Ratings based on 1,812 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Long Staycation at West Wind Inn

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Cons: The AC noise
Location: Doc Fords Rum, lots of restaurants, shelling on the beach, etc.
Stayed there over a long weekend Thursday 8/3- 8/6. First time in Sannibel. Traveled from Tampa area. First off, a $6 toll to get there! Wow... did not expect that. Island is very nice, quaint and peaceful. No crazy high rise hotels, etc. lots of nature around you. Check in and everything was smooth. you get a nice coupon book for different things at this resort and their other affiliated sites (BOGO on drinks, 15% dinner, etc) Room was overall nice and somewhat updated. We were happy to have a normal size refrigerator, microwave and stove, sink to utilize. It was furnished with plates/cups/silverware as well which was a plus. Bathroom was small and tight but updated nicely. We had a partial gulf view with screened balcony (they are all screened). This was nice to sit on after the kids went to bed. The AC was loud as others mentioned in reviews, but our family likes white noise so that was not a big deal. One of the beds was VERY squeaky though and left my wife and I uncomfortable thinking we were going to wake the kids up with the ever so slightest movement!! If we would of been staying longer, i would have requested a change. Overall would recommend this place. We booked on very short notice and got a fair deal with an Expedia coupon code in addition. Overall, cant complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, FL

Nice laid back stay

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great location on the beach. Nice pool, nice staff, kitchen and screened porch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Overall a great place to stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The beach (see above). We tried a different beach for shells but it wasn't as nice. Also, you never have to leave the hotel if you don't want to.
Cons: Being honest about the rooms and their views. We were told we should have called when we booked to request the view (see above).
Location: Lots of shopping, restaurants. Check out the pamphlets in computer center and front office. We enjoyed the pool and beach more than anything.
I booked 2 rooms here based on reviews and beach proximity so here are pros and cons to help others. Cons: I booked the Gulf/Garden view. 1 room was fine the other room faced a wall but if you looked to the left while on the screened patio you could see something (Rm 108). Also Rm 108, the bed was hard and solid (no 'give' at all). Rm 113 had a strange set up in the bathroom with the doors and toilet that I think someone else reviewed. I submitted the first survey Expedia sent but the front desk staff never contacted us "directly" like the email stated. Some staff were friendly and happy but some were just doing a job. Now the pros: the pool was great, pool bar was great with food and entertainment, the restaurant was excellent (staff, food, etc. they even took us late the first night), hotel grounds were beautiful. The beach was excellent and just a short walk from hotel. You can rent chairs and a table if you don't have any, lots of shells, clean area. Watch the sunrise there. We even saw dolphins! Just remember that almost everything closes at 9:00pm even on the island. Front desk serves coffee in the morning. **For improvement-when we booked Gulf/Garden view I think it's obvious what we wanted. Also, Expedia says to not call??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great location, clean rooms nice ocean view, great food and service at restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely will come back, no frills hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Some rooms are equipped differently; carpeted floor vs tile, full fridge and stove vs mini fridge. Ground level rooms don't al have locks on screen doors so if you sleep ground level may not be able to have fresh air at night. Bartenders are awesome at the pool bar. Restaurant chef gets irritated if you order late, food comes out substantially less than par, understandable but this is a vacation resort, (servers push you out the door if you come in after 830). Very close to the beach. This is a no frills hotel, upgrades are A for effort, but not great. See photos, rusted shower handles. Bed linens are clean. Staff is incredible. Don't leave anything behind or it will be gone. Pool temp is amazing, can be on the warmer side. Towels are skimpy, but they are incredible at having tons of fresh clean ones for everyone. Harrison manager on duty is huge help, very kind and wants the best for everyone. Shower temp of water gets hot, lots of parking available, no hot tub. Very quiet hotel and family friendly. In both rooms we stayed, when opening the door, you cannot sit on toilet or your knees get bumped (close quarters in bathroom)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Cleaner floors.
Location: See above. Enjoyed the boat tours suggested at the front desk. We went on two and they were both enjoyable for us and our 11 year old son.
Our check in went beautifully and the staff were fun and excited to tell you about their town and what to do and where to go! The Inn was perfect for us-we stayed in a one bedroom unit which was perfect for the three of us. The kitchen was nice because we enjoy cooking while staying away from home. The cleanliness was good overall-we tend to be picky about clean floors and they could have been mopped and cleaned up a little better than they were, but they were not unacceptable. Loved the pool and patio area and that the bar was close and sat up above the pool where you could see the beach as well. We also loved being on the beach because it allowed for the perfect walk at sunset. We rented bikes from the Inn and they were perfect! The ease of the rental was also perfect. We loved it and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Quiet place to stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This hotel is right on the beach on Sanibel Island. You can walk out your first floor beach front room and get direct access to the beach after going down the path. The room is a little dated, but a very comfortable and quiet place to stay. On the one night, we ate at the pool side bar and there was a great musician playing for a couple of hours. It was a very relaxing. We did have a hiccup with our room being on the second floor when we had requested a first floor due to my mother not being able to do the stairs very well, but the staff was excellent is getting everything straightened out. The staff at the hotel overall were very friendly and accommodating for all of our needs. I would stay here again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Overland Park Kansas

Walk easily to the beach. No stairs.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
My room was nice. Close to the beach and pool. Pool bar was nice. Restaurant on property and bikes. Computer room was a nice touch. Upgrade your bike rental. Not a 4 star resort but very quiet and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte County FLA

Would stay at West Wind Inn again.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location and beach access, pool & pool bar
Cons: beds!!
Location: lots of clothing stores, good restaurants
Loved everything about it, location, beaches, restaurant next door. Next time will be bringing my own beach chairs and will be booking a gulf view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, FL

Nice Quick getaway with kids

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach, clean, overall a good value.
Cons: Room has some flaws, not major, just annoyances. Lamp switch wasn't easy to reach, and better pillows.
Location: Right on the beach. It's a short walk from the hotel. Shell, fish, sunbath, hang out by pool. It was nice.
Check in went well without a hitch. Room was clean. Great access to the beach, nice pool area. Beach chairs/umbrella setup is $20 for the day (9am-5pm). Overall would stay at this property again.