Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA, Nebraska

Beautiful Rhine Valley Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Great location next to Rheinfels Castle
Gorgeous views of the Rhine River from this hotel. Excellent for a romantic vacation. Room was clean and exterior of property was beautiful. Hotel had some odd quirks, but is historic.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia from Raleigh

A quiet location above town beside fortress ruins.

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
We spent one night here on our way down the Rhine. The hotel was quiet, located above the town itself. The restaurant was very pleasant with great views and good food.
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Michigan

stay at the castle

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
wonderful castle stay experience. Attentive and friendly professional staff. Wonderful cuisine with great breakfast choices.Comfortable room with great view of the Rhine river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Enjoyed the pool. Great views. The breakfast was the best!
2 out of 5
by Pin Ting from Singapore

Lacking service for price paid

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Burg express (shuttle service)to castle was not available on the day we went. Cab up to castle from gas station was €5. Cab from castle to sankt goar train station was €5.30 by metre. Neighbourhood is a quiet town in winter. No portal service in castle. Need to go down and up and down by stairs to exit train station. No lift and no portal service in castle. Castle staff did not know anything about Rhine river cruise for tourist. Did not give Wi-Fi password during check in and can't give through phone. Need to carry luggages 2 floors down to room. No coffee/tea making facilities in room. We did not bother asking for kettle too. Staff not proactive to show us table at restaurant for dinner after we asked for English menu. She just walked away without saying anything. We helped ourselves to a table but was asked to move to another table subsequently without apology. Staff was more interested to reset table which we barely touched than to pass us the English menu at the new table. Food was nice but expensive. Breakfast staff was more friendly and at least smiled when we asked for eggs to be cooked at the egg station.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Los Angeles

Pleasant surprise

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at this hotel. Loved the location, the view, the pool/sauna, the restaurant, the complimentary breakfast, the service, and the proximity to the castle.
4 out of 5
by Catherine from Evergreen

Unique

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is set up high with beautiful views of the Rhine. It is an older structure but quite unique. There is a lovely bar/patio with viewing of the Rhine River, the breakfast is outstanding, the other amenities are quite nice as well. The standard double room is not that large and the rooms face either west.... very hot with the afternoon sun and no air conditioning, or east.... and there is a vent that is on the roof blowing out hot air. So perhaps spend a bit more and go for a deluxe room if you stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: View by the river,great breakfast,castle next to hotel
Cons: No need to improve on anything
Location: Tour castle, boat ride on river, beautiful area
Had a room on top floor overlooking the Rhine river. Clean we'll kept hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The location was fantastic and we had a room which overlooked the river and there was always plenty going on and a great shop to buy presents for Gran
Cons: Coffee and tea making facilities in the room would have been good.
A really lovely three night stay. Faultless and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Diane from San Francisco, California

Fourth time staying here... LOVE this place!!

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful, ancient, stone castle with tasteful, modern amenities. Great location above the KD dock where we boarded a ferry for a three hour cruise up / down (??) the Rhine. Delicious breakfast with a wide variety of selections and a good view of the boats on the river. Relaxing pool and sauna area. There is a nice outdoor patio serving drinks that I have yet to experience... Next time!