Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

DISAPPOINTED!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Disappointed with our stay here last month Not 5 star standard, more like 3 star No shower gels or hair conditioner supplied The bath towels need replacing No tea or coffee facilities Staff with poor English speaking skills If you get a room 220-225 (unlucky) We would not recommend this hotel to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk - UK

Happy times in the sun

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff! Genuine all inclusive deal which cover all the food and drink we needed.
Cons: Attention to decoration in bedroom (small things - but need fixing). More local information outside of the main published trips.
Location: Loads to do - but all pre-booked trips are expensive. Coastline south of Sorrento - much less busy and very pleasant.
Very grand interiors. Nice bars - excellent staff and good food in the restaurant. We had probably the worst rooms in the hotel 201 and 202. But even these were spacious and comfortable - though no view at all (we looked directly at a wall!) None the less we were really close to the pool area which was convenient. We thought the restaurant was lovely with good and varied, tasty food. Wine is provided as part of the all-in package: in our view the White was a bit grim; the Red was OK and the Prosecco actually quite good. The shuttle bus is really helpful to get in and out of town - as taxis really expensive. Public transport, is very cheap. The hotel gym is nice but would benefit from heavier free-weights or some weight based machines to complement the cardio equipment. All the staff were helpful - but bar staff in particular were good and made lots of entertaining cocktails (all part of the inclusive deal - great!!) Overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
We knew the room would not have a sea view, however pidgeon poo was not the view we extpected - on the window cill and on all the surfaces of the timbers supporting the not started demolition project next door. When asked if we could swop rooms we were advised "we are full, please ask tomorrow morning", and then advised "we are full, please ask this evening". We overheard this same stuck record message given to 6 other couples, so well rehersed! Suggest you check which rooms are being offered for sale before committing - not good PS final photo is the damp above the door....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

No Room at the Inn, Happy Ending

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The young lady at reception who told us we couldn't stay was most charming and professional - she delivered bad news very nicely.
When we arrived they told us there were no rooms available even though we had confirmed reservations! Rooms had been organized for us at the nearby Hotel Alimuri which was very good, beach-front location although further from Sorrento, and full board at the same price as the Grand Hotel. Somebody messed up but I believe we got a good deal in compensation.
4 out of 5
by Bill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 5 Star Hotel - But a good 3

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the view from the pool, the shuttle service to Sorrento, the price, the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The rooms could be updated, including better mattresses and pillows, and real comforters
Location: The location is slightly elevated above Sorrento, so you are surrounded by mountains on one side and can see the water on the other.
The hotel itself is beautiful, in a stunning location. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. We were very disappointed, however, when we arrived to our room. We felt like we were put in the crappiest room in the hotel. It smelled old and musty, there was no window and barely big enough for the bed. The bed was the worst part of our stay. It's 2 twin puts put together, but nothing holding them together. The mattresses were hard as rock and the pillows felt 20 years old with no cushion. When we tried to see if there were other rooms available (seeing as how this was our anniversary) we were told the hotel was completely booked. But then we heard from other guests that is apparently what they say. So I'm not sure what's going on there. I guess my recommendation would be, that if you're going to stay at this hotel, make sure you have a large room with a window/view.
1 out of 5
by Jorunn

Not a 5 star hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Where to begin... Total disappointment. Room: Hard pillows (asked for soft, they didn´t have...) Shower/bath area a disaster, so discusting I couldn't´t bring myself to have a bath. Shower head sorely needed changing. etc etc. Amenities equivalent to what you get at 3-4 star hotels. Set up for all-inclusive, so having a small meal a-la-carte was difficult. No English channels on TV, only Italian. This is acceptable at a 3 star hotel, but not at a "5-star". I could write more.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Leaving the hotel was the best part just to visit beautiful Sorrento and the surrounding places like Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, Isle of Capri, Herculanium every place was beautiful or had wonderful history. The desserts in the evening were really nice you have four to choose from but they are the same every day so if like me your stay is longer than a week then they can be repetitive. The reception staff are friendly girls
Cons: We booked a garden View with a balcony as that's what was offered plus half board ( being a 5 * hotel myself and my partner thought this would be OK . Firstly our garden View was a walkway with a wall with the neighbours weeds and shrubbery as tall as the view and a derelict building to the left of our view, secondly you could not even put a chair on the balcony to sit outside even if we wanted to, that advertising is misleading. Not all the electric sockets worked in our room we did complain but nothing was done although they did fit a new light bulb in the bathroom after we asked. The shower was low pressure and tepid most nights. The housekeeping failed to clean our room one day we had to ask they claimed we did not have the sign turned on the correct side this was a false fact because when we came back to our room it was still on please clean the room. The pillows are rock solid I had to ask if they had a softer one due to getting neck pain, they did replace the pillow with a slightly newer one. The toilet in our room was constantly running water all the time it was disruptive during the night even with the bathroom door shut.
Location: There is not much to do nearby, you can use there shuttle bus and it takes you into Sorrento town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great friendly, professional staff.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: We enjoyed a walk from the hotel to sorrento town centre. A boat trip along the Amalfi coast. 4x4 versuvious trip. Capri, and Anacapri.
Overall a really pleasant stay. It could've been made better by providing tea, coffee making facilities in the room. The evening meal was of a really high standard. Enjoy your stay....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic! Management and staff were amazing! Only thing to avoid is the excursion to Isle of Capri! Do not book one through hotel- was terrible! Book another company! Please understand the hotel book through an external agent! Everything else was perfect!