Ratings based on 1,456 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
It was ok. Definitely not worth the 4 stars as indicated on expesia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice place. Close to the pier, harbor and State St

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Great hot tub and pool. Staff was really friendly.
Location: Great bars, theater, and food nearby.
Very friendly staff. Met family here and the garden suite was great for meeting and playing cards. Nice and close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great place to relax and reflect.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
A charming courtyard, newly appointed rooms, friendly staff, close to the beach, the wharf and State Street. Can walk to lots of restaurants and the funk zone. A wonderful weekend getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angleles

Wine and cheese in the evenings

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We loved our stay at West Beach inn. Location was amazing. Right next to the beach and Sambos for great breakfast. The hotel also offered free continental breakfast and wine and cheese at night. Loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Over great but they need to change their bed pillows! Very uncomfortable 😣
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Cruisey beach side hang out

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Location, low key beach side vibe,
Cons: All good
Location: Close to pier, beach and good restaurants and cafes
Nice room, good price, great location, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice hotel, great pool with beach view

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location, pool view, great staff.
Cons: Poor noise isolation in rooms.
Location: Beach trail is just across. Couple of restaurants nearby, we especially enjoyed Santa Barbara FisHouse. Downtown is just 20 min walking.
We stayed for one night in a single queen room, good room size, not spacious. The location is terrific, just across the street from the beach. The pool also looks towards the beach, with a gorgeous view, just the great chill place. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean. The only complain would be the bad noise isolation in the rooms. There was a small party in the garden, just couples talking, but the voices could be clearly heard in the room. And it got pretty loud once the neighbor turned their AC on. Still a great overall experience, will stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Noisy But Nice

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location. Nicely decorated room and well layed out.
Cons: Breakfast is included, but consisted of cold cereal and bagels. Juice cups were literally the size of shot glasses. So step up the breakfast game.
Location: Great Italian restaurant, Toma, is right next door. Cross Cabrillo for a great walk through harbor and its jetty. Have breakfast at cafe right there
I know Santa Barbara well since my daughter went to UCSB. This was a fun visit to play golf but I wanted to be near the beach and harbor, so I selected West Beach Inn. I had reserved a queen bed room facing courtyard, thinking it would be quieter. At check-in, I was told I was upgraded to a king bedroom in the harbor-facing building. The room was nicely decorated and huge in size. I was on first floor so I had a patio which I took advantage of with some reading and cocktail hour beverage. The bad news in this scenario is that while relaxing on the patio, secluded by a fence and thick hedgerow, cars on Cabrillo Blvd [the main waterfront thoroughfare] are wizzing by just 40 feet from my chair. After going inside and closing the glass slider, the noise was lessened but still distracting. When I went to dinner, I walked by the building I was supposed to be in and while you could still hear traffic, it was a fraction of the noise in my room. The room on the two floors above me would probably have more noise, but they also have harbor views that I did not have. The street noise subsided at night but the first garbage pickup came at 5 am each morning. The only other negative was the shower stall. In shape, it is a half hexagon that I measured to be 8 square feet. Fine for a small person, but way too tight for a wide-shouldered man. I would stay here again, but would be insistent about getting a garden view room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from visalia ca

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We stayed here overnight as we extended our vacation another day and we wished we had stayed in this hotel the entire time. It is locatedright across the street from beach which was convenient especially with two small children. If you enjoy walking this is not far from state street where there are plenty of restaurant options. I would definitely come back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location.. too bad bed was hard as a rock

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Nice location, clean, comfortable room but bed was too hard. Staff was friendly. Unfortunately the hotel staff refused to provide us with a detailed receipt or even proof of check out. We had informed them on check in that we would not be able to stay the last of three nights we had booked and purchased on Expedia. We needed a receipt to turn into the insurance for a refund but West Beach was unwilling to provide us with our receipt.