Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

On the beach and nice amenities

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: On the beach, 2 bedrooms, spacious, nice pool area, very helpful maintenance man.
Cons: Deep cleaning needs to be done in the units. Update/fix the plumbing.
Location: Great location, right on the beach,very close to Periwinkle which is the main road where a lot of the businesses and restaurants are.
Overall, we have a positive review. Directly on the beach, nice pool, pool accessories and bathrooms at the pool, nice updates in condo such as appliances, bathrooms and kitchens, in general the condo was clean. But as with all condo rentals, when you look more closely you can see that it needs a thorough cleaning (wash walls, clean/dust baseboards, wash curtains, clean grout lines). During our stay on a Sunday, a problem developed with the plumbing. Out of nowhere, the water in the toilet sucked down and the toilet was almost empty. Tried to flush toilet and then toilet wouldn't flush. Checked the other toilet and it did the same thing. The next morning sewage backed up in the bathtubs. Maintenance man lives on site and is extremely helpful, easy to reach and kind. He allowed us to immediately relocate to a new unit. It was a bit of an inconvenience. The front desk staff never reached out to us at any time to apologize, to see how we were doing in the new unit or speak to us. Driving to the airport we discussed how it would have been nice if the front desk/condo management would have made some type of a gesture for our inconvenience-perhaps a gift card for a dinner out somewhere in Sanibel? A small credit back? Something.
5 out of 5
by Donna

Family time

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great location on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Donna, Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to tell us about it. Our beach is one of the great amenities at Pelicans Roost. We hope you will visit again if your travel brings you back to Sanibel. Ron C General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester Point Va

Trip to the Gulf

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Decided to try Gulf Coast Beach instead of Myrtle Beach. This property is located on the beach. All rooms are gulf facing with a nice large screened in balcony. They provide Beach chairs free of charge. Nice sunrise viewing on this side of the island. Pool and tennis courts on property. It is an older facility but has everything you need. Very quiet area and beach is not crowded. Found live starfish and sand dollars. Saw dolphins several times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Ron C. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Roddy, We appreciate you choosing us for your recant stay on Sanibel. We are glad you enjoyed the quiet area. One of Sanibel's charms is the dolphins are often playful just off the beach. Thank you for taking the time to review our facility and we look forward to having you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from md

Right on the beach

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Cleanliness. Cleanliness cleanliness. This would be an easy 4+ with a bit attention to detail
Location: Awesome location
Good layout. Right on the beach. A bit worn but every thing worked fine. The only knock was cleanliness. Showers and floor grouts needed that extra attention and carpets while they looked fairly new where in dire need of deep cleaning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast US

Will definitely be back!

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: It was quiet, comfortable and well-equipped.
Cons: A few of the beach umbrellas could use updating.
Location: On the beach, nearby shopping and dining.
We stayed in Unit 101 and enjoyed every moment. Clean, well-equipped, private, comfortable all describe our stay. There is a pool as well as access to the beach. Chairs and umbrellas are available for beach use. Staff was exceptionally pleasant and accommodating. We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael C.

Relaxing stay at the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Orbitz
Loved our stay at Pelican's Roost. Plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas to use. Condo was clean and well appointed. Will definitely come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsburg, IN

Close to the beach, great location

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor was a bit outdated.
Location: Bike riding, kayaking, fishing off shore, shopping, great restaurants, beach, swimming, tennis, shuffle board, grilling.
Condo has everything from beach towels to full washer/dryer. Great stay, loved the location and the bike riding trails available. Quiet! Loved the beach and would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hillary from Peterborough, NH, USA

Great quiet, private condo room - ocean view!

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: No maid service
Location: Exceptional near causeway but on Ocean residential area
More than what we had hoped! Just went down for a long Memorial Day weekend. We were ready to stay anywhere in Sanibel and had no expectations. I have a problem with my foot so was over joyed with ease of access to beach - and a great private spot at that. Furnishings weren't fancy or particularly modern but everything you could want was there and clean! I enjoyed having a walk in closet in master off the bathroom - I hate to see luggage in room so it was wonderful! Bedroom, living room and lanai looked to ocean - AWESOME!~!! Only 20 units - all face ocean. Quiet. One thing to note - no maid service for visitor just cleaning between guests.
5 out of 5
by Tim from Linden IN.

A MILLION DOLLAR VIEW

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Pros: The tremendous view from the room.
Cons: The dryer was just a little slow to dry towels.
Location: As close to perfection as you can get.
The ratings I gave this hotel were actually thought about. My wife and I like to travel a great deal. This vacation was for 2 weeks and was the most relaxing and mind renewing vacation we have ever taken. The room was perfect. When we walked in the air in the room hit us in the face . It was clean. There were no smells of any kind. It was just fresh and there were no air freshner smells. Just clean. Our room had a 60 inch flat screen in the living room and flat screens in both bedrooms. They were very seldom watched. the view from the bedroom window was much better. watching the dolphins swim by, the pelicans and the crows stealing food from the people on the beach. The water was beautiful and the sounds of the waves splashing on the beach when you were eating lunch on your screened in balcony were just fantastic. As we talked with the other vacationers it seemed they had all been going there for 20 years they were very loyal. I see why. It was just perfect. You could not ask for more . we will be back next year.