Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Perfect

Posted Dec 17, 2017
This was our 3rd year here. That "says it all." We LOVE everything about the place: on the beach, owner is delightful, staff, accomodations, "old Florida," quiet, peaceful, tiki bar a short walk away on the beach. We have stayed in the cottages and this last time in an efficiency. It is perfect for a couple. If the fates allow....we WILL return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old World Florida

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The room was charming, very clean and well equipped.
Cons: Please, please improve the signage. The maps issued bear no resemblance to where the rooms actually are. It would be helpful to have someone on site.
Location: Lovely but so difficult to find.
Apart from being impossible to find, and the lack of any staff apart from a very nice gentleman, who said he didn’t work there, but was able to help us with towels and the intermittent internet, it was a delightful property. On our second day on leaving an obnoxious man on a bicycle told us we were trespassing on a private road! On our return to the property was once again very difficult to locate, fortunately a lady walking her dogs assisted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Id

Shellcation!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
My sister-in-law and I have always wanted to go on a shelling vacation to Sanibel. We stayed at the Gulf Breeze Cottages. I have to say the experience with the staff was amazing and the accommodations were fantastic. Olde Florida style with class. Comfortable and very clean. The view from our cottage was out of this world! Needless to say I am already planning a trip for next year can't wait to go back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Very charming quiet and serene . my wife and I enjoyed our time here and will return again at a later time..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belen New Mexico

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel!
Location: Many restaurants, gift shops and cruise tours nearby-we went on a dolphin cruise which was wonderful!
We had a wonderful time at Gulf Breeze Cottages. Our cottage was just steps away from the beach-everything was very clean. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and well maintained. Beach chairs, umbrellas, and even toys for children were provided. Laundry facilities also. Our second day there when we came back from the beach we had a vase of beautiful flowers on our table on the porch! The staff is so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. It was our best vacation ever! We are already making plans to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canandaigua NY

Everything you need

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Kitchen amenities - 2 burners, full fridge, sink, detergent. Hot showers. Clean room and bathroom. Easy to rinse sand off feet prior to entering room.
Cons: If anything, update the decor. But that's minor. We were very happy with this hotel.
Location: This location is perfect. Just steps from the beach. Less than 10 minutes to restaurants and souvenir shopping. Gulf Breeze is a gem!
Our room was clean and had everything we needed for cooking and relaxing. This hotel is just steps away from the beach. The location was quiet. Owners are helpful. We would stay here again and skip the restaurants. No need to eat out. Get your groceries before you cross the bridge to the island. Don't forget the 4pm check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Wonderful quaint lodging

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Loved the location. Staff was wonderful. If you are not into the big resorts and like the coziness of old Sanibel charm this is for you. Ppl
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from okc

Sanibel hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: beach close they had everything you needed for a great beach day
Location: fishing shell hunting,relaxing
This place was amazing close to the beach and town.Would reccommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VCR

Cute retro cottages on the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Wonderful location on a beautiful, white sand beach. Warm water & great shelling. The cottage had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Outdoor patio, gas bbqs, & beach lounge chairs available. Rental bikes were available as well. Lots of paved bike trails on the island. Loved it!