Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Adequate and affordable hotel in Maine.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location is good, staff is friendly, clean, breakfast (help yourself) bowl of fresh fruit at desk which was a bonus.
Location: Nice seafood restaurant close by. Mikes Crab Shack.
This hotel is okay across the board. It is exactly what you expect in a chain hotel. Nothing luxurious but not grubby either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Overnight

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Location: Not far from the beach area. A few nice restaurants that aren't hard to find toward Wells
Only stayed one night, but the accommodations were fine. The room was clean and everything worked. This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel & I would make a reservation again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sanborn ME

Maine

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Was nice. Has laundry facility. Staff friendly. Booked room for 3 people but only left two of each towel. Had to go to desk to get more. Decent breakfast. Had to complain about screaming kids at 12:30am. When we came back to hotel, someone had propped side door open with a rock. Not very safe. Management should of caught that on camera or something. Also, returning back at 11:30pm, side keyless entry didn't work. We stayed 2 nights. On second night, maid did not refill supplies. No clean hand towels, bath mat or cups. Guess cause I didn't leave a tip in supplied envelope. Pretty tacky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Mar 11, 2016
got there, stayed there, left. overall good experience. I didn't have to sleep in my vehicle.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Low Expectations

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: It was there.
Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. The room was okay for a one night stop-over: dry, reasonably clean, but not in a state-of-good-repair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

super Smokey

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, but the smell of cigaret smoke was overwhelming even in my nonsmoking room. If you don't mind that stench, it would be a great, cheap place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: It was nice, clean, and convenient
Cons: I could hear the people walking above my room at 1:30am
Had a great weekend at the Sanford Super 8! Would go back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Good location , clean and affordable. The only negative comment is that there are some rooms where smoking is allowed so parts of the hotel smells like smoke. Also there is no elevator. Beds were very comfortable!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
Just stay one night, everything was fine. The room was clean, reception was friendly. We didn't eat breakfast but it looked okay as we walk by. Nothing more to add.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mansfield, United Kingdom

Not as good as it used to be

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast. Limited but it's possible to get a slice of toast and a muffin and a few other things.
Cons: Cleanliness and make sure there are copies of USA Today available all morning.
Location: Maine beaches, outlet shopping in Kittery, easy drive to most tourist attractions in Southern Maine.
I have stayed here a number of times since 1992. The last time was in 2008 and the only change I noticed since 2008 was that the cleanliness of the rooms wasn't as good as it used to be. The first (non-smoking) room we were given smelled of smoke and there was a large chunk of dirt (around 5 by 2 cm or 2 by 3/4 inches) on the bathroom floor. We got another room that was cleaner but there was still some hairs and dirt on the bathroom floor. I would opt to stay at a Hampton Inn or similar further away from Sanford next time I visit Sanford as the standard of the Super 8 has declined.