Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Relaxing

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Song of the Sea is a quiet property with beautiful grounds and easy access to the outstanding beach. Staff is friendly and helpful. Beach chairs and umbrellas were put out every morning. Close to all the restaurants and stores. We had a very peaceful and relaxing vacation and we will stay here again if we are lucky enough to come back to Sanibel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from VA

Smaller is better!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The size of this hotel makes it feel very private and quiet. The amenities were all wonderful - nice pool and hot tub, laundry on site, free bikes and beach chairs. The breakfast selection was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, FL

Clean, neat and everyone very nice.

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were awesome--better than a 5-star hotel. Landscaping beautiful. Rooms so very clean. Look forward to visiting again.
Location: The outlet mall across the bridge was a lot of fun.
Wonderful time. The staff were more than helpful--super-nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

just as good as the pictures!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
can't wait to go back! We would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff, clean rooms, few steps from the beach area. "Very nice old charm Florida hotel, in a quiet palm trees fringed garden"..,bikes were free, everything was close (driving), no need to go off the island. very relaxing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton Ohio

Needs Remodeling!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Needs cleaned and updated. Bathroom was very tiny. You couldn't open the door all the way because it hit the shower rod. The wall clock was stopped at 6:46. The floors are black in areas. The freezer shelves were rusted. The stove burners were crooked and up in the air. Unsafe for cooking. Roaches were in the refrigerator when we first arrived. Housekeeping forgot us one day and we had to ask for towels twice. A guy delivered them to us in a garbage bag unfolded. I asked him to take the bathroom garbage and he didn't replace the bag. I had to replace the bag myself. The thermostat sticks and you either freeze or get hot. The cover of the thermostat falls off in the floor when you touch it. I love Sanibel but this is the last time we stay at an inn. The inn could use a shower spray for cleaning your feet at the end of cross walk leading to inn, shell cleaning station would be great and garbage bins near beach access would be helpful. Pictures are included. Look at the base of the toilet. Geesh;(
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Jim, My apologies for the perception and your first impressions of our hotel. I hope that you enjoyed the beach and did some exploring of Sanibel on one of our bicycles during your stay with us. I have taken your review to management and we will be addressing these things. I am having a bit of difficulty locating your exact room. If you have the time and are willing to help us fix these items, please give me a call at the hotel so that I can locate this room and work on how I can make this right for you. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very cute hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Hotel with a beautiful courtyard and pool area with hot tub. Beautiful view of the ocean from our second floor balcony. Comfy and cozy location close to dining and shopping, and a short bicycle ride to the wildlife preserve. Bicycles are free to borrow, and helmets are available at reception. Continental breakfast options were fair, and the courtyard has many comfortable and convenient amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hello Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent trip was with us. I hope that you relaxed and enjoyed the natural unspoiled beauty of Sanibel. I hope we will be able to host you again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston

Great small hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: size, location, staff.....everything
Cons: rooms could use a little updating
Location: great use of bikes, quiet location, nice beach
this was a 25th anniversary trip, our second time here. Just as nice as we remembered. Room could use a little refreshing but overall it was very nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Gail, Thank you for the review. I am glad we were able to provide new memories to go along with the existing ones. We do have some refreshing updates on the horizon. I hope you will come back and stay with us soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha Nebraska

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Quaint, small hotel on the Gulf of Mexico beach. The room was clean equipped with a stove, oven, microwave and refrigerator freezer. Very clean unit and amenities. Very accommodating staff and nice continental breakfast. If looking for a small, quiet hotel this is a great choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Ed, thank you for the nice review. I am very happy that you were able to unwind while you were here. I will let the housekeeping and desk staff know how much you appreciated their service. Come back and see us soon! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Fabulous

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Quiet and relaxing
Cons: Room fridge was a bit noisy
Location: Loads of little shops with some gorgeous and unusual gifts
Spacious rooms, lovely comfy beds and clean. Lovely continental breakfast every morning. The best bit is the location which is right on the beach. Bikes are available if you're feeling energetic and a small laundry if you need to do washing. Nice clean pool with plenty of sunbeds and towels. Was really quiet at night, slept like a log, brilliant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Joanne, thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself here on Sanibel. I hope we will be able to host you again soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old Hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: View of pool and Gulf, short walk to beach, complaint response.
Cons: What is it about these mini-pillows? I'll bring my own next time.
Location: There are shops all up and down Periwinkle Blvd. Drove through the National Refuge, boring and nothing to see. Enjoyed Stars and Stripes cruise.
Older hotel, but in good shape. Had a second floor King room with a beautiful Gulf view. Screened in patio, full-size fridge, stove, microwave. Short walk to the beach. There were umbrellas and chairs available, although some had towels draped on them to save for later. Selfish people are everywhere. Convenient to everything. Ice maker wasn't working, but a repairman almost immediately came to the room and had to replace the maker with a new one. Good response. A little pricey, but you pay for "location".
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Gene, Thank you for the review. I hope that we can host you again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel