Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Grande Hermitage Hotel Sant Agata, Nr. Sorrento

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: It has a lovely atmosphere and the views are spectacular. A good selection at breakfast and you could eat indoors or on the terrace. Pool food good
Cons: Although good enough and clean, the pool surround is beginning to look a bit tired. Road noisy in the day, but quieter at night with windows closed
Location: A short walk up their private path to Sant Agata village with a small selection of restaurants, bars & shops. Frequent free shuttle bus into Sorrento.
Just returned from a week at the Hermitage Hotel. Lovely traditional style hotel. Excellent service - the very friendly, efficient staff could not do enough for you. We were lucky enough to be in Sant Agata for a free absolutely amazing classical concert in the town square on the Monday night 4 September with fabulous orchestra and singers. Easy to get to Pompeii on the train from Sorrento. Did a coach trip from the hotel to Amalfi & Ravello. Sorrento town was nice to walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halesowen

Fabulous hotel with stunning views

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Stayed here 3 times now and I can't fault it in any way. The hotel is lovely with the most spectacular views of mount vesuvius. I can not say enough nice things about the hotel manager and staff, wonderful people where nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely return again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Superb hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Views were stunning plenty of local amenities and the provided shuttle to Sorrento made access to Sorrento simple.
The whole experience was wonderful, the staff were all friendly and extremely helpful and the hotel itself was of an extremely good standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Renato, Hotel Management
Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Great little hotel set in the hills overlooking Sorrento and Vesuvius. This hotel is family run and more traditional in style which I prefer to the Hiltons and Marriotts. We paid for a room upgrade before we arrived to benefit from the views and also a larger balcony, it was well worth it. The room was very clean and cosy, and very spacious. A fridge, Sky TV and air conditioning was provided in the price. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice but not essential. My partner would also have liked a comfortable chair to sit in, but again not essential due to the nice bar and lounge area downstairs. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle bus taking you down to Sorrento at set times and there is a local village about 5 mins walk away via a private path of you would prefer to eat more locally. If you're a runner, the hills are brutal! There's a run through the village and up to the forest which is shady and more bearable in the heat but my knees are now suffering after the downhill run back to the hotel!! My knees have always been fine! The pool and sun bed area is very nice with great sun loungers that have a face shade as well. Very handy in the heatwave! People tend to save the beds though so be prepared to get up and put towels down if you want specific beds. Pool towels are provided for free which is an excellent benefit especially for those travelling with only hand luggage. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. Totally recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

The most stunning view

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Excellent value for money. Superb food and service. Helpful and friendly staff. Lovely pool area with incredible views. So relaxing and peaceful but also very convenient for Sorrento. Perfect sized village a few minutes walk away with some great places to eat and drink. Really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back. Beautiful place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from italy

OLD HOTEL,beds were so bad I had to use pillows

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Horrible hotel Ant infestation in my room Restaurant on location- prices high - food not up to par for quality Ordered fish - over cooked with no seasoning. Very strange for a chef to do. Who is working in the kitchen? Ant infestation never taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Jude, why did you post 2 reviews??? I have replied to your first review
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

OLD HOTEL,beds were worse we ever had in our lives

Posted Jul 21, 2017
People and staff are nice. Restaurant on location also. $25 a dinner at night. I ordered the Sea Bass. It was FULL of bones and over cooked. Wow! The beds were SO TERRIBLE that I had to put pillows in the middle of my bed and sleep on top of the pillows. The housekeeping staff speaks no English and the hotel provides NO "Do not disturb" signs. So when I wanted to lay down after breakfast. The knocks at the door started. There is no peek hole, so I never just open the door, I ask "who is it?" There is silence. This continued on and off for about a half hour until I went to the bathroom and while seated someone used their key and walked right into my room. I can tell you also that they claim to provide "shuttle service". Don't fall for that. They have a van, that the man drives and sings through the hairpin tuned roads on the mountain on THEIR SCHEDULE- not yours. We took the boat to get there - oh so sorry, we don't pick up from the dock. What???? You didn't mention that when we made the reservations.....!!! Then the other people who took the train..... "oh so sorry we don't pick up or drop off from the train station." " Ju haf to walk" I drop you off from the drop off point - ok? Ok.... I pick you up when your tour of Pompeii is over ok? Right here at where I drop you off - ok.?? - ok We both agreed on 7:30p We arrive at 7:34p and wait until 7:40 to call. They say they will send someone now What? What happened to meeting us? SAVE YOUR MONEY!Go some where else!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Renato, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, I'm really sorry to red your review, first of all nothing of you wrote is been reported in the hotel oince you were here ...here are the answer: 1-We have topper to put on top of the bed to make it softer so if you were asking we could do it immediadly 2-Shuttle bus service is to and back Sorrento to a specific pick up point as all the other hotel provide ,we are not a taxi service ...Also our singing driver is loved for everyone.... 3- I will check with restaurant manager about the fish....Sorry for that but usually if you inform him , he take really good care of guests. 4-My suggets save your money came to us :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clare, Suffolk, UK

A breath of fresh air in lovely mountain location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: We thought especially that the quality service was quite exceptional. As a family run hotel you can see it matters to them that they 'get it right'.
Cons: We have been assured that when we return that tea and coffee will be available a few more points accessible and possibly TV screen will be larger.
Location: The FREE taxi service provided is outstanding. Vesuvius, Capri and simply Sorrento are easily accessible. Try the Harbour for fish in Sorrento!
What you see is exactly what you get! We chose this as it was a family run hotel, for its mountain location and its previous reviews with regard to its staff and facilities. It is all true. What a refreshing experience to find a hotel with a real regard for the quality it provides for its guests. We stayed in the Romita, a period building 100m from the main hotel, with an interesting history in itself. Our room with balcony overlooked the bay of Sorrento and Vesuvius, a stunning vision to wake to each morning. Some small updating has been scheduled but all non essential except for the tea and coffee making facilities which was brought to us on request within the first day! We took Bed and Breakfast as we wanted to experience local cooking which was eminently simple in the lovely town of St Agata just 7 minutes walk from the hotel. However the meals we did take in the hotel were quite exceptional especially the breakfast which catered for all tastes and nationalities. The restaurant and decoration of the hotel are of very high quality in traditional style. It has a very nice pool which is not heated and pretty refreshing and excellent sun loungers with shade canopies which are a really good idea if like us you read a lot! There is occasional entertainment and if you experience the classical guitarists you are in for a real treat, there repertoire seems endless. They even take requests. Have fun, we know you will.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Renato, Hotel Management
Thank You and hope to welcome again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland,uk

Very good Hotel up above sorrento bay

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Grand Hermitage Hotel is a little way outside of the town of sorrrento but just a short walk from st Agata ,which has restaurants and bars also the hotel provides a free shuttle bus into sorrrento which was big plus .first time there and would definitely return loads of beautiful place's to visit ,and some great historical sites to see
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with excellent views of Sorrento bay

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Free shuttle bus service to and from Sorrento was great. 5 min walk from nearest town with great restaurants. The excellent views made it worth being a 15min drive from Sorrento. All staff are welcoming, friendly and willing to give advice on what to do/see/go to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Renato, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review ...Hope to welcome again