Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Quaint, Charming, Perect

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The craftsmanship and cleanliness was great. I expected something a bit shabbier from a small private location, but they exceeded my expectations.
Cons: PLEASE INCLUDE AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION!
Location: There are mountain, rain forest, coffee farm, and volcano excursions that can be coordinated through the staff but NOT provided by the hotel.
Louis and Alicia made sure I had everything I needed. Quietly nestled on a hill in busy San Jose gives the impression of a retreat. The food, amazing! Very accommodating. I will absolutely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Very nice hotel and enjoyable pool with garden.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful and nicely decorated hotel, has a gorgeous garden and pool and very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The bed was somehow hard and there is a smell of humidity in the room. I guess it is in the most houses in the region due to the rainy season.
Location: Very good location. It is walking distance to the bus stop and to shops to buy food and drinks. Seems to be safe.
The staff is simply wonderful! They go out of their way to help and make the guests feel comfortable. Always on time with any request and very polite and caring.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Peaceful getaway

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Peaceful atmosphere, beautiful setting, floral aromas, tropical bird and insect sounds at night. Nice pool, patio, and lobby. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms can get a bit stuffy at night, so bring light pajamas. Only complaint is that the door handle needs maintenance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great property. Very peaceful and great service.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Good Views, very peaceful and good service.
Cons: Plumbing and beds
As I think of my stay, I have pleasant memories of the Posada Hotel. It was very peaceful, the views were good and the staff were very helpful. The only thing I'd ask people to be prepared for is that the plumbing is bad and so expect some discomfort like smells coming from the bathroom floor traps or the toilets etc. It is an old property and so I think this is understandable though not desired. That said, I'll gladly go back to this property considering that the time I spend in the peaceful outdoors Vs. in the uncomfortable shower/bathroom is a lot more. And so would rather stay in a peaceful place where I have good views from the top of the little hill it is situated on vs. stay in a busy location, and enjoy the well landscaped outdoors and the small coffee plantations in the property. The property has a small restaurant (anything nothing great), but sufficient to accommodate the needs of the guests. And lastly, the staff is very helpful, courteous and attentive. All making your stay worthwhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by H, Hotel Management
We are more than glad that you had a pleasant stay, despite your little inconvenience that as you said were not big deal, compare to the most part you enjoyed. Let me tell you that very few rooms have these inconveniences and the good part is that can be fixed if you tell a clerk of what is happening so immediately we would do something and they won’t bother anymore, we can put the smell out, just tell us and it will be fixed. We encourage using the new tool “real time feedback” with the hotel, this allows you to write us a real time message and we will take care of anything that can be take care of, thank you and we look forward to your future stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Food and drinks
I had a graet stay, very beatiful and convinient, defenetely recomneded. this hotel really stand out and the rates are very conpetitive, I wish there were more hotels like this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agradable y muy buen ambiente

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Muy tranquilo, relajante, cómodo muy buen trato de parte del personal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel with a view from the hilltop

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The old-fashioned architecture and the fresh air
Cons: The pool is chilly sometimes
Location: Make sure you know where it is, pretty far from the noise of downtown. It is in the tiny town of Piedades
Beautiful pool, lovely rooms and a lovely garden. Staff is very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from florida

Nice and cozy.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I stayed 2 nights. Sunday and Monday 9/5 and 9/6 and the person who was there on Sunday afternoon made me fell like I was at home. I wished I knew his name. I recommend this hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is a winner

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: the staff and their hospitality.
This hotel is really a winner; I loved it from the first minute to the end. Besides the hostels beauty the staff is the best, charm and helpful, that makes you feel comfortable, they go out of their way to assist you, they master hospitality to the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Awesome stay for the price you pay

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Cheap and very affordable. Great pool. Nice location. Staff was great. Loved the breakfast. Cons: Bathroom was not clean No A/C or fan in the room. It was stuffy when we got there. Very less ventilation in the room.