Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxing and quiet experience

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, clean rooms, lush pool with sunloungers, helpful staff.
Cons: Stronger wifi in the rooms would be better. Also perhaps more of a cooked selection for breakfast would have been nice.
Location: Rent a car - this is a remote location but the nearby town (5mins drive up a steep hill) has a supermarket and restaurants. Beach was a 1hr drive.
My sister and I chose this hotel as it looked like a peaceful and beautiful place for a 4 day getaway. We were not disappointed! The location is idillic, next to a lake and surrounded by hills. The pool was lovely, and had enough sun-loungers for everyone - and on many occasions, there were only a couple of other people sunbathing/swimming at the same time which made it quiet and pleasant (which i have never experienced in peak season!). The food in the restaurant was delicious and we also went to the local town for pizza on a few occasions. The only issue we had was wifi - due to a cable in the region being broken for a day or so. But this was not the hotel's fault. Would also recommend a car as it is in a remote location. The beech is about an hour away and not difficult to get to if you don't mind the winding roads. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Just a really lovely place to come for soaking up the sun in a wonderful atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

very nice hotel; friendly stuff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: A play area; for example a pool table, table tennis table
The hotel is placed in the middle of a forest, very close to a lake. A beautiful seating. Peace and quiet, very friendly stuff; very rich breakfast; food was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R&K from Chichester, West Sussex, UK

Good for couples, walkers and nature lovers

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Peaceful and beautiful setting Cleanliness Friendliness of staff - Salvatore the Hotel manager is fantastic Napoli pizza is the best I've ever had!
Cons: Nothing of any significance. It would be useful if WiFi was extended into the rooms rather than just in the main building.
We had two fantastic weeks at ValKarana and could easily have stayed for two more. For us the ValKarana was pretty much perfect. The setting is fantastic and even better than the photos on the web show - its so quiet and serene. The hotel was very quiet when we were there which was perfect for us. The location is great for walking and there are tracks the the lake, up to the hills and along the little-used scenic railway tracks - all of which we were totally alone on when walking. Relaxing by the pool was good as was the rest of the hotel. Everything was spotlessly clean which was very nice to see. The food was very good, although note that you may need to pace yourselves as it is pretty much the same menu for lunch and dinner each day. That said it is a good selection and the pizzas (available on Thursday-Sunday) are really good ... I still lust after the Napoli pizza which was quite simply the best pizza I've ever had! I thought the food and wine was very reasonably priced too. It was nice to be close to wildlife too and we had close encounters in the countryside with wild tortoises, praying mantises and even a little scorpion. Finally Salvatore the crazy hotel manager - he simply made staying at the hotel so enjoyable, always available, always interested in his guests and always happy to chat if you were - a real gent and we miss him!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DS from london

Great, quiet Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: The Gardens and pool. Quiet and very laid-back, very relaxing.
Cons: Bedrooms were a bit basic.
Location: By a reservoir which would be very attractive when full! Remote and pretty location. Interesting old railway runs nearby. Quaint village - 5kms away.
This is a very remote location. The lake is actually a reservoir and was quite depleted during our visit. The hotel is in a lovely location, has pretty gardens and an excellent pool. The staff are polite, friendly and laid back. The whole place is very, very pleasant. The Restaurant is excellent and the food and wine are great. They actually haven't developed the restaurant as much as they could so although it's always busy and the food is good it's a little lacking in atmosphere. The location is very remote, you will definitely need a hire car. If you are into beaches, the coast is at least an hour's drive (but the drives are usually very beautiful). I would say the hotel is best for couples wanting a quiet and relaxing break. We had a great time and loved this Hotel, Sardinia and its people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Tranquil little gem....

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Tranquility
Cons: Need to remember to book a table on the balcony for dinner
Location: Could be difficult to locate in the dark....but well worth the views
Little gem surrounded by stunning scenery and beautifully kept gardens. Rooms a decent size and cleaned daily. Pool well maintained and never too busy. Staff friendly and efficient...the owner Salvatore was on hand most days and offered a very personal service to guests. You absolutely need a hire car, and directions from the airport taken from the internet were easy to follow in daylight, but would be more difficult after dark. Air conditioning efficient and incurred no extra charge. Only criticism would be that it would have been nice to have tea making facilities in the room, and although we didn't have to pay on this occasion, there is an additional levy charged for using the mini bar fridge for you own drinks.
5 out of 5
by Linda & Andrew

Breathtaking and Peaceful

Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels
We recently spent 7 nights at hotel Valkarana for the first week of our honeymoon and could not have asked for anything more! The hotel is hidden away in a valley overlooking a huge lake, the views are amazing particulary from the restaurant and the scenary is breathtaking. It's so quiet and peaceful, we absolutely loved it. The location is perfect (although you need a car to get there via windy roads) and allowed us to visit lots of places and beaches around the north and east coasts, Olbia is only 30 mins away (once you know the way!) and it's only 40 mins away form Palua and the Maddalena islands both of which we highly recommend. The atmosphere was very nice and relaxed. Salvatore (the owner of the hotel) was always happy to help and have a chat, he was more like a friend than the hotel owner! We had a Premium room facing the lake and the pool and it was very nice, I definitely recommend it for the view alone! The food was amazing, especially the pizzas although they only make pizza's Friday to Sunday, and breakfast was really nice. The bar is open all day and the prices are very reasonable as are the restaurant prices. Overall we loved our stay at Hotel Valkarana, it was a peaceful luxury far away from everything whilst at the same time we were able to get around and explore in our little rented car. Hotel Valkarana gave us everything we wanted for the first week of our honeymoon and we hope that one day we will be back. Andy and Linda
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Riding of Yorkshire, UK

Perfect relaxation spot

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Perfect relaxation spot
Cons: Hard bed and patio seats would be more comfortable with seat cushions
Location: Hideaway spot, peaceful
Wonderful hideaway for complete relaxation. Car hire recommended even if just for arriving and leaving. Fixed menu, but food lovely, just enough variety for one week. Pizza menu only available at weekends earlier in the season. Lakeside view room worth it. Beds and seats little on hard side Would visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK

everything and more :-)

Posted May 22, 2012
The hotel completely surpassed all expectations and helped to make this the best holiday to date. It was exactly what we were looking for and more. The staff were wonderful - even helping us to tune our car radio - the complexities of which had utterly evaded us! We were given advice on sites to see and deals to take advantage of - I can recommend the boat trip to La Maddalena. The food was fantastic (try the ravioli and pizza - yum), our room was perfect and waking up to the lake and amazing views, the cherry on the already fabulous cake. We felt very much at home and welcomed at the same time as feeling like nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend staying at ValKarana - you won't be disappointed. They also make a very good Gin and Tonic. :-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite, Beautiful, Great value.

Posted Sep 13, 2011 on Hotels
This place is a real find if you like small, quiet and beautiful- stone built, tradional feel, really high quality, nicely decorated and kept in lush gardens overlooking a huge lake with amazing sunsets. The pool is fresh water (I guess from the lake below) so no chemically feeling, there was always plenty of space for all the guests and it's nearby, by car of course, to all the archaeological sites. It feels a bit like a religious retreat when you're at you own house, sitting looking out at the lake and with everyone talking in hushed voices but is lively and friendly in the bar and restaurant areas. The staff here were great, the food was the best. The beds were too hard for me - a pillow top option would have been nice - but as I realized, hard seems to be the norm in Sardinia
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel Valkarana Sardinia

Posted Jul 21, 2011 on Hotels
Very peaceful and quiet location but not too far to the beautiful beaches of Costa Smeralda. Room large, light and airy - fine for three of us. Staff very helpful and service good. Second visit here and would be happy to visit again. Breakfasts a bit boring but evening meals good.