Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pretentious food where the owner is living in the past - cooking just not up to current standards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Delicious food

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Quiet hotel in beautiful countryside. Tasting menu was delicious with attention to detail in all the courses
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: everything was very lovely inside and the grounds were amazing breakfast was fabulous and the staff were fantastic
Cons: light leading to the place would be great as we got lost in the dark
went to Sanquhar for a festival and found this quaint wee country house to stay for the evening
3 out of 5
by Simon from Blackburn

Excellent food, shame about the accomodation

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Despite the description saying there was a bath shower combination we had a room with a tiny shower room. The main room was also very small with a terrible bed, the mattress was too soft and any slight move and the whole mattress wobbled. The restaurant however was excellent. Superb fine dining experience with fantastic flavours.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Formby

Blackaddie House Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Having stayed there previously was very pleased to see that standards have been maintained if not improved upon. The room, although slightly smaller than one stayed in previously was warm and comfortable. The food was fantastic, superbly presented and delicious. The owners and staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning in the future
5 out of 5
by Danny from York

Not too best but only TV problem

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
Tv is not working so cold bathroom so but all rest is hight quilty so chill out great feel for me because peace offer there
3 out of 5
by alan from Luton

very nice house hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
I was the only guest on this visit and Jane and Ian made me feel part of the family , they also catered my early breakfast needs , will stay there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kinross

Lovely country hotel, peaceful & well located

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Beautiful hotel, friendly & welcoming. Breakfast was 5 star!
2 out of 5
by Mrs Mclatchie

Quite pretentious

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel room had a lovely view of the River Nith,however, the approach to the hotel takes you past an Industrial Estate. The room was small and the bathroom required an update, shower only which was very inefficient and bathroom was poorly equipped. The food was poor in the 'fine dining' restaurant, we were surprised that table d'hôte and was served in a separate dining room such that the segregation resulted in poor ambiance. Service was good at dinner and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by NJL

Fabulous food

Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel rooms are in the process of refurbishment in order to raise the standard from the current "comfortable and clean" to one on a par with "country house hotel". The principal reason for visiting, however, has to be the fantastic food produced by chef/owner Ian McAndrew - an extremely talented chef who prepares delicious dishes of amazing tastes and textures. The hotel is in lovely countryside, on the banks of the River Nith, and well worth a visit.