride. It was so easy. There are two diving shops close by, one on either side. We used Sea Divers and they were excellent. They even stored our gear between dives. This was such a great vacation and Mayoka helped create it for us. We’re looking forward to going back.
3 out of 5
by Jessica

Nice place, but isolated

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very pretty place and nice people, but too isolated and room was dark and views were the property, not the ocean. Was better in the cheaper hotel in town with better views and more light and not isolated. Was hard to get around from there. The driver they said would be there rarely was available. I left after 2 nights. but still paid for 4.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017
Hi Jessica We are sorry you did not enjoy your time at Mayoka. We hardly consider ourselves isolated but rather in a quiet serene location only 3 minutes from bustling town of West End. You were provided with a local cell phone with direct access to our team of drivers which you did not use. Our team of drivers always respond in 5-15 minutes after calling. Your suite, Coconut, has partial ocean views, is far from dark and is the one you picked. Beach front suites were available when you booked. It is clear that you required to be in the action of West End at all times and obviously Mayoka was not the best choice for your requirements The Mayoka Management Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

You MUST stay here!!

Posted Feb 19, 2016
It was the absolute best experience I've ever had on vacation. John and Barbara, owners, and their entire staff anticipated our every need! From the moment we arrived at the airport and their driver Alex picked us up, we had the best time. They think of everything and make your stay an experience to remember. They give you a phone to call them or arrange for a ride or activity. We've never been to Roatan and they made sure we enjoyed every minute. The food at the restaurant At the hotel was also wonderful!! I would not stay anywhere else when we go back. The hotel and grounds are amazing and in such a great location! You even can walk to a few restaurants nearby If you want. If you're wanting to have a vacation and experience to remember, stay at Mayoka!! You won't regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chad from Maryville, TN

An amazing location ran by amazing people!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The laid back atmosphere.
Location: The beach is right outside and you should take advantage of the sea kayaks and snorkel gear.
You couldn't ask for better people than John and Barbara. They are so accommodating that it is beyond belief. The staff are all excellent especially Edita and her Mojitos! You are sure to enjoy your stay at Mayoka Lodge. We spent a week there and still wish we would have never left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason and Angie from Austin, TX

Beautiful Hotel with great staff and lovely view.

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: It was quiet, relaxing, with a beautiful view of the ocean, direct access to beach. John and Barbara (the managers) were amazing!
Cons: The water pressure in the shower and sink were pretty low, but keep in mind you are on a small island off the Honduran coast.
Location: Conveniently located to food, dive sites, snorkeling right off the beach, the dolphin reserve, and shopping.
Our stay at Mayoka Lodge was better than we expected. Mayoka is not a typical hotel but is more like an upscale bed and breakfast. The five detached rooms are well maintained and clean and the small hotel feels like you've rented the beach house for your personal use. We were greeted with excellent margaritas and a full tour of the hotel while our bags were put in our room, and soon after we met the managers of the hotel who are great people. Every morning, one of the managers would come by and ask us what our plans were. If there was anything we wanted to do, the hotel staff took care of arranging transportation or guides for us. They even gave us a local cell phone to use in case of emergencies or to arrange transportation elsewhere. If there wasn't anything we had planned for the day, someone always had a suggestion on a great snorkeling place, or a friend who was going out here or there - we were even invited to come along with the hotel managers as they went to a place on the beach to meet up with some of their friends. They always had great suggestions for lunch or dinner if we didn't want to eat at the hotel. Breakfasts had coffee, freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit, and a hot meal. One breakfast we had the pleasure of watching dolphins jumping right out by the pier! Dinner at the hotel was wonderful (it was like we had our own private cook for the night).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel...lástima sin playa directa

Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels
Muy confortable. Hotel para parejas, chico y con muy buena atención. Lástima que no tenga acceso directo a una buena playa.