Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

No Room at the Inn, Happy Ending

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The young lady at reception who told us we couldn't stay was most charming and professional - she delivered bad news very nicely.
When we arrived they told us there were no rooms available even though we had confirmed reservations! Rooms had been organized for us at the nearby Hotel Alimuri which was very good, beach-front location although further from Sorrento, and full board at the same price as the Grand Hotel. Somebody messed up but I believe we got a good deal in compensation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 5 Star Hotel - But a good 3

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the view from the pool, the shuttle service to Sorrento, the price, the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The rooms could be updated, including better mattresses and pillows, and real comforters
Location: The location is slightly elevated above Sorrento, so you are surrounded by mountains on one side and can see the water on the other.
The hotel itself is beautiful, in a stunning location. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. We were very disappointed, however, when we arrived to our room. We felt like we were put in the crappiest room in the hotel. It smelled old and musty, there was no window and barely big enough for the bed. The bed was the worst part of our stay. It's 2 twin puts put together, but nothing holding them together. The mattresses were hard as rock and the pillows felt 20 years old with no cushion. When we tried to see if there were other rooms available (seeing as how this was our anniversary) we were told the hotel was completely booked. But then we heard from other guests that is apparently what they say. So I'm not sure what's going on there. I guess my recommendation would be, that if you're going to stay at this hotel, make sure you have a large room with a window/view.
1 out of 5
by Jorunn

Not a 5 star hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Where to begin... Total disappointment. Room: Hard pillows (asked for soft, they didn´t have...) Shower/bath area a disaster, so discusting I couldn't´t bring myself to have a bath. Shower head sorely needed changing. etc etc. Amenities equivalent to what you get at 3-4 star hotels. Set up for all-inclusive, so having a small meal a-la-carte was difficult. No English channels on TV, only Italian. This is acceptable at a 3 star hotel, but not at a "5-star". I could write more.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Leaving the hotel was the best part just to visit beautiful Sorrento and the surrounding places like Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, Isle of Capri, Herculanium every place was beautiful or had wonderful history. The desserts in the evening were really nice you have four to choose from but they are the same every day so if like me your stay is longer than a week then they can be repetitive. The reception staff are friendly girls
Cons: We booked a garden View with a balcony as that's what was offered plus half board ( being a 5 * hotel myself and my partner thought this would be OK . Firstly our garden View was a walkway with a wall with the neighbours weeds and shrubbery as tall as the view and a derelict building to the left of our view, secondly you could not even put a chair on the balcony to sit outside even if we wanted to, that advertising is misleading. Not all the electric sockets worked in our room we did complain but nothing was done although they did fit a new light bulb in the bathroom after we asked. The shower was low pressure and tepid most nights. The housekeeping failed to clean our room one day we had to ask they claimed we did not have the sign turned on the correct side this was a false fact because when we came back to our room it was still on please clean the room. The pillows are rock solid I had to ask if they had a softer one due to getting neck pain, they did replace the pillow with a slightly newer one. The toilet in our room was constantly running water all the time it was disruptive during the night even with the bathroom door shut.
Location: There is not much to do nearby, you can use there shuttle bus and it takes you into Sorrento town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great friendly, professional staff.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: We enjoyed a walk from the hotel to sorrento town centre. A boat trip along the Amalfi coast. 4x4 versuvious trip. Capri, and Anacapri.
Overall a really pleasant stay. It could've been made better by providing tea, coffee making facilities in the room. The evening meal was of a really high standard. Enjoy your stay....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic! Management and staff were amazing! Only thing to avoid is the excursion to Isle of Capri! Do not book one through hotel- was terrible! Book another company! Please understand the hotel book through an external agent! Everything else was perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Good Hotel in the Sorrento - Amalfi Area

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very lovely stay at La Pace. The staff was available, efficient, courteous, and accommodating. As my husband and I were taking my parents on this trip to the Amalfi Coast, the hotel and rooms were extremely comfortable for their needs and likes and they were very happy. (We probably would have chosen more of a boutique hotel that was more modern.) That said, both of our rooms were bumped up to suites which was very sweet indeed. Breakfast was plentiful but could have had some healthier alternatives and some variation from day to day. The woman making omelettes practically seemed like she was a zombie. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and answered every question or met every request quickly, effectively and with a smile. The hotel could really garner another star if they put a little more effort into it. There was a bit of a dowdy feel if you looked around a bit. The carpets throughout really should be replaced, the spa area was positively depressing (not that we were there for a spa experience), the deck around the pool was desperately in need of repair or refurbishment. Like I said, this was a good hotel and a very good value for the money. But, with just a bit of thought and effort this could have been a truly luxurious experience and it wouldn't have taken a lot to make that happen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean hotel, lobby is beautiful, standard rooms,

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
little out of the main hubb, difficult to find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Good hotel with free shuttle to downtown Sorrento.
4 out of 5
by Alex from London

Grand Hotel La Pace

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, fabulous pool, hotel generally feels like it needs some money spent on it, public areas are a little dated, suite we had was excellent, massive room.