Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from England

Amazing and Palatial Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: It was absolutely an amazing hotel. Such an experience. Beautiful gardens. Staff very professional and polite.
Cons: Tea making facilities would be great.
Location: There is nothing to do once you step outside the grounds of the hotel. Having a car would be an asset.
This hotel was booked because it is close to Pompei and Ercolano. Taxis were available from the hotel. we took the taxi to the Pompei and then the train onwards to Ercolano. We had use of their sister hotel for use of the swimming pool. this was on the roof, and had a stunning view of Versuvius, and Pompei. The hotel has bookings every day for the most stunning weddings. The restaurant was good. The hotel is so outstanding, and famous people stay there. This is inland, not near a beach. The roads do not have pavements. No where to walk to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The staff was just awesome.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Service.
Cons: Rooms could be cleaner.
Location: About 15-20 mins from Pompeii ruins but no easy public transportation to get there.
Service was fabulous. We got to see an Italian wedding which was cool. The facility seemed a little old and upkeep although good, hasn't been fabulous. The hotel is not close to the train or any major tourist areas, at least not close enough to walk. But the hotel does provide shuttle services for a fee. Depending how many times, it could add up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: the property and staff
Cons: better menu and breakfast
Location: Pompei is about 20 minutes away
the hotel property is extremely nice , however our room was very uncomfortable , i am not sure what the other rooms would be like , staff was very nice lots of football players have visited this hotel , and two movies were filmed here . this is a family business hotel that goes back 300 years , breakfast and food was a two star with five star pricing . for one or two nights stay I would recommend it not more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Everything was fantastic!!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Thanks to the hotel stuff for the great time we had. Everything was fantastic!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Check the mattress....I was eaten alive by bed bugs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not 5 star

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
This is not a 5 star hotel I've stayed in better 3 star hotels. The grounds were beautiful but pool closed at 12pm because of a wedding. Weddings take over the hotel and as a gueat I was left feeling uncomfortable. Rooms are very very basic. No dvd as discribed, no turn down service or slippers as discribed. Shower didn't work so was moved into the main hotel when we complained. Main hotel very noisy because of a birthday party with music into late pm. Child's pool was not cleaned and the same dirt in it for the 2 days we were there. Restaurant menu so basic and over priced, breakfast very very basic and closed before the time it stated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

A nice hotel for this part of town.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff were so lovely.
Cons: The pool area could use supervision as the children were a little out of control which detracted from our experience.
Our drive to the hotel was a little dissapponting as the area is a little run down. We were relieved when we finally found it. The check in was very nice with staff to assist with our luggage, etc. Lots of functions going on but not intrusive. Breakfast was nice and the staff were delightful. Yes, the decor is unique, but that is why we picked the hotel!
3 out of 5
by jan from Fife

All show and not 4 star experience

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Whilst the hotel is very grand inside and out, it is in fact very superficial, no substance, all show. Only good for weddings which they have in abundance. We could not use the swimming pool as weddings in the ground all day. Were promised it would be accessible the next day 4pm to 6pm. It wasn't. Breakfast very cheap like a 2 or 3 star hotel. Dinner, well did not give us a menu, just said could have, then rymned off a few things. Slightly better than the breakfast though. None of the staff seemed interested at all in us, busy dealing with wedding folk. On leaving asked for the bill. Accommodation already paid for as also all the drinks we had we paid cash for, leaving only the 2 course dinner with wine. The man did not give me a bill, just said that would be 100 euros. How odd not to give the bill. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you were having a special occasion like Birthday, christening or wedding. Do not see the point in having a swimming pool when guest cannot use, that's why I booked this hotel in the 1st place, would not dream of going to hot Country without the Hotel hving a swimming pool
3 out of 5
by David from Oxford

Beautiful hotel, let down by poor staff service

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
First impressions of the hotel were excellent. Built like a fairy-tale castle in its own secluded grounds.We were offered what was basically a cupboard, but when we complained we were upgraded to an excellent room, with fine views. However, the earlier good impression was somewhat clouded by a very disappointing experience at check out. We were kept waiting around - without explanation or apology - while TWO members of staff dealt with one other guest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A really GRAND Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very grand hotel, setup to hold weddings. For a family of 4, this was a great hotel for a short break, room was of a good size with a double and 2 single beds. Gentleman at reception was very helpful; breakfast was very good. There is not much to do in the nearby location, so you need a car to find restaurants etc.