Ratings based on 1,050 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: It was right on the beach. Complimentary umbrellas and lounge chairs are a definite plus.
Cons: The complimentary breakfast could be improved.
I liked that Sanilbel island was trying hard to preserve it's natural resources.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the review. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosemère

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was perfect with the kids. Big room with kitchenette. Steps from the beach and near everything else on the island. Beach chairs, umbrella, bicycles, breakfast, tennis and great pool. Everything was included in the room price, no extra fees at the end of our stay. We will definitely come back...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Catherine, Thank you for the review. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, PA

Close to beach...great staff very helpful!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Hotel was located right on the beach...rooms were clean with a nice kitchenette.
Location: Great restaurants on the Island, beautiful views, very relaxing!
Arrived late at nigh to a great room but was worried that we didn't have a great view of the beach! What a shock when we awoke in the morning to find we were just yards from the beach and great view from our balcony! We had a very relaxing stay. Staff was wonderful evert morning putting out beach chairs and umbrellas at the beach and pool. Pool was clean and refreshing. Even went out of my comfort zone to try kayaking! Bikes & kayaks were available free of charge to the guests. Started our day walking the beach which was white and clean and loaded with shells. Every morning we had a breakfast basket in our room to start our day and enjoy! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I have the chance to go back to Sanibel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi mmh, Thank you for the review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you even tried something new while you were here. I hope that we will be your choice of a hotel when you return to Sanibel Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Close to the beach! Loved the breakfast basket!

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: I loved the breakfast baskets, kayaks, paddle boards, umbrellas and beach chairs available to all hotel guest. Also loved the large swimming pool.
Cons: I was told that this hotel is going to be demolished and rebuilt but in the mean time the hotel should focus more on cleanliness.
Location: Great location, great restaurants nearby!
I booked this hotel for 3 nights, traveling with my husband my 8 year old daughter and 6 year old niece. Check in was quick and efficient and it's a plus we were allowed to check-in a little bit earlier. However, once i entered my assigned room #105, I could smell a strong odor of mold and humidity. I didn't say anything at first because we had just arrived and I didn't want to ruin my family's excitement. We started unpacking and getting comfortable in our room and I did notice this room was filthy. There was mold on the bathroom light, on the curtains and on the dining table chairs. I getting a little frustrated then i went to turn down the air and noticed the filter of the air were covered in dust, as if they haven't been cleaned for months. It's not like I was looking for all the defects the room had, it's just they were all very noticeable. I started getting a strong headache at night and then it just got worse from there, I didn't sleep all night and my 8 year old daughter also complained about not being able to sleep due to the bad smell. At 5:30 AM on my first night of vacation, I decided to walk to the front desk and inform them of the rooms condition. I am allergic to mold, so of course, the strong smell of mold, the dirty air filter gave me an allergic reaction. On a positive note, we were transferred to another room that was a lot cleaner and didn't smell like mold. This was the only unfortunate event of my stay. Everything else was great. The hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi S, Thank you for the review. I am glad that we were able to get you into a better room and that this was the only hiccup on your stay with us. I have instructed this room to be placed out of order until it can be detailed. I have also brought this to the attention of management so they will be aware of this. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will be able to have you stay with us again soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a few nights.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The location for bike riding was terrific, the rooms were clean. Nothing fancy, but not a grungy beach motel either :)
This was a great little stopover for a couple of nights. They little basket of breakfast foods delivered to your room is handy to have. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The use of free bikes was nice, we took advantage of those. It was not a flashy wow factor room, but it was nice and roomy and the kitchenette area was great to have. A little mini fridge/freezer was great too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review Kind Traveler. I appreciate the overview you gave of your visit. We are not a flashy hotel and we aim to keep it that way. Very happy to hear from you and I hope that we will be your choice for a hotel when you decide to make another stopover with us. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay! Staff was friendly and helpful! Pool was large with lots of chairs and umbrellas! Beach location was perfect! We saw dolphins everyday while at the beach right by our room. Sunset beach inn fit our family needs perfect! We loved the beach chairs, towels, bikes, and enjoyed the paddle board and kayak. Sanibel Island is our favorite place to vacation and Sunset Beach Inn surpassed our expectations!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Hello Kind Traveler, Thank you for the 5 star review. I appreciate your detailed review and for letting other potential guests know how much you enjoyed your visit with us. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope that we continue this trend for years to come. We are looking forward to hosting you again very soon. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you for the 5 star review, Kind Traveler. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. We will be doing some upgrades for the summer of 2018 so stay tuned! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagan, MN

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We had a great time at this hotel. Beach and pool were perfect. Hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas. We loved that the hotel provided bikes. Just signed them out and away we went. We biked each day to lunch. The rooms were perfect. We had connecting rooms. One room had a full size fridge, sink, microwave, and stove. The other room had a mini fridge and microwave. And loved that breakfast was served in the room. Cereal, bagel, milk, orange juice, granola bars, and pastries. It was perfect for us. We will definitely stay here again when returning to Sanibel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Anne, Thank you for the nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and especially the breakfast baskets we provide for you. For those guests that have not stayed with us, we deliver the breakfast baskets the night prior so you can enjoy your first meal at your own leisure so no one has to get dressed and go to a common area to have breakfast. We are always taking guests' suggestions for ways we can improve their experiences. Thank you for your business and I hope we become your preferred hotel on Sanibel. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent Staff and Property!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, great staff, on the beach, park close to your room, big clean pool, barbecue grill, shelling and fishing spots
We stayed for 10 days at the Sunset Beach Inn recently and were very pleased with the excellent staff, room, and location! James at the front desk was very helpful and kind throughout our stay, and the entire crew throughout the property couldn't have been more professional and nice. We had an issue with a sliding door lock on day 1, and they responded right away and fixed it immediately. The property is right on the beach, and the pool is very large with plenty of seating! We have a 6 year old son and 5 year old daughter that are learning how to swim and the shallow end of the pool was 36" to 42" for a good 10 feet in pool length before it drops to 4 feet then deeper, so there is plenty of space for smaller kids to swim and play. We would walk back and forth from swimming in the gulf to the pool all day long. The shelling and fishing from the beach in front of the resort is excellent. We have already recommended Sunset Beach to our friends, and look forward to returning again! Thank you all
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Tony, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. I appreciate your efforts to add details for other potential guests. I always like to hear about the way our staff responds to and assists all of our guests. I am certainly glad that the sliding door was the only issue you encountered and everything else was issue free. I do hope that you and all of your friends become regular guests at our hotel. We will be doing some upgrades in the summer of 2018 so stay tuned! Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean/Nice but yawn

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
very clean, semi-sterile, shoebox style hotel. devoid of flavor/taste, dull. nice pool. miniscule beach with lots of shells. in room breakfast bikes for free. It just doesn't have the flavor of Sanibel. you feel like you're anywhere. No magic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Hello and thank you for your review. I am glad that you took the time out of your day to let us know how your visit was with us. I hope that we may host you again in the future. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel