Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Oliver from Aarau

Good and comftable

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
A good and old fashioned Hotel with charm, decent Restaurant inside.
3 out of 5
by Brandon from Revere, MA

OK for a one night stay; better for longer

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in quite a nice location for people taking a holiday with bicycling and/or walking in the low mountains as part of the itinerary. The place wasn't quite as good for a one night stop in transit as it's a bit out of the way, though the ride through the hills on the way out of town was pleasant. The rooms are comfortable and clean, though the building is a bit old and a little on the run down side. The staff are friendly, though they almost seemed unaware that I was coming. The food in the restaurant was quite good. The main reason for my low rating is that the Internet wasn't working, which was a critical problem for someone from the US who without any e-mail access. This is really something I should have been notified about ahead of time so I could make different arrangements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham uk

Beautiful room in which to relax and unwind

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Our room had a sea theme and a balcony which was a surprise and most welcome. The staff were friendly and made a huge effort. The breakfast was lovely especially the fresh fruit salad and freshly boiled egg. We had one evening meal - the stuffed cabbage leaves with minced beef ( or pork not sure) was amazing and reasonably priced. There was a mini bar in room which was different and the chance to buy home made jams etc. the hotel had lots of beautiful furniture and interesting family photos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
A lovely little hotel with very friendly staff. Room was nice even if the bathroom was very small and not made for really tall people.
3 out of 5
by Melanie from Stuttgart

Schwarzwald layover

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
It's a nice Gasthaus in Schwarzwald with very rustic rooms and interior, unfortunately our beds were a quite uncomfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were a little underwhelmed by the breakfast, not so much the choice but the quality, but that may also be a question of taste. A good place to stay when you pass through, not for a longer trip though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2015
My husband and I chose this wonderful hotel to stay in when we visited the Black Forest this past weekend. We had a wonderful time! Couldn't ask for better staff. We were so surprised of the cleanliness and how beautiful our room was. We didn't have to drive far for the activities we wanted to do and places we wanted to see. Would love to stay here again if we ever make it back to the Black Forest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Beautiful and cosy hotel in Sank Peter .

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Cosy and comfortable room.
We stayed here for three days and the experience was wonderful. We had our dinner here for both of the nights and food here was excellent. Mrs Rombach was very friendly towards all her guests. Great hospitality! Their pet dog, Vera, was so cute and adorable...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrissie from K

Lovely friendly hotel with homemade local food

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Charming hotel, excellent continental breakfast. Evening meal freshly cooked with local ingredients. Owners were friendly and had lots of local knowledge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by k from London

Nice hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Very clean, nice ambience in the restaurant, well located
Cons: Staff spoke some English but it was enough to get by for basics of checking in and out
Location: The Abbey, Kandel and it's many walks. Also Triberg area is worth a visit with it's waterfall, giant cuckoo clocks and Cafe Schafer
Stayed here for a couple of nights for a wedding in the town. Staff were friendly and the room was very clean, comfortable and decor was nice. We were here during low season so it was fairly quiet and there was plenty of parking available.The bread rolls at breakfast were perfect - this is coming from someone who is not a big bread fan! As the town is very small, as with other hotels near the abbey you may experience being woken up regularly from the ringing of the bells.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leslie from Vancouver, BC

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Friendly proprietor/staff and excellent food
Cons: Not really, was concerned with pillows (too soft and small) but resolved with just asking for extra pillows
Location: must see the cathedral/church as very impressive for such a small village.
Booked through expedia for last minute stay and was pleasantly surprised by accommodation and meals. Was warmly greeted by owner proprietor on our late arrival to this lovely guest house in Sankt Peter. Rooms clean and well appointed. Enjoyed an excellent meal in the guest house restaurant on arrival night, expertly prepared and presented by obviously talented husband and wife team. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and included many different home made preserves. Would certainly have no reservations recommending this guest house.