Ratings based on 1,797 Verified Reviews
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great location, clean rooms nice ocean view, great food and service at restaurant.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Definitely will come back, no frills hotelPosted Jul 20, 2017
Some rooms are equipped differently; carpeted floor vs tile, full fridge and stove vs mini fridge. Ground level rooms don't al have locks on screen doors so if you sleep ground level may not be able to have fresh air at night. Bartenders are awesome at the pool bar. Restaurant chef gets irritated if you order late, food comes out substantially less than par, understandable but this is a vacation resort, (servers push you out the door if you come in after 830). Very close to the beach. This is a no frills hotel, upgrades are A for effort, but not great. See photos, rusted shower handles. Bed linens are clean. Staff is incredible. Don't leave anything behind or it will be gone. Pool temp is amazing, can be on the warmer side. Towels are skimpy, but they are incredible at having tons of fresh clean ones for everyone. Harrison manager on duty is huge help, very kind and wants the best for everyone. Shower temp of water gets hot, lots of parking available, no hot tub. Very quiet hotel and family friendly. In both rooms we stayed, when opening the door, you cannot sit on toilet or your knees get bumped (close quarters in bathroom)
for Familiesby A verified traveler from Georgia
Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Cleaner floors.
Location: See above. Enjoyed the boat tours suggested at the front desk. We went on two and they were both enjoyable for us and our 11 year old son.
Our check in went beautifully and the staff were fun and excited to tell you about their town and what to do and where to go! The Inn was perfect for us-we stayed in a one bedroom unit which was perfect for the three of us. The kitchen was nice because we enjoy cooking while staying away from home. The cleanliness was good overall-we tend to be picky about clean floors and they could have been mopped and cleaned up a little better than they were, but they were not unacceptable. Loved the pool and patio area and that the bar was close and sat up above the pool where you could see the beach as well. We also loved being on the beach because it allowed for the perfect walk at sunset. We rented bikes from the Inn and they were perfect! The ease of the rental was also perfect. We loved it and would stay again.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from NC
Quiet place to stayPosted Jul 10, 2017
This hotel is right on the beach on Sanibel Island. You can walk out your first floor beach front room and get direct access to the beach after going down the path. The room is a little dated, but a very comfortable and quiet place to stay. On the one night, we ate at the pool side bar and there was a great musician playing for a couple of hours. It was a very relaxing. We did have a hiccup with our room being on the second floor when we had requested a first floor due to my mother not being able to do the stairs very well, but the staff was excellent is getting everything straightened out. The staff at the hotel overall were very friendly and accommodating for all of our needs. I would stay here again if in the area.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Overland Park Kansas
Walk easily to the beach. No stairs.Posted Jul 10, 2017
My room was nice. Close to the beach and pool. Pool bar was nice. Restaurant on property and bikes. Computer room was a nice touch. Upgrade your bike rental. Not a 4 star resort but very quiet and relaxing.
for Couplesby A verified traveler from Charlotte County FLA
Would stay at West Wind Inn again.Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location and beach access, pool & pool bar
Location: lots of clothing stores, good restaurants
Loved everything about it, location, beaches, restaurant next door. Next time will be bringing my own beach chairs and will be booking a gulf view.
for Familiesby A verified traveler from Lakeland, FL
Nice Quick getaway with kidsPosted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach, clean, overall a good value.
Cons: Room has some flaws, not major, just annoyances. Lamp switch wasn't easy to reach, and better pillows.
Location: Right on the beach. It's a short walk from the hotel. Shell, fish, sunbath, hang out by pool. It was nice.
Check in went well without a hitch. Room was clean. Great access to the beach, nice pool area. Beach chairs/umbrella setup is $20 for the day (9am-5pm). Overall would stay at this property again.
for Familiesby A verified traveler from houston, tx
Close to beach, relaxed, family orientedPosted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location, layout (hotel and room), nice staff
Cons: Furnitures need to be updated (including the fridge and the microwave) and should be cleaned more in detail
Location: Excellent for beach vacation, restaurant on the premises. close to attractions like wildlife center and tarpon bay (tours). Nature is breathtaking
It is right on the beach, cozy and not a bulky/room packed hotel. Only two-story buildings which is very convenient for those traveling with kids and carrying toys/beach stuff. Since it is right on the beach, it is very easy to go back and forth to the room. One side of the building opens to the parking lot, the other side to the hotel yard with pool and looks over to the ocean. There is a patio for each room. It is not the cleanest place (dust on furniture, found hair in one of the sheets and on the extra comforters in the closet), but it is not bad otherwise. The rooms are a little outdated too which does not help with the look. Still, I would go back to this place especially for the location, location, and very kind staff.
by A verified traveler from alabama
Do not stay herePosted Jul 7, 2017
Room was very old smelled musty ceiling was falling..seen 2 bugs...beds are hard hotel says it was up dated on web site...no it needs to be updated...not near what I expected..I went to office ask for a up graded room..was told they were booked until I said i will pay extra..got another room it was a 2 star room.It did have a updated bathroom..this is a old hotel...very disappointed ( We traveled 10 hours )I booked through expedia over 600 for 3 nights then another 90.00 for what they think was a upgrade...i would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I will share your experience with our staff to improve our services.
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga
Ok hotel. Close tobeachPosted Jul 4, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located to shops, restaurants and the beach. But our room was not very clean & the door made a horrendous noise. We were told maintenance would come but they never did. When we checked in we had an empty box of tissue and someone else's toiletries still in our bathroom. Obviously wasn't cleaned before we got there.