Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bella Vista, AR

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: It was close to the beach. Beds were real comfortable. Teaky Bar and Grill was convenantly located on the hotel grounds.
Cons: The room was a bit smaller than what we had expected and somewhat dated.
Location: Very close to the beach and Biotanical Gardens. Shelling is amazing. Can see sunrise and sunsets over the ocean.
Great location close to the beach. Staff was friendly. Hotel was clean and beds were comfortable. My daughter and I had a wonderful time and probably plan on going back in the near future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Angie, Thank you fo the lovely review. Certainly glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we will be able to provide yet another restful stay with us when you decide to return to Sanibel. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Treasure Coast

Peaceful and Intimate

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Wonderful, peaceful and relaxing scenery, just priceless the beach,the sound and smell of the the ocean and of course the view, sunrise and sunset, beautiful. The service at the Tiki bar was also great; however, the beds were uncomfortable because the mattresses were worn out and also we left the service hanger for our room to be cleaned at about 730 AM and when we returned at 4 PM the room was not cleaned and we did not have clean towels, so much for the house keeping service and don't forget your sunscreen and bug spray.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Brown Suga!!, Thank you for the nice review and for giving some pointers for potential guests of ours. I am certainly dismayed to hear that your room was not serviced during your stay. I hope that We will be able to have you stay with us again. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The place was great!!!! Right on the beach and the staff was fabulous!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you Kind Traveler for the nice review. I hope we can have you stay with us again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, OH

Can't Wait To Go Back.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING
Cons: Nothing really at all. Everything was truly just so nice and perfect.
Location: Oh my goodness periwinkle road is right by hotel and there are so many things to do. Just laying on the beach or collecting shells.
Oh my goodness. I researched all the Sanibel Inn's and this place was the best. Wonderful Staff. Perfect Location. The Beach service was amazing. Chris who attends to all the guest at the beach was so kind and helpful despite being pulled every direction for all the guest needs. All the paddle boarding and kayaking included free. We loved that and they deliver all the equipment right to your chairs and set up your umbrella. You don't lift a finger at this place. It was wonderful to just relax and enjoy every minute. You can even go golfing on the beautiful course right there.Our walk to beach from our room was perfect. Absolute wonderful place for a family with children or couples. The Inn is like a little jungle surrounded by trees and flowers and it's private. It's so quiet and peaceful. Our rooms were very clean and neat. I stress usually about this because you just never know until you get there. But no problems whatsoever with our stay. Loved every minute. Only complaint I have was I wish we could have stayed longer !! ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Chelsea, Thank you so much for the review! I will ensure that all of our staff is aware of the wonderful jobs they do. I have lost count of the wonderful reviews and mentions that Chris gets. I make a point to tell him that every time I see him. Certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that we provide for guests here with the activities package that is included in your stay. We are certainly looking forward to having you spend another relaxing vacation with us here at The Sanibel Inn. Hi Boris, Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to give potential guests some information. The bicycles are the most commented item we provide and have become a very requested item. Certainly glad to hear that you visited some of our neighborhood restaurants. I hope that you spend another visit with us here very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
3 out of 5
by Phyllis

A shuttering experience!

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Went on a family trip... if we go to the area again, will look at staying at a different establishment. The staff was friendly. The issues that we did have were that we could not use the air conditioner in the bedroom as it blew out musty air which made us all stuffed up. We used it the first night and woke up feeling like we all had horrible allergies from whatever was being blown at us all night. We therefore only used the a/c unit in the living room. Also we opted for renting the room which was supposed to be a bay view- as opposed to the partial bay view. I have put pictures of our "view" :). I guess you can see the view in between the two palm trees if you look to the right a bit And squint real hard. Then there is the shower.... there is a shutter inside the shower that does not stay shut. Now I am only like 5'2". And I was having issues with it hitting my head and my arm when trying to shower.. from the picture below, you can only imagine how uncomfortable the shower was for my husband.. just saying, for what we paid to stay five days, there were things that should not have been the case. And I'm sure that I am not the first person to make these observations and the issues have not been fixed. I can only assume that they will be continued to be ignored. Anyways, we will find another place next time. At most, this is a 99. A night suite and we paid much more. Shame on us!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017
Hi Phyllis, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us and I regret that you felt no one cares at our hotel because we certainly do care about the place we work for. If there was some way of knowing what room you stayed then we can work on these items but with only your review to go on then my hands are certainly tied. I understand your feelings about your experience with us and can only hope that we can identify the room you were in so that we can fix these things that ruined your trip. I wish there was something that i could do to make this right for you. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great amenities but but could use remodeling

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Nice view of pool and Gulf from the balcony, separate bedroom, bathroom and living room with small kitchen. A bit outdated but roomy for two people. Love that kayaks, paddle boards, lounge chairs and umbrellas, and bikes were included in the price, and the beach staff were friendly and accommodating. Lighthouse only 2 mile bike ride and very nice bike paths all over the island. Great shelling on the beach. My only complaint is that the room smelled like bleach when we arrived. Front desk clerk offered us a fan which helped but the odor lingered. When it dissipated, the bedroom smelled a bit musty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Hi and thank you for the review. I am glad we were able to have you stay with us. We are in the process of updating several areas around our property so stay tuned! I will make sure that housekeeping is aware of their use of cleaning chemicals and to be careful with those strong scented ones. I greatly appreciate your assessment and would love for you to come stay with us again. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time to Sanibel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was my First trip to Sanibel. Hotel was great! Very friendly staff upon arrival. Nice room and the beds were AMAZING!! We wanted to bring them home with us. Would stay with Sanibel Inn again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Amy,thank you for letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Sanibel Inn. I h ope that we will be your choice for a hotel when you come back for more sun, sand, and shells! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Bay

True Beach View

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beautiful views! Great staff! Delicious food! and a nice sized room-condo for a family of 6. If you like a more natural beach setting, less crowded, and with amenities this is the place. Each family member, who in age range from 4 to 65, loved our mini vacation on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Bren, thanks so much for choosing oiur hotel for your vacation. I hope that we were able to provide a restful and relaxing stay with us here at the Sanibel inn. Looking forward to having the whole family back here very soon! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
by Laura

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Hi Laurs, thank you for the review and for your 5 star rating of us! I hope we will be able to have you stay with us again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville

Enjoyable Vacation

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Pros: It was perfect for my needs. I am a single mother with a teenage daughter. I liked being very close to the beach with umbrella and chair avai
Cons: Cons: The pool has no shade, so it is hard to enjoy it in the heat of the day. While the tiki bar staff is very nice, the food and drinks and pricey
Location: Places to Eat: Island Cow, Lazy Flamingo, Matzaluna, Cheeburger, Love Boat Ice Cream. Places to Visit: Sanibel Lighthouse, Seashell Museum
This summer was our second visit to the Sanibel Inn. No place is perfect, but the Sanibel Inn helped us relax and enjoy beautiful Sanibel Island. I would book there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Sandra, Thanks for leaving us a nice review. I am very glad that we were able to fulfill your requirements for a great vacation for you and your daughter. The sun is definitely a friend or a foe depending on the time of day and what you are wanting to do. We have umbrellas around the pool for use, but they do not cover the water itself. Definitely glad you enjoyed our new Island Time Bar and Grille while you were here. They have done a great job filling in while we have some refurbishing of our main restaurant underway. We hope to have it done soon. Thanks for your visit with us and for the time out of your day to leave us a nice review. I hope that we will be able to host you again real soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel