Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great location and kid friendly. Great beach area and good shelling
5 out of 5
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

I'll definitely be back!

Posted May 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great beds, nice kitchens, convenient free-to-use beach chairs and rentable umbrellas. I was very content here!
Cons: A clothes line across the deck would be convenient (although there were some public ones outside. Some new tile in the bathrooms would look nice.
Location: We enjoyed the Kayak tour in Ding Darling refuge and LOVED the Segway tour. Everyone should do that! Shopping is plentiful.
What a sweet little place right on the beach. THE BEDS WERE AMAZING...and I'm picky. I slept like a baby every night. I was so happy to be just a few steps from the beach. The chairs were available outside to drag off to the beach and a nice umbrella could be rented for as many days as you'd like. I'll have to redecorate a room at home since I found so many great shells...most right in front of the motel. We were in the motel unit middle of the first floor, which was very nice. We did not hear any noises through the walls but the floors are old and you can hear people upstairs walking and even next door. It just made you conscience to your own heavy footfalls. No daily room cleaning but replacement towels are available any time the laundry room is open. The cabins looked very inviting too and I think we may try to stay in one of those next time. I hope to make my reservation for next year very soon! Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The parking lot pavers make the place look really inviting and well taken care of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Pros: Location, Location, Location (easy proximity to restaurants, beaches, and activities on the island) Beach access Pool Parking Full Kitchen
Cons: Cons: Noise in the rooms (better sound proofing to deaden noise between first and second floors)
Location: Beach walks, Shell Hunting/Collecting. Tarpin Bay Explorers outings, Biking, Ding Darling Nature Reserve
We have been to Sanibel Island twice before and stayed at another hotel on the island but this being the April vacation time for many schools it was difficult to find a lot of options. I was pleasantly surprised with the facilities and the size of the room. Every room in the "motel" portion of the facility has a view of the gulf which I thought was excellent. One of the features that I found a little strange was that we were told at check-in that the room would not be cleaned daily. Instead, if you wanted clean towels or linens you brought them to the "laundry exchange" next to the office. At first I thought this was a bad idea but then I began to see how this could really help keep the overall costs down. It was really nice to have a full kitchen and that too saved us some money on our trip by allowing us the option to fix our own breakfasts and to save leftovers from meals to eat later. One of the only "cons" for our room was the noise from the guests staying above us. The flooring creaked when walked on and the walls seemed a little "thin" so that sound traveled through them fairly well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice low key stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Shalimar is a sweet classic experience without bells or whistles. The screened in porches are a lovely perk. But wish you didn't have to pay for beach umbrellas and bike rental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Beautiful beachside on Sanibel!

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Orbitz
This was a perfect choice for just my husband and I for our brief four night stay on Sanibel. The hotel room units at Shalimar provide a beautiful up close view of the ocean. Nothing fancy but all you need including a very comfy bed, full size fridge and nice patio furniture. The walls are thin - so request a second floor room both for less noise and a better view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hotel is next to very nice beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
No room service. You have to drop your wet towels, dirty sheets etc to the laundry and pick up the clean ones yourself. I did not know about this. Was not a big deal for us but could be important to some. Staff was friendly and helpful. Clean facilities, pool, etc. Free chairs for beach but fee for umbrella, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

sunsets and sunrises from the hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location and attitude
Cons: NADA
We thought the location was superb. The sunset view from the hotel was excellent. Heated pool was great and Friday night buffet in the spring season is a nice benefit.Easy walk to a great restaurant and onsite bike and kayak rental was good.The beach is of course superb, and you could walk for hours in either direction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach. Great relax atmosphere!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Cottages are cozy for two. Four is OK but max!
Location: Great location! Lots to do nearby!
Everything is available to you for your own room service needs. No intrusions during your stay. They value your privacy and relaxation! Couldn't say enough on how quiet and relaxed atmosphere it was! Great crew and staff that run the place! They insure your needs are satisfied!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Lauderdale, FL

birthday getaway

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location, quiet
Cons: I'm sure some people will say appliances are out of date but you are on vacation. who cares! ;)
Location: beach is close! pool. must drive to eat, nothing close nearby except Sandbar and it opens late afternoon.
very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are great and the bed is comfy. we stayed in a motel room and the patio is real nice. good size refrigerator. we didn't cook much but they have enough supplies there that you only need to stock the frig. This is our 3rd time there and definitely will be back again. I have recommended it to several people!