Ratings based on 1,392 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

nice hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Nice staff; close to beach; problem with lock on a sliding door which was taken care of immediately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Easy check in and staff was great. Location was perfect. Only complaint is place was dated and room had a musty smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, repairs and upgrades being done during our s

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Overall nice place to stay. Gravel road/parking lot is noisy at night. New restaurant on site was not open yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Groveland fl

Hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Nice, clean room. Our room was mostly pool view bur some gulf view. Hotel staff was amazing. All smiles Friendly. Outgoing. Helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Bell, PA

Sanibel Inn

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities.
Location: Close to restaurants and shopping by car and bike.
Sanibel Inn is just a few steps from the beach . We had a beautiful view of the Gulf from our room. Chairs and umbrellas are set up everday on the beach. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Dianne, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us and other potential guests a review of your stay. I hope that the upgrades we are making to the property did not take away too much from your vacation. I hope you will come back soon and enjoy more sun in our little spot on the beach. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seminole,Florida

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We spent 2 wonderful days with our Granddaughters in Sanibel, they had so much fun they did not want to leave. It was very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Donna,Thanks for the nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come back and stay with us again soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Excellent location, right on the beautiful beach, free of the crowd. The suits that we rented were very spacious, maybe one of them could use little update of the kitchen and bathrooms. Very convenient hsving washer and dryer in the apartment. The complimentary rental of water sports equipment/ bikes is very good idea, but it isn't such a good idea to have them operate only 8am-5pm. It would be nice to have a chance to use this equipment before it gets too hot or closer to the dusk. Overall, I would recommend the hotel, but next time I'll check the facility with longer hours of equipment rental.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Ivana, So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I wish I could have our recreation items out later than 5:00 pm. That is a law of the City of Sanibel to protect the nesting turtles that have used our beaches as breeding grounds for thousands of years. I hope this was the only blemish on your visit with us. I hope that we will be able to host you again soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

A disappointment

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The Tiki Bar was great, the bartender was great and the chicken sandwich we ordered for lunch was delicious. The staff were all very friendly.
Cons: Housekeeping! Plus our room needed upgrading - especially the kitchenette area. New furniture would be a plus. One of our lamps was cracked.
Location: The location was good; we weren't far from anything. There are many things to do and see on the island.
We spent two nights at the Sanibel Inn and it was two nights too many. The main reason for our disappointment was the cleanliness, or lack of it, of our room. We tried to contact the office to request that the floors be cleaned, but the phone wasn't working. We walked over to the office and told the girl at the desk. The problem was hair; someone left quite a bit of it behind. It was offputting to put it nicely. The cleaning staff was gone for the day. So the desk clerk tried to find us a comparable room, without success. In the end we took a walk on the beach and someone was sent to our room to rectify matters. When we got back it did seem that someone had been there, but that hair was persistent. Needless to say, we never took our sandals off. The rest of the room was OK. Quite a bit worn around the edges and in need of an update, but OK. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom needed a fan, but the shower had great water pressure. We were unable to take advantage of the free wifi; despite having 3 devices with us, the internet remained elusive. The best part of the Sanibel Inn that we experienced was the Tiki Bar. The bartender was a delight and we had a delicious chicken sandwich for lunch. The pool was nice and we had no problem getting chairs. The beach was a bit of a walk from our room, but it was nice and again we had no trouble getting chairs and having an umbrella brought down and set up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Bill Wellman, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I will certainly pass along your compliments to our hotel staff and the bartender at Island Time. I'm glad you enjoyed their friendly service. I appreciate your having already contacted me separately regarding the additional details I requested based on your Trip Advisor review. Please know that we intend to ensure that your future visits create much more of a positive, memorable experience for you than this one and that I am addressing all of the issues you brought to our attention and reminding our staff how important first impressions are to our gueests. Again, thanks you very much for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great little getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: I'm sure there's not a lot u can do re: the temperature of the pool to make it more refreshing. It feels more like a hot tub than a pool.
Location: Captiva Cruises Wildlife Sunset cruise, shelling on Blind Pass,ice cream at Latte Da, eat at the lighthouse cafe, Sanibel Stars and stripes dolphin cr
We came to Sanibel for a mother and daughter trip. The Staff was amazingly accommodating. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast 2 of the 3 mornings that we were there. The food was delicious. The menu has some wonderful healthy choices as well as the classics. We were not traveling with small children but It was a great place for kids. Lots of things to do on the grounds as well as activities not far from the inn. Our room was clean for the most part. There was a dirty tissue behind the curtain when we pulled it aside and the tub could have used a little more attention. All in all this was a great trip and I would certainly return to the inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you so much for the review and for the outlook of our hotel while you were here. I am so glad that everything went off without a hitch while you were here (except that tissue). Certainly glad that you enjoyed the Island Time Bar and Grille too. Our main restaurant will be open very soon. The temperature of the pool is mostly dictated by the Florida Sunshine for a large portion of the year. In the winter months it is heated to make it very enjoyable. I hope that you will return to our hotel very soon and check out our renovations. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not to come back

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We arrive late about 2 am, NO RUNNING WATER IN THE SHOWER. Not a very clean room A HOLE in the wall. ?!?!. Staff not very attentive to solve anything. And I love Sanibel I go every year, Definitely not to this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Bill Wellman, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, I'm so sorry you were disappointed in your stay. The items you mentioned are extremely unusual - not only that there was no running water in your shower when you arrived, which is not something I've ever seen, but your overall review of the resort and our service are unlike what the majority of our guests experience, as I'm sure you can see from reading our other very positive reviews. I sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again, and please know that what you experienced is not our standard. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager