Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Terrific hotel off the beaten track

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, and right near the river.
Cons: St. Goar & St. Goarshausen are used to tourists, but it really does help if you speak a little bit of German!
Location: Shops, restaurants, and hiking trails are all easily accessible. There are also a number of cruises leaving from the docks every day.
Beautiful location, a bit of a hike from St. Goar proper but worth the walk for a quiet, clean room looking out on the river. I was a little concerned initially that being right off the road and near the train tracks would make sleeping tricky...totally not a problem, I couldn't hear traffic from either. However, when Google says it's a 40 minute walk from the train station, it's a 40 minute walk from the train station, so I would recommend taking a cab (the hotel can provide a number) if you have luggage or it's late at night. There's also a bus, and if you happen to be coming for Rhine in Flames there's a shuttle as well. Breakfast is substantial and included, and both St. Goar and St. Goarshausen (across the river via ferry) are full of lovely shops and restaurants. There's also access to a number of hiking trails, including some that take you over to Loreley. A great experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Deluxe room did not live up its name. The floor had very old shag pile carpet and the decor was more like a tired B&B rather than a hotel. The promised river view was interrupted by a large flat roof. The downstairs restaurant in the river terrace was nice but the breakfast was frugal compared to other hotels in the region
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Nice hotel on the Rhine.

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: It had the true German decor. The walls and ceilings were painted with murals, it also had it own vineyard with the wines for sale in the hotel.
Cons: Nothing. We were very pleased with everything the hotel had to offer. Check in and out was so easy. No surprises.
Location: It's a good base location to travel by train, bike or ferry. Koblenz is a train ride and a beautiful city. Rumsfeld castle is nearby.
The hotel is a mile from town. We are walkers, however you can take a taxi if you arrive by ferry. It is situated on the Rhine river near the town of St. Gore, Germany. The rooms are adequate. the bedding is great and the room and bath were very clean. The gem here is a lovely staff, beautiful patio seating overlooking the Rhine, a formal restaurant for dinner and a sunny dining room for breakfast. The dinners were excellent, the breakfast offered a wide assortment of cereals, mets, cheeses etc. There is free shuttle service from and to the train. We came by ferry, made the town our base and traveled by train and ferry up and down the Rhine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely view of the river Rhine

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Location and views
Location: Sant goar
Stayed for one night while passing through , staff very good and friendly. Ate in the restaurant very nice and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Excellent hotel on the river

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Great location. Good food. Helpful staff.
Location: We did a river cruise to Koblenz and got the train back.
The hotel is situated on the Rhine river. It has wonderful views of the river and a restaurant and garden that overlook the river. We had a great evening meal with fine wine. The hotel air conditioning worked even though it was a very hot day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Not the romantic hotel we hoped for

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Free parking, location on the Rhine.
Cons: Be clear that the rooms are not as pretty and romantic as the building's facade would lead you to believe. They are basic, utilitarian rooms.
Location: St. Goar is a lovely town and the Reinsfeld ruins are great. Watching boat traffic on the river is lovely, as is cruising the river.
It's a few rooms located under a lovely restaurant. While the restaurant and the outside look lead you to believe the rooms would have character, they were very utilitarian. The rooms were clean, but basic and without character. The wifi was spotty at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel on the banks of the River

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: We liked the location ,as it's on the banks of the river away from the main town. Everything as been well thought out for tourist.
Cons: May be more staff on at peak times,they seemed to be rushed of there feet ,which dosnt give them much time for interaction with guest .
Location: It's a fantastic location for watching the trains plains and automobiles ,and the ships on the river.
It was the quickest check in I've ever had ,it looked liked there was a coach party having a meal ,so the staff looked Quite busy,I rang the bell give my name and was handed the key,so we just took ourselves off to find our room ,the room was lovley and clean and very well thought out . We had our evening meals at this hotel,meals are served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the River ,on the Sunday evening we had a choice of where to sit ,on the second evening there where names on the tables ,we had been placed looking at the only wall in the room ,we did ask to be moved and thankfully it wasn't a problem .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ralph from Peoria, IL

Great hotel right along Rhine!

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Very cozy - with great terrace and views of Rhine!
Cons: Installing an elevator.
Location: We took drives up and down along the Rhine and enjoyed the scenery very much. It was a great stop on way from Cologne to Strasbourg.
We loved the hotel's charm and its location. Great views and very good evening meal and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Beautiful, romantic hotel on the Rhine River

Posted Sep 30, 2011
Beatiful hotel - romantic rooms and restaurant. Room views (right on the Rhine River). Eat inside or outside right on the Rhine River. Easy to find. Very service oriented and friendly staff. Free internet and free breakfast. Beds are a little hard, but OK. Definitely would stay again - doesn't get any better on the Rhine River - lots to do in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastisk udsigt og fremragende køkken og service

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Fantastisk udsigt i restauranten og fra værelserne. Godt køkken og supervenligt personale. Vinsmagning muligt.