Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Great service, great value

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
I have stayed here in the past and it was very good but now it is excellent. I had the salmon for dinner and it was perfectly done with just the right amount of spice. Sides were also very good. Not the typical. Sangria was just the right amount of sweet. Marta in the morning made the breakfast with love. Service all around was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

A Jewel in Santa Ana!

Posted May 12, 2017
Great little boutique hotel realistically 30 minutes from SJO with moderate traffic. Rooms are extremely clean and modern! Staff is extremely (Celeste) professional! Breakfast is typical, but the lovely lady (Martha) preparing breakfast is beyond typical and very sweet...not to mention that she is a great short order chef! One of the few places that will actually remind you of your Expedia VIP welcome gift if you fail to remember. Yes a minor thing, but I think it speaks to the quality of the staff. I normally stay at the Courtyard (Alajuela) or Marriott (Belen) on my last night in Costa Rica, but I think I just found my new "go to" regardless of the slightly longer travel time. And the price is right! Give Hotel Villa Los Candiles a try!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Hotel Villa Los Candiles, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoiyed your stay here and the breakfast. Our staff enjoys helping our clients and likes to provide great costumer service. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

dissappointed

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: be specific in what is being offered...if free beverages, identify it is just juice and water.....
Location: we had the worst room in the complex, outside our patio door was a brick wall, no balcony or patio furnature, right on the road as well as a barking d
unfortunately, we were mislead by Expedia on our accommadations. The manager was very unprofessional during the process. We also had a terrible view, were right on the road as well as beside a barking dog. Food in the restaurant was very expensive. On a positive note, expedia advertised breakfast available from 0530AM but when we arrived they said they didn't open until 0600 AM for breakfast but did accommadate us for our early flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Hotel Villa Los Candiles, Hotel Management
Dear, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconveniences and We will take all of these suggestions into careful consideration. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honduras

Great Location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfy rooms and great breakfast!
Cons: WIFI poor connection in my room.
Location: Near shopping malls and restaurants.
Nice and cozy hotel, friendly staff the hotel is located near Multiplaza and Lindora shopping areas. Great restaurants nearby. It's close to get to the airport 20 min. with no traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Hotel Villa Los Candiles, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room with hot shower

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
We took a taxi from San Jose. Our driver said it was hard to find the place. It was a bit away from Santa Ana center. The hotel is beautiful. Very friendly staffs. Super clean. Great price for the room. In Costa Rica, sometimes you don't get hot water. ( even if you do, it's not that hot) but this hotel had hot shower!! After a long travel, it was so nice to be able to take a hot shower. He hotel has a nice restaurant and bar. Good food. The room is nicely decorated. Modern and clean. Bed is so comfortable
4 out of 5
by Michael

Fantastic and freindly staff

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great facility located in a the neighborhood of Santa Anna. Great for business if you are in the area and need to stay in the area. Short drive to the volcano, waterfall and of course Wal Mart.
3 out of 5
by Leslie

Water on the floor

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Staff could not be friendlier and more helpful. We did not like the first room they put us in, and were very accommodating to move us to a room that was more pleasing. We found several things unsettling, however. Kitchen area was poorly, poorly stocked. Microwave, but no toaster or toaster oven. Two small burners on the cooktop. No hot water in kitchen. Dorm size refrigerator. No coffee maker, but had a espresso maker which did not work. Neither did the second espresso maker. No receptacles in bathroom. Hair dryer did not work; had to get another. On last day, bathroom was covered with water. I cannot recommend this hotel unless some improvements were made.
5 out of 5
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice an quit hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel! We had an event and then we stayed in the hotel! Veru quiet and private. The pull out bed was not very comfortable and for breakfast only one person was in service so it was very slow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Receptionist was great with setting up tours and spoke English, which was great. Nice comfortable place. Got the standard room which was a great size and nice patio area