Ratings based on 1,065 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Right on the beach!

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Nicely situated in the middle of the island right on the beach with private access. The room was fine, and we enjoyed our little screened in porch. We made good use out of the free bikes on the property but weren't able to try out the kayaks due to weather.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Staff very friendly, great pool clean and comfortable temp. Room had a very strong musty smell. As long as the a.c. was kept c old and the bathroom fan was running and room fresher was sprayed, which the front desk gave me, it was tolerable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time and giving us a review of your recent stay. I am very sorry about the undesirable aromas you encountered. If you would let us know which room you stayed in, we can investigate and repair if needed. We have big plans in the works for this property so stay tuned! I hope you were able to enjoy the rest of the property and relax while you were here. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet room on beach

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Nice view of the sunset.
Cons: Warn people in advance to use protection from the no see ums
Location: Location was good.
The staff were all friendly. I especially enjoyed meeting Gail and James. They made us feel welcome. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. My only complaint is that I think Expedia should know what the exact price on the room should be so that there is not another 50-60 dollars for a two night stay tacked on to your bill for “fees” I would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great stay.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Good beach, kayak, bikes, swimming pool, full kitchen and friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfast was in fridge when we checked in. Wish it was hot breakfast. But a full kitchen in the room helped. We made hot coffee and toasted bagels.
Location: Very good location. At beach. In the middle of the town. 20 minutes bike to Bowman beach, Also not far from Shell Museum.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. When we asked to use Kayak they immediately sent staff to get them ready for us at the beach. Bikes are also free and there are many. The hotel is right at the beach with lots of shells. A great place to enjoy sunset which we did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Good Morning Y, Thanks for the glowing review. Also thanks for those wonderful pictures. I never tire of our sunsets on the Islands. Our recreation items that are part of the Resort Facilities charge are very popular since we added this value to our reservations. Many guests comment on the abundance of these items for such a low price and I am very glad that you enjoyed them as well. Our breakfast basket is provided as a courtesy to have something in the room upon awakening. Since almost every room here has a kitchenette; many guests augment the basket offerings with items from one of our local grocers. Being in the middle of the island offers guests of our hotel the option to visit most all of the island along with the commercial areas. Our 25 miles of bicycle paths are perfect for exploring the island at your own pace. I hope that we will be your choice for a hotel on your next trip to Sanibel. We are making improvements in 2018 so stay tuned! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Nice hotel, secluded, private

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Simple, straight forward, and accommodating
Location: location was perfect, central to all things on the island
Very laid back, comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to an water-view room which really made the stay special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Richard, Thank you so very much for the lovely review and for taking time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. I do love the locations of our hotels. The Sunset Beach hotel is in the more residential area of Sanibel which lends to the tranquility of our space. A nice view of the ocean helps too. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip from the interaction with our employees to the grounds and everything in between. I hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice place

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Nice but had to negotiate stairs even to get to “ground” floor room. They had a long ramp which was not conveniently located. Need more ramps. Not advisable if you have trouble with stairs as two of our party did. Otherwise very clean room and nice pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Larry, Thank you for the review. I am so glad that you stayed with us and found many shells to take home. I hope the inconveniences with the stairs did not greatly detract from your stay with us. We will be making changes and upgrades and I will definitely mention the stairs and ramps. I hope we will get a chance to host you again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A king size bed was requested thru EXPEDIA

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We had requested a room with a King Size bed, but when we got there, the hotel said that it was not in the reservation? Expedia, let us down. Sanibel Island was 95% booked and we were unable to find that type of accommodations. I tried to contact Expedia for help but was unable to connect with a REAL PERSON! I was very disappointed with my reservation!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I am sorry for the mix up on your bedding, but it sounds like the request did not make it to us. We always make every attempt to ensure that we honor requests for bedding and other things. I hope you were able to enjoy yourself while you were here. Our hotel is in the more residential area of Sanibel and lots of guests choose this location for that reason. Come back and visit Sanibel soon! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: It was right on the beach. Complimentary umbrellas and lounge chairs are a definite plus.
Cons: The complimentary breakfast could be improved.
I liked that Sanilbel island was trying hard to preserve it's natural resources.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the review. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosemère

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was perfect with the kids. Big room with kitchenette. Steps from the beach and near everything else on the island. Beach chairs, umbrella, bicycles, breakfast, tennis and great pool. Everything was included in the room price, no extra fees at the end of our stay. We will definitely come back...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Catherine, Thank you for the review. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, PA

Close to beach...great staff very helpful!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Hotel was located right on the beach...rooms were clean with a nice kitchenette.
Location: Great restaurants on the Island, beautiful views, very relaxing!
Arrived late at nigh to a great room but was worried that we didn't have a great view of the beach! What a shock when we awoke in the morning to find we were just yards from the beach and great view from our balcony! We had a very relaxing stay. Staff was wonderful evert morning putting out beach chairs and umbrellas at the beach and pool. Pool was clean and refreshing. Even went out of my comfort zone to try kayaking! Bikes & kayaks were available free of charge to the guests. Started our day walking the beach which was white and clean and loaded with shells. Every morning we had a breakfast basket in our room to start our day and enjoy! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I have the chance to go back to Sanibel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi mmh, Thank you for the review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you even tried something new while you were here. I hope that we will be your choice of a hotel when you return to Sanibel Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel