Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Disappointing

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The bed was horrible, rolled to the center. Noise next door was all nite. Walls are thin. Deck closed as unsafe. Continental Breakfast coffee and awful danish in bag. No juice for non-coffee drinkers. Lights in every window.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Great location but could use an upgrade.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Only in town for a night and needed to be close to the harbor so it worked out great. Room could use a upgrade but location is hard to beat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Nice location, clean , just old needs some work. Whole in wall above mirror, carpet really old. Coffee was bad. But we would go back for the location 😉
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murrieta

No AC/shady other guests/next to loud event center

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Room fan/shady other guests/ community center next door with loud live music 4-10/ loud music vibrated the air from back and pot smokers out front, so could not open windows to let in fresh air/not handicapped friendly/broken locks on front door
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Its all about the location.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Not a great hotel. Barely a good hotel. Completely redeemed by being across the street from the beach and down the street from the urban wine tastings. Going to Santa Barbara and planning on spending most of your time away from the hotel? This is a deal!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Mediocre motel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Crumbling old & dirty! Would never come back! Expensive because of location on beach!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Reasonable hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Reasonable rate, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Provide wifi in all rooms.
Location: Excellent, easy walking distance to the pier, harbor, State St, etc.
In-room wifi was not available in our room (and presumably some others). The hotel claims to have free wifi in its description.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

I would return to Ala Mar

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay and would return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach and boardwalk!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nice staff, called me up promptly upon my request for early check-in. It would be nicer if they had an electric kettle or coffee maker, an iron/steamer, and microwave oven in the room. Without at least 2 of those, I would consider it pricey at $206 a night. Overall, it is a cozy place to be, and conveniently situated near the Stearn's Wharf! I could easily get drenched with sea water and enter the room without worrying about wetting the floor (it's tiled!). Plus, I like its simple mediterranean look.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation Needed

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location is great. Large bathroom sink and bathtub are nice. Tiles are nice. This hotel has a lot of potential if the owner can invest in repairs.
Cons: Second floor ocean view deck deemed unsafe by Building & Safety needs to be re-built/renovated. Broken details of the hotel room need to be repaired.
Location: Great central location, in front of beach and wharf, with easy access to shuttles if you don't plan to use a car.
The advertisement on Orbitz was misleading that the room would have an ocean view. We were given a ground floor room with window with broken shutter, looking out to the parking lot, next to ice machine. They should have at least provide two different rates for ground floor, no view, and ocean view units. The ceiling fan is old and swinging unsafely. Details need to be improved to match the $300/night for this room type that the owner is charging.